Monster Lover Chapter 1 Sibling Pain

Reincarnation.

A plot device used in many recent novels within the 21st century.

The fantasy of being able to live a second life with the memories of your previous life is is something many people dream about since its such a big advantage early on as a clear and mature could learn and endure far better then that of a child’s.

In many of these stories, the protagonist also usually is some kind of genius or master in his or her previous life and by getting to live a second life they get to transfer all of that knowledge and skill over becoming a prodigy early on and empowering themselves even more then before by creating things like guns and gunpowder or demonstrating their powerful martial ability.

Honestly no matter how you cut it, reincarnation is a powerful ability, the longer you lived your previous life, the more knowledge and skills you had before you died, the stronger it is, but then again how does it stack up when a average person has it ?

Like say someone with not many significant skills or knowledge who had only lived half their life.

In the end its still very useful just by the fact that you get to keep your adult comprehension and experiences since this alone will make your life 10 times more easier as you wouldn’t need to experience those again to mature.

This clear-headedness is not something very much explored in these types of stories or at least it isn’t the focus exactly and more of a side aspect to keep in mind with everything else that is going on.

It isn’t a skill or a type of knowledge after all and more something taken as granted, not many people know that there exist a lot of people out there that no-matter how old they get still can’t reach that kind of mental state to really be considered a adult be it through choice or not.

Or maybe its because of the ease and leisure we humans get within our advanced age that it becomes difficult to reach such a state of mind.

I wouldn’t know, I am not a psychologist nor a scientist.

-SAMANTHA ! Get your sister right here this instant or I am giving away your breakfast to your other sisters !

-OKAY OKAY ! You don’t need to shout !

Shouting out and receiving such words from the corridor, I looked back over the table as dozens of wooden plates littered the surface with wooden spoons beside them each, the table stretching at least 5 to 6 meters with a lot of chairs standing to fill every edge and corner, and within those chairs many many children sat, their ages ranging from 4 which was the youngest to 14 which was the oldest all sitting by their respective age from the youngest to the oldest.

They were all mostly girls and most importantly they were all sisters and brothers. In total there were 24 of these kids in this household including me with only 3 being male outside of myself, all making a immense racket in the dining room, just looking at them would be exhausting for any ordinary person to bear, but since I had been here for a long time I was already used to the view and sound these little animals could make.

I didn’t even bat an eye when one of them started to swing her plate around or another still continued to sleep on her seat, but as soon as one impatient girl started to smack the table…

-Kylieeee !

I roared her name, my voice immediately paralyzing her as she stopped what she was doing and quickly behaved herself once again as if what she did didn’t happen at all while giving me a few sneaky looks.

The nearby girls quickly started to laugh and gloat at her once she was called out by me, it was just the usual really, this too quickly devolving into a argument among these sisters which of course everyone knew their limits of since I had deeply engraved it into their minds.

Since she quickly cut it out I decided I wouldn’t scold or punish her today, but at the same time I kept a mental note regarding her, telling myself that if she does it again that she would get it for real.

Putting this aside, I concentrated back to what I was doing, I wasn’t actually inside the dining room and instead stood within the kitchen that had a big open window into the dining room at top of portable staircase.

Looking back in front of me I had a huge pot boiling on top of a large stove, the fragrance of the dish I was cooking was very thick and the blood red soup within the pot boiled like it was some sort of lava, over all the stew was cooking very well, judging from experience I knew that I only needed a few more minutes of cooking before the stew would be done which is why I put the lid back on and stepped down getting ready to serve.

My actions were all well practiced and natural, having done this almost every day ever since I became 6 years old, I was used to doing almost all the chores around the house including cooking and cleaning.

Since then almost 8 years had passed and soon it was going to be 9 as I was 14 at the moment about to turn 15 which was considered turning into a adult in this world.

What world you ask ? Definitely not earth if you want to know, as ever since I was born I had already witnessed too many weird things to think this is the same place I once used to reside in.

Hell ! I am not even in my own body or at least not the body I once had !

But don’t get me wrong, I am happy to be young again and most importantly alive, but at the same time my surroundings were much to be desired on top of that I was really stressed most of the time which is why I was this high-strung at all times.

You know the girls.

Hmm maybe I should introduce myself already huh ?

Anyways, my current name is Kyro Ravenguard, I am a 14 year old boy and approximately 160 to 165 cms tall, I had short black hair and dark brown eyes, my body was very lean and not too beefy, but robust, nothing about me other then my trained body was exceptional, my face from what my mothers tell me was slightly above average, but still just average.

As you have probably already guessed, I am one of those reincarnated individuals that you often read within your novels, the only thing is other then reincarnating there is nothing special about me as I am just a ordinary person from the 21st century.

No meeting with a god or goddess and no special powers or skills.

Just a plain old man.

Well not really plain but you get what I am saying.

In my previous life, I was a 45 year old accountant who never dated his entire life, there was a reason for that too as I came from a very poor background that was in constant poverty making me for one very unappealing to girls and for 2 constantly busy as I was raised by a single mother together with 3 other siblings who were all girls and much younger then me.

Because of this my everyday life basically revolved around taking care of my siblings at every moment while mother was out at work and studying at every chance I got so I could get a scholarship and enter a good school which would net me a good job with high-pay allowing me to leave poverty.

I guess you could say that these are some interesting circumstances I was surrounded with back then, but from where I was from this was very normal.

And in the end I succeeded in what I set out to do, I got my scholarship, entered a high-ranking university, graduated as the very top of my school becoming a accountent and then getting scouted by a huge corporation from where I turned everything around leaving poverty completely.

The only regret I really had in previous life was the fact that my mother wasn’t able to see me succeed coming that far, as she had died only a day before my graduation, her cause of death a heart attack from overworking.

And in regards to my sisters, I made sure that they would also be taken care of or at least prepared enough to succeed which they eventually did all of them getting either married to a good man or starting a successful career.

With all of this going on, it wasn’t surprising that I never got the chance to ever intimately connect with another woman, I personally got over it believing that it was fine, ultimately giving up hope completely when I turned 40 and realized my prime had passed me.

Honestly how I died was very comical as well since it was incredibly ironic considering how my mother had died.

Basically while I was sitting on the train to go home I accidentally slept through and then most likely never woke up again.

I had died from exhaustion and overwork, having nothing better to do in my life I was quite a workaholic and having just gone through a 2 week death-march within the office I was simply beyond exhausted sealing my fate the moment I entered the train.

When I reincarnated and realized that I was born again as a baby inside this strange new world, my first instinct wasn’t to cry or to laugh but rather blankly think about what just happened.

It took a bit of time for everything to settle in, but I wasn’t dissatisfied, sometimes I think that maybe my mother had been looking out for me and gave me another chance in life for all the things I had done for us.

-Daddy ! Daddy !

-Huh ?

Suddenly pulling me out of my thoughts I felt someone pulling the side of my pant, looking down I immediately recognized who it was as I found a cute little girl with blonde hair and big brown eyes looking very sleepy as if she had just woken up which she probably had, she held a stuffed bunny rabbit and wore a cute little sleeping gown with a few patches that I had knitted in when I had the time, the way she adorably looked up at me warmed my heart while making me feel relaxed before I slowly got down and picked her up within my arms.

Upon taking her up the little girl made a extremely bright smile hugging my neck as she rubbed her cheek with mine, and because she was so light it almost felt as if I was holding a cute little kitty.

-Oh Veronica, how many times do I have to tell you that I am not your daddy, I am your brother ! Your brother understand ?

-But Mommy said that Daddy is the new Daddy of the house and that we should treat you as such, is that wrong ?

Hearing her innocent reply, I wasn’t sure how to answer as what she said wasn’t really wrong, but at the same time I didn’t want to be called Daddy so affectionately as I would soon turn 15 and become a adult.

Once I became a adult a special event would take place which would be followed by me getting old enough for marriage, once that occurred it was very likely that I wouldn’t be staying in the house any longer meaning that I would need to part from these girls.

Which is why I didn’t want her call me so dearly, emotionally I was already very burdened, it was just like how it was in my previous life when I needed to leave the house for my studies, while everyone wanted me to go and chase my dreams, in reality thats not how they felt, even now I remember how my little sisters cried their eyes out begging me not to leave before the day of departure, it pulled my heartstrings and at the time I was almost tempted to stay before mother came in and viciously pulled the girls away telling me that I should do what I should do.

Imagine that, but now instead of 3 siblings it would 23 siblings, the emotional burden amplifying as I had watched and raised each and every single one of them, the only reason I was still very clear-headed was because I had experienced separation before making the pain slightly lesser.

Veronica here didn’t even know what was coming which was the same for most of the children bellow 10 while everyone above 10 basically knew what would happen once I became 15 years old.

I sighed, to me it seemed as if it was only yesterday that I had reincarnated into this strange world, up until now my life had gone very similarly to how my previous life had gone only slightly more difficult.

But honestly its not like I was complaining, as I was once again surrounded by love.

-Samantha ! Don’t think I can’t see you sneaking over there ! I told you that we will eat once everyone is on the table, no sneaking in bites before everyone is there, you know the rules !

Hearing my words, the girl called Samantha who incidentally came from the same mother as me immediately stopped hiding the moment she was found out making a cutesy expression as if she was merely joking though I knew better then trust that kind of face, I had already noticed her the moment I came down to pick up Veronica, she probably thought that I wouldn’t see her when I crouched down, little did she know that I always kept my guard up inside the kitchen knowing that there were a lot of little scamps who wanted a bite before dinner.

Samantha was one of those repeat offenders as well meaning I already expected her to be here once I noticed Veronica was here since I explicitly told her to get her if she wanted her breakfast.

-Hehe ! Oh come on I just wanted a small appetizer before the feast ! Since I did what you told me to can’t I have a bit of bread ? The ones you bake are always the most delicious ! And since we are true siblings I just thought…

(Whoosh)

Before she could even finish that sentence I was already holding my metal ladle swinging at her with full force, already expecting me to come and hit her, Samantha expertly dodged my attack giving me a hard glare as she did so.

Honestly I wasn’t really thinking that I would be able to hit her and simply swung at her knowing that I would miss, knowing Samantha I knew very well that words weren’t things that would come through to her but actions.

-As I said before, we eat when everyone is on the table, go back breakfast is about to be done..

Saying as such I gave away the small Veronica to Samantha, as I did so Veronica struggled a bit as she clearly didn’t want to be touched by Samantha but in the end she couldn’t go against me once I gave her a hard look as she easily submitted while looking at me sadly before letting herself be taken by her sister.

Samantha in turn was a bit mad, but I knew it wouldn’t last she quickly turned around with a “Hmph” before going towards the exit.

-Its not like you’re going to stay here any longer, the least you could do is give me some bread before you go…

Her words were almost like a whisper, but with the way she talked I knew that she wanted me to hear, I was almost about to turn around and give her scolding at that, but Samantha was smart and quickly decided to escape once she got the last word.

I could only sigh at that closing my eyes as I felt my shoulders turning heavy once again while leaning on the counter.

-That little bitch..

Of course even I couldn’t stay mad at her, she was my sister after all and one of the closest at that too even if she was a troublemaker, and just like she said she was my true sibling as we had both come from the same mother turning her into a individual I had spent the most time with ever since I had come here.

Plus I could tell that Samantha was agitated as well by my 15 birthday, it wasn’t like she wanted me to be angry at her, it was simply just difficult for her express herself properly as she wasn’t a person to cry when met with a difficult situation.

-I just hope she won’t do something stupid…

I whispered almost praying as I returned back to preparing for the meal, the food had already been done while we were talking, looking at the clock on the wall, it had just turned 7 AM.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, Monster Lover. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment