Chapter 87 Tough Bird

The small wisping sound of the wing could be heard as both me and the giant bird stood facing each other our eyes were crossing and our own clear intents were showing themselves one which was murderous while the other one wanted to submission the intense smell of the iron like blood surrounded us,but I wasn’t distracted I forced myself to focus and didn’t mind the gruesome smell and scene around us nor did the bird,both of us were waiting for something…we were waiting for the other individual to start moving.

I sighed…making a small grin I realized that this wasn’t getting us anywhere…

The bird saw my grin and couldn’t understand for a moment,but just as it was about to step forward it sensed incredible amount of danger comings its way without a second thought the bird flapped its wings heavily and launched himself back few meters…

The motion was swift and without an error to be found,what was once the birds stop had now been turned into a crate slammed by 2 big frozen ice fists.

The bird saw the damage it had dealt to the ground and felt slightly discouraged by the pure force that the hit could give it didn’t know what else I could do,not until it would attack me which was why it started to use its biggest advantage the sky of course.

Raising its wings once again the dark red bird raised into the sky with one flap and then with another flap it flew and started to encircle me with this maneuvering the speed was fast almost leaving a after image after its flight I could also barely keep up with the speed with my own eyes hitting it was out of the questions so what do I do ?

The bird was getting ready I could tell if I can’t hit it then who said that it should be able to hit me instead ?

Thinking like this I raised my palms invoking my spells I created a thick fog in my surroundings with this I was confident that the bird wouldn’t be able to see me clearly and this wasn’t the end of my tricks either.

The bird also realized what I was intending and quickly grabbed onto the chance it had before I was completely shrouded in the fog lunging at me with extreme speed not expecting that he was in fact walking directly into my trap…

Hurricane Blizzard…I thought immediately creating a large whirlwind me as a center and also stopping the lung of the bird at this moment I believed that I had it in my hands,but I was celebrating too early and only then realized that the bird itself had a few tricks to spare…

A small crimson flame ignited on the chest of the bird for a moment…the flame was small and wasn’t really threatening,but just as I was thinking about that the flame suddenly spread through the birds entire body the blizzard wasn’t taking any effect on the bird anymore which surprised me a lot and also made me change plans on the spot,instead of freezing it I changed back into brute forcing it through ice fists again.

I cupped my palms at that moment and summoned 2 giant fists of ice now 3 times bigger then the first ones the bird obviously saw them,but it couldn’t really dodge since the heavy wind was affecting it still what it did instead was spew a giant flame out of its peak to melt one of the fists without a trace,but burning the second one was too challenging for the bird ending up getting hit by the giant fist of ice falling back onto the ground with a small pained expression on its face, for what must have been a 200 to 300 Kg hit it didn’t show any signs of major damage…the bird was tough I admit that.

Violent crimson red flames engulfed the bird its appearance and the demeanor it showed was noble and fierce at the same time the flames burned and burned with a lot of passion to it the hotness of those flames even reached me to at this range what a frightening flame it was.

-Fire against ice counter..what a horrible outcome…

I muttered truly feeling unpleased about the fact that the bird could actually control flames to such degree,but still I didn’t lose my head just yet it wasn’t the end and how said my ice was ordinary either ?

I concentrated raising both of my palms I started to imagine the scene that I wanted to created the bird obviously knew what I wanted to do and immediately jumped into action wanting to hinder me from finishing my spell.

The bird charged even on the ground it was a opponent to be reckoned with because of its size and sharp claws it had its peak was also very long and spiky,from what I know it can even spew fire out of its mouth,but I wasn’t scared nor was I nervous I would end this in this one move we will see who has the better temperament in both of us.

The bird stopped only short a few meters away from me it raised its head and immediately released its violent flame onto me.

-LORD SORRON !

Hobura and the others yelled out loud frightened to no end seeing me covered by endless amounts of violent crimson flames my figure was most likely not even on sight through this amount of flames that was covering me.

From far away I could see the girls starting to get anxious hoboku also couldn’t take it anymore and started to charge her spell,but before she was able to effectively cast it she noticed something strange…steam large amount of steam was coming from where the flames were concentrating.

The others didn’t notice,but hoboku did making her also abruptly stop her spell casting and also stop hobura from interfering.

-What ARE YOU DOING ! We have to go !

Hobura shouted furiously looking at hoboku,hoboku didn’t mind and just told her straight patiently.

-Stop look closer the lord isn’t done yet…

Hobura and the rest didn’t understand what hoboku meant at first,but either way they continued staring just as she said and then they saw it.

-You…how…how did you survive that !

The bird cried out loud shocked that I was still standing behind a giant piece of dark ice in my way,the ice was cracked at some parts,but it was also freezing over itself getting back to its hard form.

I smiled and answered with a mocking tone in my voice.

-Explaining will take way too much time and I don’t think a bird brain like you will even understand half of the things I will tell you thats why stop talking nonsense and defend yourself its my turn..

The bird was obviously shocked which was good to me,in any normal circumstances it was for sure that I wouldn’t have survived this kind of onslaught of flames not without the <Dark Ice Magic> of course,the magic allowed me to change the temperature of water to the most coldest level possible using this fact to my advantage I erected a wall in front of me and tweaked with the water a bit creating different layers of ice that would support each other while enduring the heat and also extinguishing the flame at the moment of contact with the ice,its the same logic I followed like dry ice when it gets close to a flame it goes off I just did this is in a more larger scale the same thing,but much bigger and more organized.

The bird narrowed its eyes not even putting his thought onto the taunt and spewing his words as if they were flames themselves.

-It doesn’t change anything ! Even if I can’t hurt you it doesn’t mean that you can hurt me !

I laughed.

-I am not really sure about that buddy and I might look down onto the ground if I were you…

-What ?

The bird was alarmed and immediately looked down like the idiot it was it tried to escape,but it was already too late a giant ice wall had already been erected on its back giving no further escape.

I shut my palm and immediately activated my spell that I was preparing since the beginning it worked fast and didn’t give room for any resistance towards the bird closing it into a big sphere of pure dark ice the room was slightly cramped and incredibly cold.

The birds first thought was to obviously break free of the sphere and just crack it with sheer force,but it soon realized that it wasn’t working the ice was too hard for it to break thats why it used its trump card instead its flames….but there was one thing the bird didn’t know about when he tried to ignite his flame.

-You can’t make flames inside a vacuum you bird brain…

I said smiling while continuously hardening,healing and freezing the sphere further watching the dumb bird continue to try ignite its flames only to discover that those flames would go out on the spot there was no air inside the sphere and the cold was also getting worse every second it was being locked inside the sphere it would take only a matter of time until it would die from lack of air or simply cold both of which are weakening the bird incredibly…it was over.

I held my palms and stared into the eyes of the slowly weakening bird that was in front of me it couldn’t struggle anymore the ice was already taking its toll on his mind and I wasn’t going to stop either,the burn saw the clear intent in my eyes and felt very scared he knew what would come next just by looking into my cold blue eyes it needed to act if it wanted to live.

(Tuck Tuck…)

The bird picked his peak onto the sphere looking at me with a pleading expression almost pitiful even,but understandable it wanted to live like any other animal thats why I asked it.

-Do you swear your undying loyalty towards me ? If you do I will release you and if you don’t then your going to die answer me and be truthful I will know if you will try to deceive me so there is no,point in lying right now

The bird heard my sentence by every word and was shocked…for a moment a light of thoughtfulness ran through the birds eyes as it suddenly closed its eyes all of a sudden.

I was confused seeing him close his eyes I immediately assumed that he wouldn’t join me it made me kind of sad,but just as I was thinking about it a bright red light came out of the forehead of the bird…it wasn’t its own powers that the light was coming from no…the light was from the emblem that was being marked onto the bird the effect of the <Monster Lord> contract…

I snapped my finger with a single snap the sphere dissolved into simple water the bird shrieked and limped onto the ground bringing fresh air through his lungs…well bloody air to be precise.

The female hobgoblins seeing this were amazed and shocked at the same time they were holding their breaths since the very beginning I was making my counter attack and finally at last I had won.

-YEAHHH !

Hoboku cried out jumping up and down with a big smile on her face the others were momentarily lost be hoboku’s behavior,but didn’t mind it and joined into the fray as well.

I took a small glance towards the female hobgoblins smiling idiotically I made my way towards the bird…no hawk on the ground that was still trying get back onto its feet properly.

-What is your name ?

I asked kneeling down next to the hawk while looking at it with a smile on my face.The hawk also looked at me we already established a bond through the contract so I was able to feel what the hawk was feeling to the slightest degree which was a feeling of confusion and nervousness…seeing my smile it was getting even more confused and nervous,but also a bit at ease seeing that I didn’t mean anything to it.

-I…I this master…no,this bird doesn’t have a name…this bird is called by the beasts the master of the mountain the king of the sky

I thought for a moment calling it by its title was too long thats why I thought of giving it a name instead.

-Then from today on I will call you Red Hawk its nice to meet you red hawk my name is sorron and I am a <High Lord> like I said before…

-Rad…Hak ?

I laughed again hearing the hawk pronounce its name wrong well it wasn’t unexpected since the words I was using weren’t in his tongue,but rather english of course he wouldn’t be able to speak it without a mistake,but I could feel that the hawk really was satisfied with its name.

The hawk noticing that it was dwindling in its thoughts immediately snapped back out and looked at me…his eyes were showing a small light of respect as it called out to me.

-As agreed I rad hawk will serve you lord sorron for the rest of my life I will always treasure this name you have given me and swear on my life and honor that I will protect and follow you no matter where you go !

Seeing the hawk suddenly get up and act all noble in front of me was kinda embarrassing,but still I liked this guy and thinking about it isn’t he my very first “guy friend” in my whole life even though he isn’t human he is much better then nothing even for a bird brain.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, The Fragile Monster Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chapter 87 Tough Bird

  1. jojopain says:

    And now Sarron can have a drink with a male friend even though it just a bird. Lol

    Like

  2. frontosacool says:

    flying creature get!!

    Like

  3. Kryzin says:

    Thxs for the chapter.

    Like

Leave a comment