My Colony Chapter 2 Cold Beginnings

The moment I opened my eyes, I felt a cold feeling between my skin.

The wind blew like a sharp razor caressing my skin, and not only that I could hear the animals within the forest making all kinds of noise making me aware of the nature around me.

At that moment delight sprung through my body as I finally came to the familiar world that I knew, immediately standing up I could see the sun shine down on me giving me some warmth in this windy place but not enough to keep me warm, looking around me I saw many trees, bushes, plants, flowers, hills and mountains, my eyes captured everything without fail and I felt alive.

-Finally, I have to this world.

Whispering such words, I stood still for exactly one minute to take everything in before immediately opening my eyes and getting serious.

I had enough rest, it was time for me to fulfill my purpose.

Enacting my goal, I immediately started to plan what I would do first and what my overall goal would be.

Obviously not dying was the most important goal I had at the moment, and to fulfil that I needed to first make sure I didn’t die from the cold, have enough food and water to last me for a while and finally a shelter I could use to protect me from the elements.

After that there were a lot more things I needed to do to ensure my survival, but those were still very far off into the future, what I needed now where those 3 essentials, clothing, food and shelter.

Not one to waste time, or at least I thought I had such a trait, I immediately started to look for a place to call my home base, as of now food and water weren’t too important as I was full and sated, finding shelter and something to wear on the other hand was the most important as I could imagine myself quickly freezing in this cold if I stayed too long.

-Question is where do I exactly go for shelter? Since all my skills are at their max, I already know that a cave would the best possible place I could make my home camp at, unfortunately there are only 2 mountains here and which one will possess a good enough cave for me to live in will depend on luck, it could also be that neither of them possess caves, if that’s so maybe I should stop relying on finding a cave and instead just make my own shelter, it will take a bit of time basically until afternoon and it won’t be as reliable as a cave but it will do for the first night…

While thinking about what to do, I looked around me trying to assess my surroundings some more, the wind was only forcing me to think more quickly as my skin started to tighten from the cold or at least that’s how the bionics perceived the cold for me.

-Hmm what’s that?

After thinking for a bit and finally about to come to a conclusion I notice a small map like icon on the corner of my vision.

Concentrating on it, immediately my vision flashed before I instantly found myself within a dark space.

For a moment I thought that I returned back to the place I came from, but noticing how it was dark instead of white I realized that it wasn’t it, looking around my eyes caught a huge window displaying what looked like a huge terrain from above, on this terrain I saw what I had just seen bellow trees, bushes, plants, flowers, mountain and hills but now I could see far more like a river that was on the east and a huge pond that was to the west, concentrating on one particular area I could see everything in far more detail if I willed it, nothing was out of my sight, I could even tell what kind of living creatures and how many of them were within my scope of vision, there was nothing I didn’t know within this dome of my mine but that was the extend it went, soon enough I found a limit to this window as it didn’t show me anything beyond a certain radius meaning I could only be all knowing within a certain parameters.

I wasn’t disgruntled knowing this, I was already ecstatic beyond believe that I had such a function as it immediately solved my shelter problem allowing me to find the perfect cave to use as my shelter.

Hunting would also be extremely easy in the future, finding certain plants would be good as well and most of all getting lost would never again be a problem as long as I limited myself within this area of control I had.

Having birds eye view was one thing, but this was nothing like it, it was more like omniscience than anything else.

Of course staying here didn’t seem to stop time or anything if it did, it would be too overpowering since it would give me infinite amount of time to plan things and allow me to think in crucial moments.

Anyways I once again focused on the same icon within my vision and as I guessed I immediately returned back to the avatar of my colonist bellow, now knowing where the cave was and where my ideal camp was located I didn’t waste even a second before jogging my way towards it also using the most ideal pathing allowing me to quickly arrive within 40 minutes which should have taken more than 3 hours if I took a more inefficient pathing.

Everything more smoothly then I expected, finding the cave I walked towards it without fear as I knew that there was nothing inside for me to cautious of.

The cave was perfect having only a single big dome shaped room with a decently sized single entrance about my size I would only need to cover the entrance wide a plank of wood to completely close it off and keep warm.

Immediately my shelter problem was solved, now I only needed something to wear and provisions.

Luckily these 2 went hand in hand as I could easily use the skin of animals to cover myself with and eat their meat to fill myself.

Water wasn’t a problem the moment I knew that I had the ability to see everything within this are, the cave was very close to a small pond nearby from where I could take water from.

Which only left food and clothing as my final concerns.

-Of course I can’t just go out hunting with empty hands, I will need tools and weapons.

Having only just walked into the cave I immediately went out walking into the nearby forested area I collected, wood, stones and plant fiber to create a stone knife, a spear and a sling.

This all took only 1`and a half hours to make, my hands were extremely dexterous and I had simply no gap in my knowledge when creating these items, I also used the best available material I could find making some extremely high quality stuff even though I didn’t have any specialized tools other than my hands.

After I was finished, I judged that I was ready.

I already had a prey in mind when I looked over the terrain, but after thinking about it some more I quickly came to the conclusion that with my abilities the original prey would be too easy and not satisfy my clothing problem as it was too small.

Because of this I wanted to find a single animal that I could use for food and clothing by only hunting it once and oh be hold, not too far from here there was a cave and inside that cave there was a huge brown bear. The knowledge I had immediately told me that the bear was the most similar to an Alaskan Kodiak which is the second largest bear on earth a polar bear being the largest.

Normally such a bear would difficult to kill even with more refined weapons like a gun as they can easily take a few shots before running at you and mauling you to death, through this alone it is seen that primitive weapons like my spear and sling are far less likely to succeed in hunting a bear, but I wasn’t worried.

I was totally confidant in taking out that bear as I wasn’t just a simple human. My entire body was made out of bionics I was sure that fighting the bear would of no issue.

Still it wasn’t as if I was going to go unprepared.

Walking towards the bears cave I collected a whole of materials on the way to make lots of dead fall traps that would trigger upon being stepped on which would result in something heavy falling on the prey or victim, I mainly only made these traps as they were easy to make and effective against stupid beasts like the bear as they wouldn’t understand what a trap is even if they looked at it.

Finally, at the end I gathered a whole lot of leaves and sticks and prepared a fire to smoke out the bear and make it difficult for it walk out of the cave without being burned by the fire first.

I already knew from my ability that the cave the bear was in had only one entrance and to top it off I waited until the bear would fall asleep which roughly took until noon which was time I used to prepare more and more traps.

At the end I was tired, but not tired enough to feel pain or sleepiness, the body of the ultimate colonist I created would never tire easily, it didn’t need to sleep a lot either to stay energetic plus it had incredibly high endurance in both body and mind.

Spirit was never an issue here as the heart would surpass the body with will.

-Its time.

Seeing the sun going down and night about to fall I immediately lighted the fire, darkness descended thirty minutes later but my eyes weren’t blinded by the dark as I had bionic eyes that could see even if it was dark. The bear had similar night vision capabilities but this wasn’t a problem.

Lighting the fire I immediately threw everything into the cave entrance before stepping away.

The bear already woke up the moment it smelled the smoke getting up it quickly ran to exit which was the sole entrance only to discover that it was completely covered in flames.

Understanding that there was no way out, it did exactly as I predicted and charged through the flames with a deep and mighty roar its fur curling up as the flames roasted the bear from the outside.

Upon leaving the blazing entrance it quickly started to roll on the ground trying to extinguish was little remained of the flames which is exactly where I took the opportunity to strike while it was distracted and in pain.

Using my sling I shot a high velocity rock, since all my skills were at max and I had taken all the positive traits including the ones to do with marksmanship there was simply no way for me to miss, and because of this the rock flew in a high speed and straight line hitting the bear straight in its left eye making him blind in one eye.

The sudden attack immediately caught the bear off guard as it instantly sprung up in pain from being blinded by a rock to its eye.

Enduring its pain, it got to its feet and started to look for the fiendish attacker that hurt it, and soon enough it stopped me standing 50 meters away from it, I wasn’t bothering to hide and instead shot another rock with my sling once again hitting it in the head this time on its snout which would cause the most pain.

-WRAHHHHHH!

The roar of the bear seemed to have immediately every bird in the vicinity as it shook up the entire forest.

Now I had done it, the bear was beyond pissed looking at me with the most bloodthirsty look it could muster the bear completely ignored the pain as it started to charge at me at full speed, I wasn’t disturbed simply waiting for it to come close enough I turned around and started running in-between trees in the dark.

The bear being both stupid and pissed followed me taking a bit more time to change directions as it wasn’t as fast as it was when it charged a straight line, this is what I expected and what I relied on to take this bear down.

My traps set in place were ready to be used always set behind the trees I passed and finally the first trap was sprung, a heavy rock falling as it directly hit the back of the bear from high up.

-WRUUH!?

The bear confused as to what had just attacked it momentarily stopped to look for an enemy, but after looking and finding no one other than the rock that feel on it, it was confused, this confusion is what I used to launch another attack with my sling instantly pulling its attention back to me as we continued our game of tag.

Each time a trap was triggered and hit the bear I would use its confusion to take pot shots from a distance.

Of course not every trap I set exactly worked, some traps didn’t trigger in time while others missed completely, but because of the sheer size of the traps it didn’t really matter.

The bear could also never truly catch up to me because I was always passing by trees it always needed to change its direction mid charge which slowed it down, in the end we continued this chase for another hour until finally the bear couldn’t even run anymore.

Ultimately it had run out of steam, not because of the running because of the constant battering it was getting from me and the traps I set, bear hide was extremely thick but even a bear couldn’t take constant heavy rocks pummeling it from above.

And since I was also always hitting its face, blood was constantly coming out of its eye nose and numerous bruises I made through the sling.

-It ends here.

Seeing the bear only walking now, I stopped running.

Merely taking out my sling I kept on shooting at the bear always hitting it on its head.

The bear pitifully tried to protect itself by putting its head to the ground and hiding its head with its pawns.

But even if I couldn’t damage its head it didn’t mean I didn’t have any other method to hurt it.

Actually I was waiting for it to hide its head because now it was time to kill it.

Pulling out my spear I immediately started to run towards the bear, still not aware that I had stopped attacking it from all the trauma it suffered to the head it hadn’t raised its head even when I directly stood in front of it.

At this point I didn’t say anything and merely raised my spear, using one bionic empowered thrust my wooden spear easily pierced through the neck of the bear, at that point I also let go of the spear and jumped quickly avoiding a swipe that came from bellow as the bear thrashed from the sudden attack.

And that was the end.

The bear only suffered for another 20 seconds before finally going out for good.

With the bear dead I had procured meat and a huge hide for me to use for warmth.

Carrying the bear back to base was difficult but nothing I couldn’t handle as I crafted a makeshift sled and carried it back home.

The blood of the bear could easily attract more predators but using my ability I knew that there were no predators within this part of the forest as it was the territory of the bear I had just killed.

After an entire day of hunting this bear, I was immensely hungry and tired.

-The first day was difficult but not too bad, tomorrow I will need to do better.

Telling myself as such I reached my home base and started to prepare a meal with the bear I hunted and went to sleep.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, My Colony. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment