Memories Of The Cataclysm Chapter 11 Haunting Resurrection

-Ehm…I was out of town when the apocalypse happened living in a shack…so yeah from the beginning I was in the forest so I don’t know what happened…in fact you’re the first ever real human I met that wasn’t a monster, so there you have it.

I said, replying to her question as truthfully as I could finding myself completely unable to say any falsehood whatsoever no matter how much I tried to force myself, I already predicted that something like this would happen, but I was still surprised when I actually saw how restrictive the truth teller trait was, I was completely unable to lie even though I could still think about lying only the act itself seemed to be forbidden, but saying something vague or misleading still seemed to be possible as long as it was not a outright lie, plus I could also just shut my mouth as well.

Upon hearing my words, Miss Valery seemed slightly disappointed for a second there most likely because she hoped there were others beside me while also being surprised that I was in the outdoors the entire time when the world went to shit, she couldn’t seem to stop herself as she asked another question.

-If it isn’t too much to ask…where are we right now ? I personally came from Terrant a mega city, but ever since I fled from there and walked through the forest aimlessly for who knows how long I really lost my sense of direction…

-Oh thats easy to answer, but Terrant huh ? You really came far Miss Valery since its over 200 kms away from here, either way we are currently at Gili Forest, my shack is located in the middle of to the Rugra swamp and Gili forest next to the river that runs here.

-I see..

Miss Valery said, looking slightly shocked as she didn’t seem to expect to have wandered so far away from her former home, I personally was also surprised by how far she was able to go, if she really was a resident of Terrant the fact that she survived this journey until now was nothing short of a miracle especially since she was on foot.

On another note, the reason I remembered Terrant was because it was the only major city that was the closest to me with everything else in the surroundings being either towns or smaller cities.

Knowing where these hugely populated areas were was crucial for as I needed to avoid them as much as possible, while I didn’t plan on going to these places yet, I still couldn’t discount the idea that at one point I would need to go there.

After this I tried to ask what happened ever since the apocalypse or the cataclysm struck.

Miss Valery didn’t mind sharing her experiences and told me everything on the way even divulging private information like who she was before the apocalypse, and while her words were helpful for me to understand I also quickly discovered that she didn’t actually see a lot since she spend majority of her time inside the evac-shelter and only recently came out to the surface.

The only concrete things I could figure out from her words was that everything started with the bombs in her city and that monsters like that vine creature in her evac-shelter really did exist, it was a truly crazy world, but what was even more amazing was the fact that Miss Valery was able to survive that.

There were a few parts in her narration where it seemed like she left out a few things for one reason or another, she mentioned her mother, but back-tracked then and I didn’t hear about her ever since, I was tactful enough to not ask her about things like that which is why I simply listened without saying another word.

By the time she finished we already had reached the highway where not too far away my shack was located, seeing a actual building with walls and roof attached after such a long time in the wild, Miss Valery looked like the clouds in her mind had finally dispersed, she even quickened her pace a bit more.

But just as she was about to come close to my shack she squealed in horror after witnessing something.

-HIYAAAA!

-What is it !

Thinking that something bad had happened I quickly stepped forward, Miss Valery being taller then me momentarily blocked the view as she quickly jumped towards me in fright, I nervously caught her as she tried not to stumble and fall before she quickly readjusted herself and came behind me.

Now with her out of the way I quickly looked at what had scared her, preparing for a fight, but just as I did I quickly realized that it wasn’t actually anything difficult.

Frightening indeed, but not threatening per say.

I stepped forward looking down at the thing that started crawl towards me.

-GRAWHHH !

-You are still alive ? Didn’t I kill you already ?

The identity of the monster was none other then the first zombie I had killed, crawling with its mouth gaping wide it did everything it could as it tried to get to me with its crawling speed, its leg that I had previously busted with a kick couldn’t be used any longer which is why it was crawling.

The caved in dent I had created on its skull was also still visible making for a disturbing appearance even though it was already very creepy.

Overall the fact that I wasn’t able to kill it the first time and still prayed for it was a bit awkward, but at the same time I still couldn’t figure out why it was still alive, logically its brain should have been damaged beyond repair why was it still moving ? And why did it stop moving when I thought I killed it the first time ? Did I just knock it out or something.

I pondered, not understanding what the problem was as I drew my knife about to stab it in the neck to end it once and for all, but before I did so I used my ability to check it out one last time hoping to see something and surprisingly I did.

[Crawling Zombie]

The words crawling zombie directly described what this creature was without any shed of doubt, but thinking about it more thoroughly I quickly remembered that before I “killed” it the first time it was still a zombie that could walk on 2 legs making it not a crawling zombie but a ordinary one, going by this line of events shouldn’t this zombie still be just called “Zombie” instead of adding the word “crawling” in front of it ? Whats the logic behind this ? If a zombie crawls does it automatically turn into a “crawling zombie”, that couldn’t be it since this ability so far only showed the identity of what certain items or creatures really were…unless.

-Unless this isn’t the same zombie ?

My expression momentarily hardened as I started to think about what I just said, but after only a few seconds of logical thinking I knew for certain that this couldn’t be right, it was the same zombie without a doubt, my footprint on its head proofed this, but at the same time, I couldn’t help but think that there was something I was missing again…

What is the deal with death anyway ?

I am not being philosophical or anything, I just simply wanted to know why it was death specifically that turned humans into monsters, the virus that makes these zombies needs a host obviously but why is death necessary in that process ?

Why not make “alive” zombies instead ? Does death simply have a advantage over life or is there something else ?

-What about those other zombies I just killed ? Will they also come back ?

I muttered, swinging my knife as I easily pierced the neck of the crawling zombie once again killing as it stopped moving the moment I disconnected its nerves from its brain.

Seeing me kill the zombie so easily once again, Miss Valery looked slightly relieved but at the same time also ashamed for some reason as she couldn’t look me into my eye.

-S-Sorry…I was really useless there, I shouldn’t have run…

Her words were a bit surprising, but I smiled and simply waved it off saying.

-Oh its okay, not everyone is strong enough to fight these monsters, I also know far more about fighting then most people, plus you are also not used to it neither are you in any shape to fight, right now we should quickly get inside, its getting really cold outside.

-Yes…

Not looking as if she felt any better, Miss Valery quickly followed suit as she stiffly came with me into the warm shack, the wood oven was still burning keeping the insides toasty, upon coming inside Miss Valery’s complexion quickly turned rosy as she seemed to relax 10 times as much then she did before.

Satisfied, I was about to close the door, but before I did so I couldn’t help, but once again stare at the zombie who had died a second time.

I knew that I had to thoroughly deal with him this time and maybe even return back to where I killed those other zombies.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, Memories Of The Cataclysm. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment