Chapter 16 The Meaning Of Companionship

The next day.

I didn’t sleep that night and just kept guard outside while checking the security Slimes for their update. I also told the scouting Slimes to come back and concerning the case with the Kobold village, I told the other 5 Slimes who were there to just keep an eye out for anything that might happen.

-…

I was glad that the village wasn’t really that close. Even if I tried to raid them, I would only have a 3% chance of success combining all my assets. Compared to the last goblin raid, this village was a whole different matter. The Kobolds were far more intelligent and better equipped than my little group. The only real battle potential I have right now are the Slimes which were are very weak individually…

Other than that, I got informed that the other 3 people who got transported here met up with Blondys group. It turns out Blondy was surprised to meet them and openly welcomed them in end…

I didn’t bother to listen further and just ignored it for now. The reason I am not joining with them is because I can’t trust them. The reason for that is because they are all human. Being human, they have their own human nature that can screw people over massively and on top of that, I really don’t wanna deal with idiots. If I have to be honest, people who don’t follow orders and do what they want can’t help your survival. They will only pull you down into a early grave, so I rather stay with my Slimes. They are more willing and obedient.

But, there are pluses when it comes to their group. Being that each one of them has a class that might turn out to be very useful. For example: Blondy, she has a class called the “Light Crusader”. She is able to heal her allies and herself while battling, her attack power and defense is also very formidable, her speed not so much but that’s not the problem. Even if she had only the heal, it’s already a very powerful ability to have. The only problem she has though is her unwillingness to kill anyone or watch anyone die. She seemed over all okay with it, if she isn’t the who is doing the killing. But in one way or another

-You still have blood on your hands. You participated in that. You wanted to save your friends. The death on those Goblins is equally on you because of your selfish wish, to which I agreed on as I took pity on you.

She is naive, but she is most likely to understand that she can’t stay alive if she doesn’t kill someone intentionally. Now don’t get me wrong, I never killed someone in my previous world. I never would have either, but right now, the situation was critical for myself. So I gonna say it! I CAN’T FIGHT! I CAN’T SURVIVE BY MYSELF!

It’s that easy, it always will be. It’s me or him in a fight. That is the one rule that has never changed, no matter in which world you get transported or get born into. Power means everything. They rule everything, while the weaker ones serve under the powerful ones. I am not even trying to be a hypocrite,  it’s the truth after all…

I sighed.

-Lord Sorron?

I looked to my left, where the other female goblins were sitting, eating their meal. We only had fruits and vegetables and other edible herbs which I refrained from using for now. It was currently very early morning. I woke them up when the sun started to shine. They all complained and it took me a while to get them up. It only worked when I threatened them to deprive them of their meal if they didn’t get up, ending up in this little event.

Goboku seemed a bit worried and poked me to gain my attention. The other ones were also a bit worried…Haa, I don’t like how they know how I feel through our links. It’s not even something major concerning ourselves…

I waved my hand to them and told them to continue eating and that it was nothing

They nodded one by one, a bit confused and ate their fruits. Goboku in turn though just kept staring at me, not eating. On her right hand she held a pear like fruit with a green color, which was half eaten. She showed me her fruit and offered it up to me in which I refused telling her I was not hungry. It was true, I wasn’t hungry. My stamina bar was still full, I am not even sleepy anymore. It seems like my stats are really high compared to the other people who were transported or the creatures, so it seemed like it gave me a lot of perks to do things.

Goboku didn’t seem to be discouraged and said.

-Aren’t we companions?

I laughed bitterly at her words. Did she even understand what I wanted to tell her yesterday? I didn’t try to refuse her anymore and just took the damn fruit and ate with a one bite Goboku seemed satisfied and nodded to me. The other Goblins were confused though.

==============================================

The sun was out and it was refreshing. Outside, the female Goblins were standing in front of me in a straight row, shoulder to shoulder, side by side, some looked very sleepy and some very bored and nothing else.

This, will take a while, won’t it?

And like, that I started my training.

For the training today I ordered them to run the field 20 times in a circle. The 20 circles have to be completed in a set amount of time to be successful. I also explained to them that each time they complete a circle they have to place a stone on the ground, that way cheating would be heavily punished in which I didn’t tell them what it would be, but they got a bit panicked, so I expected they wouldn’t try to cheat me. And if anyone comes late, the whole group has to run the circles another 5 times. The field was inside the walls, it was very big. I intentionally made it this big for future purposes. In my estimation, it should be 80 to 90 meters on each side making it a really long wall. The Slimes worked really fast and when the harvester Slimes returned, the building speed doubled. But in the end, the walls were makeshift. A really strong hit from a monster could shatter it as though it is nothing. The reason for this wall was purely isolation and security. The real protection comes from the security Slimes that are watching everything on the ground from the tress.

I could hear a lot of groans coming from the female Goblins even Goboku seemed displeased about it, but didn’t say anything. Some even openly were against it until I said

-If you won’t do it, I will not give you any food

They froze when they heard that and stared at me blankly for a minute, so I spoke again.

-If I am not mistaken, the time has already begun?

Before they had woken up. I had already set up a sun clock on the ground for me to get a feeling of time. Looking at the sun and judging time was not my favorite thing to do you know.

The first to react was Goboku, followed by the second smartest goblin Gobuha and then the rest. I noted to myself that intelligence also increases mental reflexes and walked back to the entrance of the cave, sitting onto a crate while watching the female Goblins struggle to make the timing.

While they were running I didn’t stay idle and also started to begin my personal project. I was originally thinking of teaching the Slimes to make traps so they could hunt for game, but to my surprise I noticed something very weird with few of the Slimes….

One of them was red, one purple and the other yellow…power rangers?

For a minute, I thought they weren’t really my Slimes at all, in which I tried to order them to come near me, and it actually worked. I asked them what happened to them, but they said that they didn’t know what happened, only that it happened last night…

I looked at their stats and was really surprised by them.

Name: Slime Number 55

Class: Basic Slime

Species: Fire Slime

Health: 120

Mana: 0

Stamina: 0

Health Regeneneration: 2/sec

Mana Regeneration: None

Stamina Regeneration: None

Stats:

Strength: 12

Stamina: 0

Agility: 10

Intelligence: 8

Charisma: 10

Wisdom: 0

Willpower: 0

Perception: 5

Luck: 0

Skills:

<Split>[Active]
<Absorption>[Passive]
<Digestion>[Passive]
<Hot Liquid>[Passive/Active]
<Flame Thrower>[Active]
======================================

Name: Slime Number 10

Class: Basic Slime

Species: Poison Slime

Health: 120

Mana: 0

Stamina: 0

Health Regeneration: 2/sec

Mana Regeneneration: None

Stamina Regeneneration: None

Stats:

Strength: 12

Stamina: 0

Agility: 10

Intelligence: 8

Charisma: 10

Wisdom: 0

Willpower: 0

Perception: 5

Luck: 0

Skills:

<Split>[Active]
<Absorption>[Passive]
<Digestion>[Passive]
<Poison Liquid>[Passive/Active]
<Synthesis>[Active]

==============================================

Name: Slime Number 36

Class: Basic Slime

Species: Paralyze Slime

Health: 120

Mana: 0

Stamina: 0

Health Regeneration: 2/sec

Mana Regeneration: None

Stamina Regeneration: None

Stats:

Strength: 12

Stamina: 0

Agility: 10

Intelligence: 8

Charisma: 10

Wisdom: 0

Willpower: 0

Perception: 5

Luck: 0

Skills:

<Split>[Active]
<Absorption>[Passive]
<Digestion>[Passive]
<Paralyze Liquid>[Passive/Active]
<Synthesis>[Active]
======================================

The attributes of these three Slimes weren’t different from your normal type of Slime, the Basic Slime, the only difference was their species and skills that changed. The Fire Slime gained the skill <Flamer Thrower> and its previous skill <Sticky Liquid> changed into <Hot Liquid> and even the other Slimes have a different type of liquid like <Poison Liquid> and <Paralyze Liquid> respectively. The last 2 Slimes, the Poison and Paralyze Slime even have one skill in common called <Synthesis> which was also intriguing.

I gulped and looked at the Fire Slime, pointed to the other side and said.

-Use <Flame Thrower>

It bobbed its head and in a instant 1.5 meter flame streamed out of the Fire Slime. The outlet of the fire burst was from small to big, it didn’t even stop until I told it so. Charring the ground somewhat, even the female Goblins were surprised when they saw the flames, but I quickly told them to continue running which they did.

-…

What really piqued my interest was, how did these three end up like this? It’s evolution for sure. Their species had changed from their previous <Slime> species, but how?

As I scratched my head to recall the past days, I suddenly remembered those poisonous herbs I had fed those Slimes last night…

-Can it be?

I didn’t have any sure proof about it, but I wanted to try it again. This could potentially be very useful, because now I don’t need to make fire myself. As for the other 2 Slimes, the Poison and Paralyze ones… I don’t want to start experimenting with their characteristics. If they manage to kill something with their poison or paralytic liquid, it will be useful, but I am afraid of eating something that could potentially be threatening to my life…

I sighed. I opened my palm and opened the storage and took out some poisonous herbs. I didn’t feed anyone any herbs the moment I realized they weren’t going to make them bigger and just stored them into my storage. Hmm, but what about now?

I looked at the different poison herbs in my hands. The rabbit sure talked a lot about the plants around here, but he only told me which were poisonous and which were not. He didn’t tell me what they did. I don’t even know how I made a Fire Slime maybe. He ate something else? Or he was actually supposed to evolve like that and what I did yesterday was just a coincidence…

-Ahhhh

I was really thinking about this too much, damn it all! I just fed each Slime one herb each and started observing if it does anything.

And so,what I thought was supposed to be a trapping and hunting lesson,turned out to be Slime research instead, where I fed each slime one different herb.

In the end it, took quite a while. I checked the sun clock from time to time to see when the time is going to stop for the female goblins to finish their run and right now, there were only 2 minutes left.

I looked back to the female Goblins and checked how they were doing with their training, and as expected the 2 agility types were already finished and were sitting next to their stones, panting heavily. The one stamina type and Goboku both were going on a steady pace and were doing their last circle, this also showed me that willpower indeed does influence your stamina somewhat I checked Gobokus status and noticed her stamina going down really slowly compared to the others while the one with more stamina had a normal decrease in stamina.

And as for the rest…

-Uhh

-Ahh I don’t want to..

-…

Some were on the ground hugging their stomach some even threw up and some just fainted from the exhaustion that was caused by the long run. The ones who fainted were the ones who had the lowest attributes, but I wasn’t going to leave them behind,just because someone is weak doesn’t mean they are completely useless.

I stood up from my crate and very loudly whistled, while using my transmission to tell them

-It’s over, finished!

Only 4 people in total had made it fully. Those were the 2 agility types which were called Gobusaku and Gobuhiko, Goboku the intelligent and Gobushi the stamina type. Gobura with her high strength attribute wasn’t able to keep up and in the end, fell down and fainted like the others.

Some things can’t be settled with strength after all.

I called everyone to one spot, even the fainted ones which were 3 in total. The rest just couldn’t take it and collapsed I had the unconscious 3 carried over here by the Slimes and so I started explaining.

-You have failed as a group. 8 people didn’t make it, meaning you will run another 40 circles for the others who didn’t make it..

Everyone was outraged by my declaration and wanted to shout at me, but didn’t have the guts to do so and just kept quiet, mumbling to themselves. Goboku was also really angry, but looked the other way, avoiding me, some even refused to run the circles 40 times again, but I countered with.

-If you won’t do it, there will be no food and another thing to add

They were wide eyed when I said that, I also pointed at the 3 fainted female goblins on the ground.

-These 3 also have to make it 40 times, if they don’t, then I won’t count it as your success. Rest assured, there will be no time limit this time, but you still have to complete it.

They all once again froze and looked towards the 3 unconscious ones. At that point, I had already turned around and sat back on my crate. Because of her anger Gobusaku, one of the agility type Goblins, started to shout at the other female Goblins who didn’t make it. The ones who were getting shouted at also started to shout back, which ended up with everyone starting to argue with each other, some even started to hit each other becoming a brawl in the end. Goboku also participated, while the 3 Goblins were still unconscious.

And what did I do you wanna know? I did nothing. I just observed the fight and made sure that no one was hitting anyone in a way that could potentially be deadly. Fortunately, no such thing happened, but bad for them, 2 hours past by while they were arguing and brawling with each other. In that period of time I also taught the harvester group how to make traps and bait. For now, I only taught them the hidden hole technique, which I previously used against the Goblins. I also taught them to catch something only limited to 3 feet. They understood quickly because they had experience with it and didn’t start making questions…Ahh, I love how Slimes are so simple.

In the end, the harvester group left towards the forest, their goal to catch game and get some water.

I looked back to the female Goblins and noticed they weren’t fighting anymore. Everyone was exhausted and hurt, they didn’t seem to have any more anger as they already vented all of it.

One of the Goblins stood up. To my surprise, it was Goboku. I was vary of her drawing the dagger in the fight, but she didn’t do so, which made me a bit proud of her. She started walking towards one of the unconscious Goblins. Yes, they were still out cold. I didn’t understand how they were fainted for so long, but I didn’t really care.

What happened next was a bit unexpected if i had to be honest. I thought they would only figure it out after another day or two, but what Goboku did was carry the unconscious Goblin on her back and start walking the circle. The other Goblins looked at her confused and slowly, they all started to one by one stand up and help each other. Gobura was carrying one of the unconscious Goblins and the third one was carried by 3 other Goblins. They all walked in one slow pace and soon enough, in another 5 hours, they completed it. Everyone got on their back when they finally finished, even the 3 who were carried woke up one by one while they were walking and did their walks independently. They could no longer move, so I let my personal Slimes carry them into the cave. It was a long day and tomorrow it won’t be different.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, The Fragile Monster Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chapter 16 The Meaning Of Companionship

  1. silky1351 says:

    thanks for the chapter

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Deer says:

    Good. I am surprised how humane these goblin acts. Or did the link with mc affecting their psychology?

    Like

  3. seaskypean says:

    An extremely late comment because I just started reading. However, I do see a bit of problem when it comes to situations when there are too many “side characters.” Sometimes I wish it was more focused on the main character rather than its allies. Situation does seem a bit like Re-Monster or the other light novel about slime..

    Like

Leave a comment