Blind To Monstrosities I Build My Sanctuary Chapter 7 Soul Engraving

The spells I found were.

[Seismic Sense] Level 1 Earth Spell – Type Auxiliary

Requirements

Being in contact with the ground.

Summary of the spell

You can sense every single vibration on or within the ground within a 1200 meter radius, this includes footsteps of creatures and falling of objects, note that the spell will not be able to detect things that fly or are in the in the air.

History of the spell

This spell was originally created by an ancient tribe of humans who worshipped the mole, it was later distributed all over the world changed and improved on over the course of time, this is the greatly improved version of the original spell.

[Plant Communion] Level 1 Nature Spell – Type Support

Requirements

Being inside a forest or an environment of equal plant activity.

Summary of the spell

Assign a certain radius with the maximum of 2.5 kilometer inside a forest or a place with similar amount of plants, the radius can be placed from the caster, but the caster has to be within the radius or be inside the forest for the spell to take effect.

There is a channeling time of 30 minutes each time the casters tries to set the radius.

Once done the caster can see everything inside the forest.

History of the spell

A spell created by an old decrepit druid who was too weak to walk outside, because of its requirement it is highly situational, but very useful as the range is very high for most similar level of vision spells.

[Earthen Eye] Level 1 Earth Spell – Type Support

Requirements

None.

Summary of the spell

Create an eye of earth anywhere between the caster and anywhere the caster can see, the caster can use the eye to see with and the eye lasts for 2 hours

These 3 spells were what I found to be the most useful in my opinion, [Seismic Sense] basically replaced my eyes with something like a sonar, reading the description I basically understood that I didn’t need to even look at something to know whether or not it was there as long as it was moving and was touching the ground, but since it could only detect things in or on the ground and nothing in the air I was hesitant about making this as my first choice as I looked over at the second option.

[Plant Communion] was a spell that gave a huge vision range and also didn’t have the issue that [Seismic Sense] had as this spell could see something in the air, the downside of this spell though was that it set a vision radius meaning I was locked into it once it was set, if I wanted to look beyond that radius I would always need to cast it again while move towards that direction, with the 30 minute channeling it would quickly become a pain and inconvenient act which is why I also felt hesitant about this spell as well.

Finally, there was [Earthen Eye] it was a spell that had no requirement and simply created an eye made out of earth that replaced the caster’s eyes, this was the spell that instantly drew my attention as I immediately considered making it my talent spell to finally be able to see, it didn’t have any of the downsides the other two spells had either and while its range was far worse as it was just an ordinary eye which I could only assume had lesser range and means of seeing things it’s still drew the most as it gave me something that I wished for a very long time ever since I was a kid.

In ordinary times, when the old man was still around maybe I would have picked this spell, but alas it wasn’t so.

(GRYAAAA)

The roar of a fearsome beast echoed from a distance as I sat pondering to myself, hearing that same cry for the past year had already made me numb to it, but the fear still existed, no matter how much I thought about it I was still scared and shaking deep within.

As I researched the texts and scoured the books, I heard those roars many times and just like in the past year I shivered, and as I did so I realized again that simply getting  my vision wasn’t  going to make those monsters outside disappear or anything, even if I got my talent spell and then learned a few other spells to fight them would I be capable of winning?

I pondered this question a long time and eventually I came to a very simple realization.

No, I wouldn’t.

How many of them were there, how strong were they, I knew none of those things, information that was so crucial my life depended on it was unknown, but what I did know was my current situation and my own abilities.

Raising my hands and looking at them I could see nothing as my eyes were blind, but even without vision I recognized that my body wasn’t in great shape, eating dried foods for the past year and not much exercise in fear of those monsters hearing me has atrophied my already not so fit body to the point I felt myself becoming skinnier then I already was.

No way could I fight anything with such body, neither did I possess any fighting ability, I am dreaming if I really thought I was match against those beasts that swallowed everyone in the village, and the fact that I didn’t hear any help for the past year and only those roars clearly tells me the future wasn’t going to be any brighter.

For all I know maybe everyone is already dead, turned into Wendigo waste long ago and maybe all the remaining stragglers (if there are any that is) fearfully hide themselves in a similar little cellar waiting until something happens or they die from starvation.

-How many rations do I even still have left?

This too I didn’t know, the last I checked I still had enough to last a year, but since I stopped keeping track of them ever since I discovered all this magic that was left for me I hadn’t bothered counting just as much as I didn’t bother keeping track of the date.

And you’re telling me a person like me was going to fight those beasts?

Utter nonsense.

It takes more than just 1 person to fight those monstrosities, humans survive because they live in groups, everyone knows that, 1 person isn’t going to change that even if I am now something more than a person.

I shook my head, reaching for another book I left on top of a stack of considered spells I could turn into my talent spell, I opened the book until I found the right title of the spell model.

[Create Automata]

Requirements

300 kilograms of steel.

80 kilograms of copper.

60 kilograms of…

(112 other types of ore and minerals)

1 Soul Stone with a human level soul or greater.

50 Kilograms of human skin.

(78 other items harvested from humans and other animals)

Essence of a 300-year-old pine tree.

A tulip grown near the mouth of a volcano.

(459 other miscellaneous items)

More Materials can be added to increase the power of the body.

Summary of the spell.

Create an Automata in any shape the user desires as long as sufficient material is present, it will have all the functions imagined by the caster if reasonable and possible and if sufficient material is present, it cannot exceed the cubic shape of 8 meters.

The resulting Automata will be a living being with its own personality, emotions, thoughts and mind, but absolutely loyal to the summoner following his every command.

As its own being it possesses its own soul that is connected to the summoner, the summoner can locate the Automata anywhere, converse with it from a long distance and share its senses with it this connection can be interrupted normally or temporarily severed, but it will not cause harm to the Automata nor the summoner.

The Automata isn’t inexhaustible; it needs to recover through absorbing natural or unnatural elements such as sunlight or electricity, but doesn’t need to shut down or stay at one place to do it and can do it passively.

The Automata is only as strong as the material it is made out of and possess the same weakness as the material, as it possesses a soul it will also possess the original soul’s magical talent, but not its memories or anything else for this matter.

The Automata cannot heal naturally.

The Automata has no organic weakness such as rest, sustenance or other physical requirements.

The Automata is semi-immortal.

The Automata possesses superior condition and physiology depending on the material.

History of the spell

This spell was recovered by the 8th Guardian Louis Lestrade, as usual it was found from the corpse of a defeated foreign invader who was a spell caster, not as usual the spell wasn’t written in a universal record known as a “spell book” recovered from the invader, instead the spell was written in what seemed like a diary written by the deceased invader who came from a world that has advanced steam technology to its utmost limit, the diary chronicles the life of the invader and how he painstakingly  became a spell caster from absolute poverty, it also describes how the spell caster met the love of his life an ordinary woman who wasn’t a spell caster, unfortunately the diary also describes how his lover had contracted an airborne illness from the pollution his world had created through the use of steam technology, the diary records up until the death of said lover from which the diary finally stops and the spell model begins, no explanation is given as to why the spell model is written in the diary and not in the spell book which is of superior quality, while the diary is made out of low quality hemp like paper material. The spell itself doesn’t actually do anything but create the entire body of the Automata and put the soul in it to breathe life into it, all the power that stems from the spell comes from its material 80% of which was already on the body of the spell caster who seemed to have come to the earth realm to gather the rest of the materials, the original spell formula didn’t need to be reverse engineered as it was completely compatible with the rules of earth realm it is very likely seeing that the invader was also human, the world he came from being most likely almost identical to earth realm. While this spell has almost impossible requirements and the spell formula looks like a spell formula from a 7th level spell, it is in fact a 1st level spell as it follows all the rules set within the 1st level barrier, why this is a 1st level spell when the invader was a 4th level spell caster is unknown, but its assumed by the 8th guardian that the invader worked on the spell ever since he was a 1st level spell caster and never changed it as he continued advancing, this in turn means that the invader worked on the spell for over 200 years as his meditation technique at the bare minimum required that much time for him to reach his level, the name borrows resemblance to another spell called [Create Earth Golem] and a lot of other similar spells which is likely what it is based upon, this spell also possess an eerie resemblance to another 9th level spell called [Deus Ex Machina] which is capable of turning the caster into a Machine of the same godly level as the spell, no traces connecting the spell caster to this spell have been found but it is very likely that the inspiration for this spell came from the 9th level spell itself.

-This is my only way out

What I originally thought of as too much for a beginner now turned out to be my only way out, as I said before humans only survive because they live in groups, I need help if I want to live, my ability to see didn’t matter at all, even if this spell didn’t allow me to share senses and only made a pile of earth that could move talk and act I would still have chosen it as it was another pair of hands that could help me.

None of the other choices I had were adequate enough to solve the situation I was in right now, another similar spell such as this one called [Create Earth Golem] existed as well, but that spell was far cry of what [Create Automata] was capable of as the main difference lied in the fact that one had a sense of self while the other didn’t, the golems could only follow simple orders at that and weren’t capable of improvising or advising me in any shape or form, more than anything I needed advice and opinions to get me through this, one more idea could be the difference between life and death for me.

-I need to do this, if I can’t do this only death awaits me.

I tried motivating myself, but by motivating myself I only made myself feel more nervous as I finally started to study the spell model looking at what seemed like a random array of countless symbols and signs.

I had already read through all the material that taught me how to safely engrave a spell into my soul to turn it into a talent spell so I could officially become a level 1 spell caster, the process was very easy in fact, I only needed to use my spiritual power to draw the spell model onto my soul and that was it.

There was no limit as to how large the spell model could be as the soul was actually far bigger than one could imagine, the only limit it had was that it could only store one spell for each level of a spell caster and if I tried to draw a spell beyond my current level then it was at that point I would be in danger as my soul wouldn’t be able to handle such power and implode turning me into a bits and pieces as the book described.

Luckily making a mistake in engraving the spell wasn’t an issu, the soul wouldn’t be able to accept a wrong spell model in the first place, once it’s wrong the soul will completely erase everything that was drawn on the soul and have the caster start all over again until it was right.

How the soul knew whether or not a spell was correctly drawn was beyond me, but from my research it is assumed that the soul isn’t actually correcting anything but instead using the caster’s own memory to align what they saw to what they had drawn making it plainly impossible to draw something incorrect.

Using a loophole to make the user believe the circle they saw was correct as they draw it wouldn’t work either as there seems to be another fail-safe function on the soul that checks the spell model once its drawn, any form of danger that befalls the soul caused by the spell model will immediately be responded with by erasing the spell model from the soul, but instead of doing it painlessly it will alert the person by causing intense pain from within, the books say that no person in existence had ever died from incorrectly drawing a spell model into the soul if they weren’t drawing a spell model beyond their power.

It was only after reading all of that I finally felt safe enough to try drawing this spell model into my soul, getting that resolution from there I only needed to get into a deep meditative state, call for my soul and then start drawing using my spiritual power.

This part confused me the most since I had no idea what it was talking about specifically.

Unsure but wanting to try, I first went into a deep meditative state using my meditation technique, a minty air deeply penetrated my lungs as I took a breath, next I channeled my mind until I finally arrived at complete tranquility, I was still able to think normally, but it didn’t feel different from how I did it usually which was the point I was stuck in until I tried to do some random things like.

Calling for my soul.

The moment my intentions were made clear a light suddenly appeared within my mind revealing a shining globe, the sudden appearance of this globe startled me but I quickly realized this must have been what the book was referring to, my motivation increased as I experienced a phenomenon like this and next I tried to call forth some spiritual power.

I used the same method as calling for my soul and sure behold a light brown wisp appeared within the deepness of my mind right beside the globe.

It was at that point I started to realize something very odd.

Shining? Light brown? How do I know this?

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, Blind To Monstrosities I Build My Sanctuary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment