The Almighty Search Engine Chapter 4 Act One The Awakened

Just as the wounds caused by our fathers death started to heal, we found out about the strange diseases that infected Katie when we noticed that Katie’s pupils started to become bluer and bluer as days past, both me and my mother got worried the first time we found out and immediately decided to send her to the hospital, she was 13 when it all started and at first no doctor was able to diagnose her or tell us what was going on.

Through regular check ups it was discovered that nothing really was wrong with her body and that the doctors just couldn’t discover any abnormalities other than her changing eye color, Katie herself admits to it as well as she stated that she doesn’t feel any different, she only gets occasional irritation in her eyes but other than that nothing seemed really be in need of concern.

Of course this alone didn’t calm neither me or my mother, in the end we just started to look for more qualified hospitals and doctors until they could at least tell us what was going on so we could rest easy.

The amount of money we used for these doctors was exponential, usually we wouldn’t have that much money on hand but because of my fathers smart idea as a businessman and the worlds chaotic state he had left a will with a contract stating that upon his death every business asset he owned would be sold to the government and the money would directly given to his family which was us.

From this will we gained such a huge fortune that it allowed us to live the rest of our lives without ever having to work again.

Though in the end ¾ of the money had already been used to pay those doctors and other things that could potentially cure my sister, neither me or my mother regretted this decision, we both had jobs and it was not like we really needed the money, we also didn’t tell Katie how much of the money we used as to not worry her, even though she probably knows that it had to be quite a lot by the amount of times we went for check ups with her.

Father probably wanted us to use it that way anyways to keep us safe, which is why no one felt anything by the loss of money when it was gone.

Years passed.

With more regular check ups and transfers into different hospitals we started to get more and more ink lines as to what this disease could possibly be and after finally ending up inside Britain’s most medically advanced hospital did we hear what the diseases was.

“Blue eyes shut down”, a diseases so rare in fact that only 3 victims of it had ever been recorded in history, only a very miniscule amount of people on earth were even capable of catching this diseases, much less detecting it as the only symptoms of the diseases until it fully matures were change of eye color that would turn the victims eyes sky blue, and when the diseases fully matures the body would instantaneously experience organ shut down from where it finally got its name from “Blue eyes shut down”.

It was horrible and as you can imagine this type of news just didn’t come well to me at first, much less did the final diagnosis of the doctor who predicted that Katie would only have 5 years to live at the bare minimum before the disease would mature and claim her life.

After knowing all this I immediately pleaded and asked the doctor if he could do anything, but as fate had it once again the shook his head and simply said that our current medical standards hadn’t reached as far to cure a diseases such as this, research for the cure hadn’t even started since only 3 victims had been ever recorded which is why it was impossible to cure the diseases.

It was a devastating thing to hear, when the doctor told me the truth new years had just gone by, at that time it hadn’t even been that long since I celebrated new years with my little sister and her new friends inside her ward, merely a few hours had passed, I felt extremely hopeful watching her cheer, laugh and smile and even foolishly thought that everything was going to be alright that the doctor would bring good news to us and that we wouldn’t need to go to any hospitals anymore for a while.

Ultimately those were just my delusions, but at part it was true that we didn’t need to go to hospitals any longer, as the moment I felt myself falling into a deep abyss, the doctor finally told me an answer that gave me a thin line of hope supporting my crumbling will.

-You misunderstood me Mr.Owain as I said before there is nothing I nor this hospital can do, but that doesn’t mean that others can’t cure your sister…In fact there is one way to cure your sister 100%, you only need to get a elixir from the dungeon down bellow and she will be cured.

-A ELIXIR !?

I screamed.

My scream rightfully justified as what the doctor spoke was nothing short of a fantasy or the ramblings of a madmen as getting something like a elixir was not as easy as the doctor made it out to be when he casually proposed such a crazy idea without even blinking.

He probably even knew that and seeing my pitiful appearance he must have wanted to either make me feel even worse or at least give me some kind of hope to support myself.

Either way the feeling was still the worst.

Now this is the point in which you may be curious about what we’re talking about right ?

More precisely you would probably ask me this.

What is a Elixir and what does it do exactly ?

And to be honest while there are a few easy ways for me to explain these things to you, those explanation would probably be incredibly confusing to hear when I have not even given enough context yet up to this story.

You remember how I once said that I would talk about how the dungeon effected the people and how important it became to our modern economy ?

And why anyone would possibly risk their lives to clear a dungeon in the first place ?

The elixir in this context would be one of those reasons, but that’s only a very small part of it that I have not explained yet, with all this talk about my family and current circumstance I should probably now tell you another aspect of the dungeon and the people who work inside the dungeon.

By now you should have heard me mentioning them through this story and its about time I introduce them to you.

Their names are.

The awakened and the hunters.

First of all before I go in depth on this topic I would like to tell you another story.

I know that I am probably rambling too much by this point, but this story is something very important to hear before we go in depth at what I am about to speak, in a sense this is also a very crucial reminder to myself to get my noggin spinning since I am not really bright at all.

Now… where did all of this start again ?

Oh ! Yes ! These events happened not so soon after the dungeons appeared world wide.

The emergence of people with extraordinary abilities !

These people were just like you and me, people who had lived ordinary lives and were simply affected by the changes of the world that was brought by the dungeons, these people were never special in any way as they were simply humans, they weren’t chosen by some extraterrestrial being either, but for some reason the world seemed to simply decide that it was them who would gain these extraordinary ability.

Being able to fly, use telekinesis and turning yourself invisible were one of those abilities, nobody understood how these people gained their abilities and neither did the people who received them, the only thing everyone understood at the time were the hard times that were about to come.

And they were right.

Because of the rampant natural disaster of the world caused by the dungeons, the government’s all around the globe were completely focused on the well being of their countries and temporarily neglected the dungeons.

In this period of negligence the curiosity of the brave few were ignited all around the world causing them to finally enter these mysterious gates and see what was beyond.

And while these two things were happening not soon after did the people with extraordinary abilities start to pop up one after another, some who had quote on “Awakened” to these abilities used them to help humanity, while others not so virtues immediately decided to use it for their personal gain causing even more havoc to this world then it already had.

This event was called by the people the “Emergence of Awakened” it is unknown who had started to call these people with extraordinary abilities the “Awakened” but it couldn’t be more fitting as those abilities were simply out of this world as if those people had awakened from their deep sleep and with it brought their dreams into reality.

Now you can imagining how truly messed up the world was back then, it doesn’t even need to be explained how many people had died in these first few months by the natural disasters alone much less the amount of damages caused by those awakened who as soon as had the ability to toy with the lives of another started to unceasingly use it for their own benefit.

Power corrupts, other than this there is not much needed to be said.

The only saving grace I could think of at this moment that could make this situation slightly better would be the fact that there weren’t many awakened to begin with, each country in the world had roughly only 10 to 20 awakened not even china who had the largest population on earth had more then that, why that is nobody knows.

 

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, The Almighty Search Engine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment