Chapter 4 A Call For Help

 

I stood up from the big boulder and decided to go into the forest for a bit more.The cave was a good place to stay. From what I know, there doesn’t seem to be anything other then the scary darkness. I would only need to renovate it more properly. I also need to clog it up and add a door would also be nice to have, making a light source is also crucial.

I don’t want to go yet, I still have time. Searching for the other people who got here won’t help me. Habi himself said they had a hard time getting by,by themselves, so if I try to join them, nothing good may come of it. Searching for a village isn’t good either. It will take me ages and who knows what I will meet on my journey. Other than that, I am not even prepared.

I also need to think about my own necessities. My clothes for example, they won’t hold on forever and I’ll need a substitute for them. Also my water problem… To walk from my cave to the river and back takes a bit over an hour to do and I can’t relocate either.

Life seemed so much more harder without all that convenient technology on earth… Now,I had to survive on my own somehow without getting killed.

-(sigh)

You may be asking how I am accepting all of this and not trying to find a way to go back. It’s because I don’t have much to go back to. You see I am quite intelligent, at least I’d like to tell myself that. I am a ace in my school and I am sure in the future I could’ve become a well known individual… or a desk worker. But, in the end I don’t want live a empty soulless life and even if I try to find a way back, it could take years to do so. Such a waste of time. And also I don’t even know if I can possibly return to my world…

-I decided

I will survive on my own, like I always did.

And so I started walking into the forest, scavenging materials that I could use and other foods,the <Infinite Storage> was very useful at this aspect as I could put anything into it just like magic sucking it into my palm no matter what size it was.

================================================

It had been 2 hours since I walked into the forest. I was careful from any signs of wild animals and often avoided a path with foot prints of animals, no matter how big or small. I was no good when it came to close combat, so I should avoid that. Other than that, I collected a lot of other materials I could be use. I was leaving behind small scratches on the trees so I knew that I was here and could return. To my delight. I also found a lot of gourds which I picked up.Making bottles out of them shouldn’t be too hard this way I could carry water too.

I walked around the forest. I needed to find something close to a vine or huge leafs to hide the entrance to the cave, clogging it now wasn’t an option because it would take too much time. Also it would be obvious to the outside when I build it. I need to find something visible to the eyes to camouflage it. I could use vines and hang them above the entrance of the cave to make a curtain it…

The breeze was light and refreshing. As I walked, there were only trees and bushes everywhere. The vegetation in this particular area was really thick and moist over all. The smell was also very strong from the plants everywhere. My feet felt a bit heavy, but I was alright over all. I also checked my status and discovered that my stamina bar was still on 2857 points very so slowly decreasing while I moved.

It would always recover by 6 points a second when I stop moving. so I could relatively run all day. but the reason I didn’t do that was so that I wouldn’t draw attention to myself.

Over all, what I needed right now was a way to deal with animals. As you know. I can’t fight. Setting up traps was an option. But I didn’t have the strength to do most of the labor. In the future I would need to somehow increase my strength.

-(sigh)

I stopped for a second. A lot of options that I wanted to do were really restricted towards me as I don’t have enough strength to do it.

In the corner of my eyes, I saw something white on one of the bushes. Looking closer at it, I discovered that it was a piece of cloth stuck on the bush. I walked closer and took it. The cloth was ripped off from somewhere. The material was something used for blouses commonly. Looking closer I found out that it had red flecks on it.The smell very familiar with a whiff of iron.

Traces of blood, it wasn’t really dry yet, meaning it was only couple hours ago since this happened. The bush was also a bit damaged, branches were broken and I could also see some foot prints, human foot prints leading behind the bush.

-Someone ran with all their might…

I tensed up. You could say I am a coward in this aspect. I can kill animals, don’t misunderstand, but I can’t kill humans. That’s how I was raised after all… I always thought of murder as unspeakable sin and no, I am not religious. I don’t believe in something like a god or a higher being. but at the same time, I don’t know how I got here… Anyways. I always thought killing animals is okay, because they don’t have any intelligence to understand life nor can express it, but now…

-Oh, this fucking skill makes it oh so much harder doesn’t it.

Its funny. How I even thought about this 2 weeks ago like. what if the animals would start talking? Would they gain rights like human rights? If not, would it turn into slavery? In the end, I didn’t find and answer to my question. But this world. May just be able to answer a lot of other questions. Like for example, the beastmen, how are they treated?

I shook my head. I was standing in the middle of a forest. exposed to a attack. I was literally like screaming to kill me wasn’t I?

I sighed and looked at the path. It was going to the right of the forest. I don’t know where east was, so I was just talking about the perspective in my own personal direction. Anyways, following this wasn’t going to help me…

-What a shame…

I turned around to leave towards my cave. The food I had was enough for 2 or 3 weeks. There were a lot more trees with edible fruits and vegetables here, but for now, this was enough. I don’t have much time. I have 3 or 4 hours max to return to my cave before night falls.

-help….

I stopped on my tracks. I heard something.

I turned around, but nothing was there. I had cold sweat running down my spine, giving me even more shivers…

-me…please..help…me….not….want….die….

The little words were faint but I could hear them clearly. Their meanings and desperation to live, for some reason, I could even feel from where it came. From a distance that didn’t seem to be all that far, but what the problem was that, the direction the voice came from was where the explosion from yesterday happened… What do I do? It could be very dangerous.

-please…help..someone…please….help…this..one

It was pleading. For god sake, was that just my imagination? Wait, no, wait!

I quickly opened my skill window, taping on one particular skill.

<Destiny Call>

In times of need, comes a friend Indeed.

Was this the effect of this skill? What does that mean?

-please…this…one…can’t..hold…anymore

What should I do?!

 

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, The Fragile Monster Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chapter 4 A Call For Help

  1. shadyxlr says:

    2. It would kill me if it turned out to be an amazing partner like the skill says and who in good conscience say they would leave someone who need serious help…

    Like

  2. corepotato says:

    2

    Like

  3. Kryzin says:

    Thxs for the chapter.

    Like

Leave a comment