The Almighty Search Engine Chapter 3 The Life Of A Turbulent World

Flying at high velocity, the baseball was travel so fast that it was barely visible to the untrained eye, after all the hit was made by one of the opposing teams best batters and arguably one of the best batters in history.

If it wasn’t for father being a former baseball athlete it was doubtful whether he could have seen the ball with his vision, he would have probably been just like mother who had no clue that a high speed baseball was flying her way and threatening to cause serious damage to her if it hit her.

There was only a few seconds for my father to make a decision, he thought very quickly and considered whether he should pull my mother into him so the baseball could be avoided, finally scratching that idea as his pull would probably push them down the seats and make them roll down the stadium maybe causing even more damage to both of them.

In the end time was of essence with no better idea to think of my father finally decide to shield my mother instead and jumped next to her turning himself into a target by setting himself into the trajectory.

Even to this day my mother always loved to talk about this moment when she saw my father heroic actions to protect her, she was unaware at first but as the ball was getting closer she started to realize what was going on but still could do nothing about it as her reaction speed was way too slow for her to do anything.

My father…He was simply a great man, someone heroic and someone I will always look up to, I once asked him whether or not he was scared of the ball when he shielded my mother and you know what he said ?

He smiled at me, I was barely 8 years old when he told me this story I was very impressionable back then which is why this memory stuck to me the most when I was at that age his words in particular moved me.

-Son, of course I was scared of the ball, bloody hell it was hit by one of the most greatest batters in history, even though I was a former athlete I still wouldn’t dare to say that I could catch that ball of his 10 out of 10 times or even 1 out of 10 times.

-But you still caught it didn’t you !

I chimed in as a kid, already knowing the end of that story my mother always used to talk about, it was only then that I heard my father tell it to me for the first time.

His expression then was slightly awkward with a wryly smile covering his lips, I remember that he looked at his hand when he replied to me, it was the hand in which he caught the ball to protect himself and my mother, it had a deep and round scar on it, normally you would think that a scar was something to be hidden, but my father never thought so, no he was proud of this scar, that much I knew.

-Haha…Yes, I caught it, not even I know from where this strength came from that allowed me to catch that ball, I felt as if the ball was going to break my hand any second now but for some reason, I body wanted to let go, but my mind refused to obey, Owain, do you know what that’s called ? Willpower. As long as you have the willpower to move on and face your fears you will gain strength no matter what, and with strength you will be able to protect the things that are important to you and keep them safe, so can you promise me that you will continue to have will, even if your not destined for greatness, that you will not give up on yourself no matter what, can you promise me that Owain ?

-Ye..Yes ! I Promise dad ! I wont give up !

I promised, I was still very little back then and didn’t understand much of what my father meant with willpower and not giving up on yourself, but as I got older I would always remember this conversation and this very same promise, even on the day of the funeral when my mother cried and sister wept, I didn’t drop a tear, I grit my teeth and willed myself to not cry, to not wail or fall, because that is what I promised to my father, that I would never surrender myself nor my will.

Back to the story.

My father caught the ball, it was a powerful ball which my father caught that left a deep scar in his palm and almost broke his hand, but in the end he was still able to catch it with his will, after that not much had to be said anymore.

My father got send to the hospital, the doctors diagnosed him saying that other than the scar that nothing was wrong with his hand and that he just needed to heal, my mother came to visit him at the hospital at the time she apologized for the mustards that got on my fathers pants and thanked him for saving her, she even offered to pay for all of the medical bills and my fathers pants for dry cleaning.

My father not expecting her to finished laughed and took her offer for the medical bills but not for the pants instead he said this.

-Well, I didn’t like those pants either way I only bought them because I heard woman liked them, how about instead of paying me those bills we go buy myself some new pants instead ?

My mother back then was quite surprised by such offer, though in the end she simply smiled laughing and nodded her head.

This pants purchasing date wasn’t as special as a baseball stadium date but both my mother and father enjoyed it far more and treasured those memories, soon enough they started to officially dating for a year or two before my father finally decided to marry my mother, she agreed and even though my father was unemployed back then, he worked hard to change that and finally started to work as a businessman.

My father while not as talented as a businessman still got by fairly well in the world and years past, he had gathered quite a fortune with his methods, my mother continued to work as a police officer and even once became a deputy, in between her promotion and my fathers work, In 2017 I was born which was exactly one year before the great dungeon rise would occur and throw this world into chaos.

It was at this time that my family decided to start moving from town to town and city to city, on our journey we didn’t have to worry about finances too much since both my father and mother had saved up quite a bit and were smart enough to buy quite a lot of supplies at bulk before heading out, and though life was really dangerous at one point, I could say that we were really lucky since we didn’t have too many problems or encountered too many misfortunes.

We had quite a nomadic life on our hands until I was 6 years old when we finally decided to settle down in spade’s as my mother was pregnant with my little sister Katie it was 2023 when we settled down and my sister was born.

Fast forward to 2028, after 5 years since we settled in spade’s I had just turned 11, at this time all news and topics covered in channels was almost exclusively about dungeons, hunters and awakened, daily conversation would always somewhat revolve around dungeons, my father in fact continued his business and even involved himself with the dungeons turning it into a lucrative business that would feed our family.

My mother didn’t simply stay at home either, even though she lost her job in the chaos of the new world, she still wanted to continue enforcing the law as this was her passion, she was 34 when she desired to rejoin the police force and because of her excellent track record she was easily able to become a police officer again not as a deputy of course but at least as a senior detective.

Life at that time seemed as if it was going well, everything looked as If it was slowly but steady returning back to how it used to be, the world was starting to heal it seemed.

Well it seemed.

Not too long, just after I turned 11 years old the very first dungeon break occurred, the news covered this event world wide and I saw it on TV how it happened, when the giant dungeon suddenly created a enormous pillar of light and shot into the sky, the stone gate crumbled underneath the light and created another gate of light in which countless, hundreds and thousands of monsters came out, a horde stormed through the gate and laid waste to everything around them, shredding anything that they could find which while not included my father, was buried under a heap of rubble that was caused by the monsters.

We were all sad, I still remember how my sister cried day in and day out ever since she heard that we would never see our father again, my mother and I could only comfort her but what was worse is what came after, even though we had already lost one family member god was still not satisfied and turned his eyes onto my little sister.

A Diseases.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, The Almighty Search Engine. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Almighty Search Engine Chapter 3 The Life Of A Turbulent World

  1. busnuss says:

    disease
    just one
    not several
    story is interesting.
    But how is his name British at all? I’m an American and have never seen a person with the name Owain. Now Owen I’ve heard. And as per a google search for Owain it says it’s a welsh form of Eugene, which I have also heard. But not Owain.

    Like

Leave a comment