Blind To Monstrosities I Build My Sanctuary Chapter 6 Talent Spell

The thing I was looking for were the collection of spells there were in this cellar.

After reading through almost every bit of miscellaneous knowledge I could get my hands on and sorting everything to make sure I understood every bit of what I read, only then did I really begin looking through the enormous collection of spells there were within stacks of books.

Using the newly found knowledge I had collected and reinforcing it into my mind, I knew I had already become a level 1 spell caster, Earth Mother’s Guardian or the EMG meditation technique for short required the user to meditate for an entire decade to reach level 1 spell caster, out of all the meditation techniques this one took the longest to reach level 1 spell caster, but luckily as I studied this medication technique some more I came to understand that the first stretch was the only thing that was the longest, further advancement wasn’t actually that long and rather shorter than most other meditation techniques in fact, the perks you gain from this meditation technique are also extremely immense as they not only strengthen your spiritual force, but everything else too from physical strength to mental strength, but since this meditation technique isn’t dedicated towards those endowments there exist restrictions such as not being able to access those things if the user isn’t connected to the earth, which was actually a pretty minor restriction all things considered.

The biggest benefit but also a slight downside in practicing this meditation technique over others in my opinion was that the user could completely ignore all environment, material or other such requirements to cast spells of earth or nature element category while also only being able to cast spells from those elements.

At first when I read this condition I didn’t really think it was a big deal as I didn’t know enough to understand what it meant, I actually really thought that the physical and mental growth you gain from the meditation technique was far more useful, but as I studied more about spells I quickly changed my mind as I realized how important those things were.

For example,

The book I was currently reading was a spell book used by a spell caster from a foreign realm that came to invade, it was taken by one of the previous head priests or previous guardians who killed said invader gaining their spell book which he studied to reverse engineer all the spells to be able to be cast in our world, the rules of the realms the worlds inhabit are different from each other, not everything works the same as it does on earth for different realms though the book mentioned that almost all realms did share a lot of similarities making them not completely different from each other and just different enough to be considered having its own rules.

Gravity for example was something almost every realm possessed, but not all realms had things such as air that humans and a lot of livings being need to live.

Spells from those realms adapting to those surroundings making some spells impossible to cast in other realms or just very difficult to cast, meaning invaders were immediately penalized as soon as they stepped into a foreign realm, some invaders could even die if the environment was too different from their home world.

It was interesting to read, but not my focus.

The main point here was that the previous guardian while reverse engineering those spells from a foreign realm had to include environmental requirements and material requirements to make them possible to be cast in our world.

This one spell for example called [Fiery Ash] caused a storm of superheated ash to whirl and burn everything in its path, it was a powerful level 2 spell that needed both a dry environment such as a desert and 5 kilograms of ash to be cast properly.

The original spell before it was reverse engineered by the previous guardian had no such requirements as the foreign invader had come from a world that was constantly on fire with volcanoes everywhere where the weather was constantly covered by pitch black clouds that rained ash with the only light source being the fire that surrounded the entire world.

How such world even worked was hard to imagine, but original invader seemed to have a pretty tough time trying to adapt to earth’s climate as it wasn’t used to anything but constant heat, the book describes the invader to be a humanoid with pitch black skin and red eyes and two pairs of horns growing out of the forehead with no hair whatsoever.

I could only imagine a devil after reading such description, but this pretty much aptly describe how spells functioned, [Fiery Ash] was actually a very potent fire spell that was even better then [Fire Storm] a spell created on our planet which basically did the same thing but not on the level as [Fiery Ash], the only thing that made it bad was because of its harsh requirements.

5 kgs of ash wasn’t that bad, but needing to be in a desert or someplace similar was too restrictive.

Imagine if those requirements didn’t exist? Who would learn a spell like [Fire Storm] that was a level 2 spell when they could learn a spell like [Fiery Ash] that was far better?

And this wasn’t the only one either, there were many such spells that were powerful but needed a certain environment or certain material to be used, what they all had in common was that they were far more powerful compared to spells that didn’t require those things which is why the EMG meditation technique that allowed the user to ignore those requirements completely from the earth or nature element category was so powerful.

To top it off I had yet to choose my level 1 talent spell, even though I was considered a level 1 spell caster I wasn’t actually a official level 1 spell caster as I hadn’t yet engraved a spell into my soul to become my talent spell.

All talent spells gained a significant boost to their original abilities, allowed the spell to be cast whenever the user desired by force of will without doing spell casting such as chanting and hand signs which is time consuming while all requirements and spiritual power costs were halved.

I already didn’t need to care about requirements, but halving the cost of spiritual power needed to cast those spells was still big, now I only needed to find a suitable earth or nature element spell and I could…

-This is!

As I searched for a suitable spell to turn into my talent spell I suddenly stopped as I discovered an intriguing spell of the earth element, I quickly reread what it said as I tried to memorize every single detail it contained.

[Create Automata] Level 1 Earth Spell – Type Summoning/Re-animation

Requirements

300 kilograms of steel.

80 kilograms of copper.

60 kilograms of…

(112 other types of ore and minerals)

1 Soul Stone with a human level soul or greater.

50 Kilograms of human skin.

(78 other items harvested from humans and other animals)

Essence of a 300-year-old pine tree.

A tulip grown near the mouth of a volcano.

(459 other miscellaneous items)

More Materials can be added to increase the power of the body.

Summary of the spell.

Create an Automata in any shape the user desires as long as sufficient material is present, it will have all the functions imagined by the caster if reasonable and possible and if sufficient material is present, it cannot exceed the cubic shape of 8 meters.

The resulting Automata will be a living being with its own personality, emotions, thoughts and mind, but absolutely loyal to the summoner following his every command.

As its own being it possesses its own soul that is connected to the summoner, the summoner can locate the Automata anywhere, converse with it from a long distance and share its senses with it this connection can be interrupted normally or temporarily severed, but it will not cause harm to the Automata nor the summoner.

The Automata isn’t inexhaustible; it needs to recover through absorbing natural or unnatural elements such as sunlight or electricity, but doesn’t need to shut down or stay at one place to do it and can do it passively.

The Automata is only as strong as the material it is made out of and possess the same weakness as the material, as it possesses a soul it will also possess the original soul’s magical talent, but not its memories or anything else for this matter.

The Automata cannot heal naturally.

The Automata has no organic weakness such as rest, sustenance or other physical requirements.

The Automata is semi-immortal.

The Automata possesses superior condition and physiology depending on the material.

History of the spell

This spell was recovered by the 8th Guardian Louis Lestrade, as usual it was found from the corpse of a defeated foreign invader who was a spell caster, not as usual the spell wasn’t written in a universal record known as a “spell book” recovered from the invader, instead the spell was written in what seemed like a diary written by the deceased invader who came from a world that has advanced steam technology to its utmost limit, the diary chronicles the life of the invader and how he painstakingly  became a spell caster from absolute poverty, it also describes how the spell caster met the love of his life an ordinary woman who wasn’t a spell caster, unfortunately the diary also describes how his lover had contracted an airborne illness from the pollution his world had created through the use of steam technology, the diary records up until the death of said lover from which the diary finally stops and the spell model begins, no explanation is given as to why the spell model is written in the diary and not in the spell book which is of superior quality, while the diary is made out of low quality hemp like paper material. The spell itself doesn’t actually do anything but create the entire body of the Automata and put the soul in it to breathe life into it, all the power that stems from the spell comes from its material 80% of which was already on the body of the spell caster who seemed to have come to the earth realm to gather the rest of the materials, the original spell formula didn’t need to be reverse engineered as it was completely compatible with the rules of earth realm it is very likely seeing that the invader was also human, the world he came from being most likely almost identical to earth realm. While this spell has almost impossible requirements and the spell formula looks like a spell formula from a 7th level spell, it is in fact a 1st level spell as it follows all the rules set within the 1st level barrier, why this is a 1st level spell when the invader was a 4th level spell caster is unknown, but its assumed by the 8th guardian that the invader worked on the spell ever since he was a 1st level spell caster and never changed it as he continued advancing, this in turn means that the invader worked on the spell for over 200 years as his meditation technique at the bare minimum required that much time for him to reach his level, the name borrows resemblance to another spell called [Create Earth Golem] and a lot of other similar spells which is likely what it is based upon, this spell also possess an eerie resemblance to another 9th level spell called [Deus Ex Machina] which is capable of turning the caster into a Machine of the same godly level as the spell, no traces connecting the spell caster to this spell have been found but it is very likely that the inspiration for this spell came from the 9th level spell itself.

-Genius…

I gasped, reading the entire entry of the spell 8 to 10 times as I couldn’t help but read it again and again, the fact that this spell actually worked was the thing that amazed me the most, I had already seen spells that crossed the level 1 barrier, I already thought that level 1 spells were difficult but as soon as I saw level 2 spells I was completely lost as I couldn’t understand a single thing, the spell model for this on the other hand was so completely ridiculous that it made my head hurt just looking at it, the commenter who wrote the entry of this spell must have been kidding when he said this was a level 1 spell because I sure as hell can’t even begin to comprehend where this spell even begins and where it ends.

Even though it was categorized as an earth element spell it went into places that were far from being earth like and more like resurrecting the dead, the requirements were incredibly chilling as a lot of items harvested from humans were used such as organs and blood, while the story of this spell too was nothing more than impressive as it was developed by only one person who likely desired to bring back their loved one working for it for over 200 years only to die while trying to invade another realm, it was tragic, I even wondered whether or not this man truly believed he could bring back his love, but since the spell really did work it was only unfortunate that he wasn’t able to get at that point.

-But then if he didn’t die I wouldn’t have been able to get my hands on this spell, so thank you whoever you were.

I prayed for him, touching the spell model as I tried to see whether or not I could learn the spell, luckily my meditation technique always informed me whenever I tried to learn a certain spell to see whether or not I could learn it, I only needed to touch the spell model and when I did the meditation technique would automatically tell me by either rejecting the spell model or accepting it, if it was accepted I could learn it basically.

On another note, by default it was impossible to learn spells that required an amount of spiritual force you didn’t possess, this is why spell levels existed which is what gave the caster a basic idea as to how much spiritual force they required to learn a certain spell.

Miraculously the spell was easily accepted as it showed me that I could learn it, I was very much stunned by that as delusions of grandeur floated inside my head, but quickly enough I shoved away those delusions as I looked at the spell model holding a dubious expression.

After I thought about it clearly, even though the spell was strong and very useful to me I also thought It was a bit too much for me for someone who was just a beginner which is why I was going to give it up, but for one reason or another I still put the spell into my consideration list as I read through other spells books looking only for earth or nature element spells that I could turn into my talent spell.

The kind of spell I was looking for to become my talent spell was very selective as well as there a lot of spells that I simply couldn’t take as my talent spell no matter what.

This being offensive spells and defensive spells.

Since I was blind I had no confidence in actually utilizing those spells, aiming was a no go and what would I possibly be able to do with a shield or a barrier if I couldn’t fight back or run away?

A defensive spell would be worse in fact since I would basically turn into a turtle who stalled for time, and even a turtle could bite if it got the opportunity making me even worse.

Instead I looked for spells that could help remedy my disability before considering learning those kinds of spells and thinking about fighting them, most importantly my inability to see my surroundings, this was one of the reasons why [Create Automata] was so tempting to me as it allowed me to share senses with my Automatons and basically be able to see with their eyes, but I shouldn’t think about that spell and look for something else.

That day I looked through all the available spell books I could get my hands on as I tried to find a suitable spell to solve this issue, at first I found a lot of spells that could solve my problem instantly, but soon enough as I continued researching I also found many more similar spells that did similar things finally again unknown amount of time passed until I finally looked through every earth and naturel element spell that could help me, I sifted through each and one comparing pro’s and cons until I was finally left with 3 choices.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, Blind To Monstrosities I Build My Sanctuary. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blind To Monstrosities I Build My Sanctuary Chapter 6 Talent Spell

  1. Zzmaru Bjp says:

    Where is Chapter 1?

    Like

Leave a comment