Chapter 144 The Net And The Strings

What was happening ? How did the emblem appear just like that ?

I wondered brooding over the whole deal inside of my head as I tried to think of a lot of situation it could be possible,but I found none…there were already basic rules for the emblem to be bestowed upon someone these rules I have already figured out very quickly,but now with this,does it mean that I am not fully aware of how the emblem works or something ?

Does it have another functionality that allows it to spread like this that I am not aware of ?

The emblem rowaldy currently possesses-the son of rokuten-is in fact very identical to rokuten’s emblem by this I mean the picture of the emblem is a bloodied hound,but the embelm rowaldy has does have a very small difference in it as the color of the emblem is entirely white instead of red like rokuten’s original emblem,also the effect of any emblem I bestow to someone is always the same with <Growth Rate 4x>,<Experience Gain 3x> and <Growth Correction 2x> that allow the wearer to grow faster strong and understands things more quicker,but rowaldy’s emblem’s effect isn’t like that either,the effect it shows when appraised is much weaker,it has in fact only two effects which is <Experience Gain 2x> and <Growth Correction 1x>.

This alone proofs that the emblem rowaldy possesses isn’t actually the real emblem I usually bestow onto someone,to proof it even further each emblem I bestow to someone is always different there can’t be two people with the exact same emblem,the form is always different its like each individual person is a snowflake falling down the sky with its different structure forming.

But now…rowaldy has the exact same emblem as his father and I know for a fact already that he isn’t the only one.

-So your warriors also somehow gained your emblem too and from what I understand rohimen’s apprentices also gained his emblem am I correct ?

I asked,staring at rokuten in front of me as both me and him sat opposite to each other on a big pelt seat inside his living room,after he showed me his sons emblem we didn’t waste any more time and directly came here to discuss this matter,rokuten looked a bit nervous he didn’t know whether or not this was bad and in fact I didn’t either,but it couldn’t be helped that I felt slightly tense since this situation was too bizarre and something that could maybe go out of control if not handled properly.

My tense attitude also resulted in making rokuten a bit more nervous as he himself knew the effects of the emblem as well since I had explained it to him.

Anyways rokuten briefly got himself together and took a small breath his eyes squirming for a small second until he met my gaze ready to continue his story.

After I left the village to help the ratman rokuten decided to do his usuall duties as the village chief his work mainly entitles him to attend meetings with other elders concerning the growth of their city and over all status he makes the choices inside this city by the advise of the other elders who are also the most experienced craftsman and warriors rokuten in fact is also the strongest warrior in this village which is how he became the village chief in the first place.

Of course the meeting isn’t the only things rokuten does as a village chief he does make decisions and tries to improve the village and keep its survival high,but as a warrior he is also entitled to fight and train the young kobolds himself in the way of the sword,his son rowaldy especially since rokuten hoped rowaldy to also inherit his title as the village chief and continue on his legacy to be a powerful warrior to keep his people safe.

In one of those lessons rokuten usually gives to rowaldy something strange happened,it happened in the middle of a lecture actually when rokuten explained rowaldy the importance of being a village chief and how he should care about his people more then himself rowaldy acknowledged all of it and swore that he would protect his people with his life the back of rowaldy’s hand suddenly shined up and just like the time I bestowed rokuten the emblem rowaldy immediately felt the connection between him and his father getting extremely close and thats not just it…

Rokuten also gained the ability to talk to his son through the connection at will…

-…

My eyes were wide,I couldn’t very well comprehend such thing being possible,but it was true…I couldn’t deny it the emblem rowaldy had on his back hand was real I appraised it personally and even if it was fake…why would they do that ? Or rather how could they do that ? I trusted rokuten he had the real emblem on his back hand that emblem was already proof that rokuten was loyal to me that he wouldn’t betray me or anything of that sort meaning that this could mean only one thing.

The people who are bestowed with the “real” emblem from me gain a pseudo ability just like mine that allows them to give other people a weakened version of their own emblem with weakened effect,how this specific emblem works for them is very unclear to me and the reason I haven’t known of this was because I have been only giving individual emblems.The people who I have given the emblems to also haven’t had any subordinates themselves to give their emblems to nor was there any requirement met for this kind of function to be activated…other then rokuten of course who is a village chief and has a lot of trusted people who are loyal to him.

Which means that the requirements for people like rokuten to bestow others with a weakened version of his emblem is also the same as my own rules…they need to have loyalty to be acknowledge.

-Hahaha…

-Lord sorron is everything alright ?

Rokuten asked a bit worried as he listened to my almost maddened laughter…I didn’t know why I was laughing nor why it seemed funny since I also didn’t know if I should be scared or not….one thing was for sure,it was an incredibly good decision early on to not give this emblem to just anyone the real emblem that I bestow to people has a lot of power already which could cause a lot of trouble and maybe even backfire on me,but at the same time I don’t know why I am so scared…the people who have been bestowed with the “real” emblem are all people who are loyal to me so they shouldn’t even think of betraying me in the first place right ?

I asked myself cold sweat running down my cheek as I considered it…even though I spout a lot of words and try to be positive,it couldn’t be helped that I still had small amounts of doubt inside my heart…for example blondy…she possessed the “real” emblem she swore to be loyal to me and acquired the emblem just like that even though she works with glasses girl and the others how can that be called being loyal to me ? Maybe there are a few loop holes inside this deal or rules that I haven’t understood yet just like this extra functionality of the emblem…

The <Monster Lord> class was far more complex then I thought it was…from now on I need to be extremely careful of who I am going bestow this emblem,there always needs to be some sort of line that I need to be crossed for me to be sure if the person I chose is right.

I noted to myself,my laughter had also long since been silenced as I sat inside the warm pelt seat my facial expression clearly gone down a notch as I continued to think about this some more trying to see the good sides and whether or not this could help me and in fact it could.

The thought of this being actually pretty useful slightly helped me to recover the light headedness that I had inside my head,it also gave me a lot security to know that the people who had the emblem were very few and most of which in my own reach.

-Lord sorron ?

Wylniva started she didn’t understand the whole gist of the conversation,but she did see the emblem on rowaldy’s back hand so it was without a doubt that she somewhat understood the situation I was facing.

Her soft slender hand touched my shoulder,I felt the support that came with it so it wasn’t for naught as I pushed it away gently getting back to myself.

-Its fine…everything’s alright

I tried to be reassuring again thinking a bit more rationally and calmer at the moment losing my cool wasn’t good at all,I can’t afford to be weak or clueless at issues,I need to sort them properly if I don’t want to lose to them.

 

Continuing the conversation I told rokuten to keep this to himself,I didn’t want everyone in this village to have this emblem even though the effect was very weakened it still was a bit too much so I limited it to 20 people at most which he could give his own emblem to,rokuten understood,he seemed to have expected such a thing and had already taken precaution to this not giving anyone the emblems until I came back to talk with him about it.

At first when he saw the emblem appear on rowaldy’s back hand he didn’t think of it as being something he caused himself he was surprised and puzzled,but only after he mistakingly gave his emblem to 7 of his other friends who were the stronger warriors of this village did he realize that it was him who was causing it,of course he understood how to not give people the emblem very quickly by simply denying it himself since without his approval no,one would acquire the emblem and without my approval he wouldn’t even dare to try anything of that sort.

And concerning rohimen the kobold blacksmith he also gave 3 of his apprentices the emblem,but was faster thinking up the cause of it and stopped on his own which was a small relief.

While talking I seriously wondered how the emblems actually worked…I was also very convinced that the emblems rokuten and the others possess must have some kind of limitation in functionality since they are bestowed by me who makes them in the first place,this limitation wasn’t clear to me just yet,but I already knew that the emblems bestowed by the girls or rokuten were much more weaker then the original it also may be that there is a number limitation too,but for now I rather keep it safe like this and only test it if I am sure of what I am doing.

Just to be sure I also checked my contract tab in my status window to see whether or not rowaldy’s status window was present inside the tab,the last time I checked was yesterday and looking at it now I couldn’t find rowaldy or anyone else newly added to it telling me that that other weaker emblems that are not bestowed by me don’t count as real contractors which is why they aren’t in the tab,but conveniently enough I am still able to talk to them through my transmission link showing that they are still partially connected to me through the people who I gave the real emblems to.

The entire procedure took longer then expected,I had to make sure that this wouldn’t spread like a virus and fortunately enough it seems like the people who had gotten the lesser emblem-is what I am calling it from now on-aren’t able to give others another emblem themselves they do on the other hand gain the ability to use the emblem to speak to the person who had originally given it to them,they can’t speak to me though if I don’t call them first nor can they speak to others other then the person who they got their emblem from.

The whole structure of this ability looked to me like a big net with dozens of strings connected to each other with me as the core or at least the line which every being can get access to if they are connected to me…I already warned dakiro about it making him cautions enough to not make a mistake to give the lesser emblem to a useless person and also regarding blondy I was very hesitant on having her know such thing she could potentially tell glasses girl or her friends about it which I didn’t like since I didn’t want people to generally know I had such a ability knowing blondy for a bit I was also very convinced that she wouldn’t have anyone to bestow the lesser emblem her air-headedness would probably make people think twice to put their trust into such person.

And thinking about it really…maybe its because of her air-headedness it was possible for her to be able to gain the emblem from me,this sorta sounds a bit bad since I am directly insulting her to be stupid even though its not the case really since she is pretty smart,but she is also just too good natured and trusting to really think of anything evil like betrayal which is maybe how it registered as loyalty in the first place ? She just didn’t have it inside of her to think of betrayal.

Either way I didn’t concern myself with this issue anymore and after getting everything under control I simply sighed clasping my hands while calming myself.

Rokuten who was sitting to my front also didn’t say anything,but it was clear that he was very nervous when he addressed me with this issue,he didn’t seem to knew very well how to deal with it properly which was understandable and maybe he was scared too thinking that something bad might happen if he didn’t come straight.

-Rokuten thank you..

I said making rokuten a bit surprised as his dog ears started to flop up and down with small puzzlement.

-For what ?

He asked,I thought for a bit thinking about my reply,but simply decided to give a small answer continuing to smile.

-I mean it generally that you are here you are a big help so I want to thank you

I wasn’t sure if rokuten was embarrassed or not,but he suddenly cleared his throat as if he wanted to hide something it looked amusing and after a while he waved his hand at me and said “its okay its okay” finally ending the topic at that.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, The Fragile Monster Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chapter 144 The Net And The Strings

  1. supremeradra says:

    Ahhhh… So sorron can now have an army without having to “shake” everyone’s hands.

    Like

  2. Kryzin says:

    Thxs for the chapter.

    Like

Leave a comment