My Colony Chapter 1 Purpose

Opening my eyes, I immediately found myself inside a completely white space with nothing inside, all I could see was white and for a moment I believed I had become blind but after looking at my hands I quickly realized that I wasn’t blind and that I really was inside what looked like an infinitely stretching white canvas.

Of course my first reaction was to panic, after panicking for what seemed like 2 minutes I realized that there was simply no point to panicking at all and just stopped abruptly.

After that I started walking.

-Where the hell am I? What happened to me?

While walking to nowhere in particular but forward hoping to meet something I started to wondered about what had occurred to me, but after thinking a bit I started to realize that I knew nothing at all.

Who I was, what I did, where I came from.

Such information was completely unavailable to me or rather it seemed as if it didn’t exist at all, it all seemed as if my existence had just been randomly created by the will of a higher power, I knew everything a ordinary person knew about life and existence, I knew I was human, but I simply didn’t know who I was or what my purpose was in this infinitely stretching world.

I stopped for a moment as I considered this, thinking to myself I looked up into the sky or rather into the white space before asking.

-Tell me ! What is my purpose.

And immediately upon saying so a window of light opened up showing me a character creation window that usually showed up in role playing games.

I was surprised for a second but I quickly adapted trying to understand, I saw this window as the answer to my question, the purpose I was seeking.

Soon enough after finishing reading the entire window I realized that it was creation window of a game to start your own colony of some sort on a unknown newly discovered planet to be colonized.

At the beginning you can only start with 3 people but you can also reduce the number towards 2 or 1 never exceeding 3, doing so seemed to have it advantages as at the bottom side there stood a number called points which indicated how much I could customize my characters or colonists.

Beneficial customization’s made the points go down while unbeneficial ones made the points go u, for example if I erased all 3 colonists leaving me with 0 colonists I had a total of 25000 points I could spend.

And in terms of customization I could customize virtually anything about the character, name, age, height, appearance, skills, health, backstory there was nothing out of my reach.

I could even what kind of resources my colonist starts with or where he lands but those two points costed a lot more then character customization.

After reading everything and testing all kinds of combinations I came to the conclusion that starting without any resources and putting the location towards random was the most cost effective way to save points as it literally costed 0.

I had my reasons to make such incredibly dangerous arrangement as I believed from my short existence that leaving everything up to chance and skill would bring me far closer to my purpose then carefully preparing everything from the start, god wanted me to create a colony and play his game, if god had created me then god decides where I go, it is difficult to explain really but I felt I was doing the right thing.

In regards to my colonists, I decided I would need only a single one, from what I read I deduced that I will have many opportunities in the future to recruit colonists, starting with 3 colonists would likely speed up my development incredibly quickly, but this would only give me 3 above average colonists if I divided my points between all 3 of them.

Which is why I only made 1, this had its advantages after all as recruiting new colonists will always be a matter of chance when it comes to their traits, skills and other factors.

The biggest advantage to the character creation window was to create a single ultimate colonist that could virtually never be a reality.

And the result of this ultimate colonist looks like this.

Name: Novak White

20 years old.

All skills maxed.

All positive traits taken.

Backstory:

Childhood: Extreme Tragedy

Adulthood: Extreme Tragedy

Health:

No Negative Health Condition.

Body Fully Implanted with the most advanced bionics in the universe.

Equipment:

Nothing.(Meaning He starts buck naked)

To create this colonist it took exactly 25000 points not one less or one more, the backstory especially gave the most points 5000 each for choosing them, and whats cool about these backstories is that they don’t give any negative effects to my colonist for some reason like making him be bad at certain things or giving him bad traits, instead I was completely locked out of the relationship window the moment I chose both extreme tragedy as the colonists backstory, the relationship window costed no points to modify which is why I didn’t mention it and honestly I didn’t care too much about it either as it didn’t seem to have any major effect on the colonist whatsoever.

Finally the reason I made my colonist 20 years old was because I wanted him to live the longest out of my colonists and be at top shape at all times at the prime of his youth.

After finishing everything, the colonist I had created was immediately visualized for me to see.

Standing approximately 190 cms tall this man had short crew cut hair that was completely white, on top of that his eyes were completely silver with blue mixed in.

His perfectly chiseled body and beyond handsome face made him look like a real life god, on top of that he looked completely human, even though his entire body was fully bionic other than his organs, it didn’t look like he had bionics at all making him a perfect mix of human and machine.

I stood there for a moment admiring this man I had created.

For a moment I wondered if this was how god had created me, but if he truly created me this way, what was the point of me creating my own human?

It was strange, my questions only increasing the more I thought about them, but in the end I stopped and decided that I was finished.

Double checking on everything I pushed the confirm button on the side, looking at the colonist as if I was looking at him one last time, light flashed once more before everything went dark, I felt sleepy and the moment I woke up I had already found myself inside a strange new place.

This time a place full of color and life, blood and death.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, My Colony. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment