My Colony Chapter 3 Second Day

I slept approximately 4 hours before getting fully charged and ready to go, after waking up I immediately ate my breakfast which consisted of only roasted bear meat which was incredibly gamy but since I was extremely hungry I didn’t care too much, while preparing my meal I remembered that meat like bear meat contains trichinosis that is a type of harmful parasite, trichinosis wasn’t the only parasite that a bear had either predatory animals like bears often had other parasites but since I inspected the bear and knew countermeasures I wasn’t worried about eating the bear, trichinosis for example could be easily countered by just cooking the bear meat until it was well done or charred, the knowledge of this came from both my survival skill and my medical skill which was interesting.

Because I didn’t have a water container I couldn’t drink any water at the moment and needed to walk towards the pond nearby to directly drink water from it, luckily I already had an idea as to what I should do to get a water container, the freshly hunted bear carcass had a stomach that I could convert into a water container, in fact every part of the bear there was something I could use which is what I would spend my time doing today.

Getting to work I first started by weaving some rope out of fiber, taking only 40 minutes I created a 50-meter-long rope that I used to hang the bear upside down along a tree to drain its blood and make it easier for me to process later.

Afterwards I made a stone oven/smoking rack that I would use later to smoke the meat for preservation, this took another hour and after I was finished the blood from the bear had already all been drained getting ready to be processed.

I had already cut a few parts of the bear to eat earlier, but only at parts where I would start working.

Foremost I skinned the bear, because I had nothing better other than a stone knife the job was a bit more difficult than it was supposed to be at least for me, but since the knife I created was very good and high quality I still finished up very quickly giving me the end result of a clean huge pelt that I could finally use to keep myself warm.

Of course I first needed to wash it and scrap the fat off and then dry it, but at this point I could already say that I didn’t need to worry about freezing to death too much any longer.

After skinning the bear and processing the pelt to let it dry, I immediately started the butchering process.

Once again because of the knife my job wasn’t very easy but in the end I managed, taking 3 hours to completely butcher the entire bear, by the time I finished the sun was finally up and it was finally morning, I also processed the stomach turning it into a water skin for me to use while putting everything else which was the meat onto the smoking rack to be smoked.

My maxed out cooking skill told me that I needed to be very specific about the size of the meat I was smoking and what kind of wood I was using for the smoke, the best and quickest results would solely depend on these 2 factors which is what I did cutting the meat precisely while looking for hickory or maple wood.

Finding all these components and putting them together I only needed to wait 14 to 16 hours give and take to make perfect smoked bear meat.

In that time there was so much more I would do and since I could still see what was going on here even if I walked away I had quite a bit of freedom of movement letting me do as I pleased while being able to react instantly.

And in regards to the other organs of the bear and the bones, those would also be utilized, meaning I basically ate all the organs I could eat while using the bones to craft some more tools like awls, needles for sewing and fishing hooks.

Spearheads, arrow heads and knives were also a option but I already had another idea for those which is why I didn’t make them.

After making them I left everything I didn’t need inside my camp while finally getting ready to head out.

The meat was still smoking and the pelt together with the stomach were still drying.

I took with me my wooden spear, my sling and nothing much else and went inside the forest.

My goal now was to make a better spear, a better knife, a better ranged weapon and make a hand axe, the reason why I didn’t immediately start by making a bow earlier before I hunted the bear and instead made a sling was because I needed to quickly hunt a animal and get myself some pelt, this time for future hunts the bow would be my main ranged weapon since I got my pelt, with the sling delegated into a secondary weapon.

A better spear was obvious as to why just as was a knife while a hand axe would be a tool/secondary weapon for me to use together with my knife.

Finally, the material I was to use to craft all of these would be wood and also a new material I found using my ability which was obsidian I had found next to the side of a hill not too far from here.

On the way towards this hill I always checked what was going on with my smoking rack while also using my sling to hunt for birds for their feathers to be used as fletching for my arrows and a snack.

By the time I arrived at the hill with the obsidian nearby I killed 6 birds which was more than enough, after that I immediately started first by making the hand axe as it would be easier to make a bow with a hand axe first.

I used a sharp triangle shaped piece of obsidian as the axe head, grabbed a sturdy piece of wood drilled a hole onto the side and stuck the axe head into it while stringing plant fiber to keep it in place finally making a hand axe.

Next I made my bow which was far easier with the help of the hand axe and after that used another 2 hours to make my improved spear, knife and 24 arrows which I put inside a makeshift quiver made out of bark.

By the time I was done I could see using my ability that the wood on the smoking rack had already gone out and that only smoke was rising.

I quickly returned holding 6 birds that I would use for lunch, I ate organized everything kept the fire on the smoker going while preparing to go out again.

The sun was still high up indicating that I had a lot of time.

My progress until now was beyond smooth sailing, at this rate I would easily gather everything to be able to live self-sufficiently without any worries, but this was not my goal, I hadn’t forgotten about my purpose and what god wanted me to do.

-The colony…I need to create a colony and to create a colony I need to find people, a colony without people isn’t a colony at all, after getting everything ready I will immediately head out to look for people to join my colony, before that I need to make sure I am 100% ready.

Feeling determination rise inside my chest I headed out into the forest holding my bow I jogged towards my next target which was a herd of deer I had discovered.

I needed more pelt, enough pelt to not only completely cover myself but also to make more tools like backpacks and shoes.

And just like that I spend my remaining day hunting deer for their skin.

The single minded efficiency of this colonist I had created was beyond human, he didn’t bore or feel tired which made all the work extremely easy together with his unmatched skill and abilities, I was sure that creating the colony with the help of this colonist wouldn’t be too difficult.

But little did I know that you needed more than just be capable to create a colony, after all a colony wasn’t just the efforts of one person, but the efforts of every single person.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, My Colony. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment