Chapter 3 A Tough Call

-sigh…

I was sitting on a very hard rock. It was awful, not gonna lie…

-FUCK

I screamed. I couldn’t sleep. I didn’t know where I was and all of these questions were bugging me like hell!

I really wanted to punch someone, doesn’t matter who! But I want to hit someone so hard… I’d probably just break my fist in the process though….

I felt really pathetic all of a sudden… I started lying down, stopping to thinking how everything started… Come on, you are smart… At least you tell yourself that! Think of something! How did I get here? I got home, bandaged my nose and started writing my novel like always, I finished writing it and got on my favorite seat and started looking through books to read. Then I found a weird book that I never saw before. I started reading it and found out it was a interactive book. The last question asked me about my name… What did it do?! Did it literally suck me in? Or was I summoned into a different world? Like in those light novels? For gods sake….

-grrrrrrrrrr

I growled and threw a rock to the side in frustration.

Okay. Okay, Okay! Now calm down. You can do this. I just have to figure out how to get home. Do I use the entrance to get out or do I choose another way? If yes, where do I get the book? In the first place, where the hell am I? I don’t even know that. That wolf I saw from the very beginning was abnormal. To a whole new level! I never heard of such a beast in my entire life! And that explosion was also unnerving! Oh GOD! What if I get caught up in it.If what caused the explosion or that wolf finds me ……

Slight amount of despair started to well inside my bowls,but I quickly regressed raising my face again.

NO! No, no, no, no. I need a way out….The book! Yes the book! It asked me all sorts of questions about my class and skills. Does that mean this is like a RPG world or something?

I stopped thinking for a second.

-Menu? Items? Inventory? Skills? Settings? Class? Character? Status window?!

As I finished saying the last word, a light blue square box started to appear in front of me, shining. And as it finished appearing before me, there was something written on it. I was almost in disbelief….

Name: Sorron

Class:Monster Lord

Species: Lord

Health: 0.1

Mana: 2600

Stamina: 2900

Health Regeneneration: 0.0001/sec

Mana Regenegeneration:10/sec

Stamina Regenegeneration: 6/sec

Stats:

Strength: 0.01

Stamina: 290

Agility: 210

Intelligence: 260

Charisma: 50

Wisdom: 130

Willpower: 70

Perception: 40

Luck: 10

Unique Skills

<Blessing Of Hegemone>[Active]
<Infinity Storage>[Passive]
<Tongue Of The World>[Passive]

Skills:

<Destiny Call>[Passive]
<Like A Beast>[Active]
<Transmission>[Passive]

-BUGH

I instantly lost all my strength feeling very pathetic! 0.01 strength with only 0.1 hp! The HP regeneration was a direct insult. Even almost ripping my ego as a man! Do you think I never tried to become stronger? I wasted 500 bucks to become stronger! I even once tried a gym, but could only use the treadmill! Everything else would just rip my muscles apart… I couldn’t even hold 5 kgs for 30 seconds! I always checked the weight of a book just to be sure! Waahhhhh…..

I quickly stood up and clapped my cheeks. It hurt like hell! But it worked. So my assumption was correct… I was in a different world!

I sighed and bit sourly I looked at my character window. Other then strength, every other attribute seemed reasonably high for some reason. I also noticed that there were no levels. So how do I gain stats? For a minute, I was hopping that I could boost my strength… But it was all in vain…..Damn it!!

The 3 skills I choose were unique skills and I also had 3 more normal skills. It seemed, from what I assume my class is  something close to a beast tamer and a summoner. But what do these skills do?

Curious, I touched the names of the skills.

<Blessing Of Hegemone>

The Goddess Hegemone has blessed you with the ability to bestow plants with extraordinary growth rate.
[20/mp] [Cool down/None]

<Infinity Storage>

You can store items into a infinite big space by touching them and imagining them going into your storage. If an item enters the storage, you will know that you have that item.

<Tongue Of The World>

You are able to understand and converse with any creature or being no matter how difficult it is.

<Destiny Call>

In time of need, comes a friend indeed.

<Like A Beast>

For 30 Minutes you are allowed to copy the abilities and attributes of one monster you have under your command.
[Warning]This skill can have drawbacks depending on the understanding the user has to the monster it copies.
[No mana required] [Cool down/1 Day]

<Transmission>

No matter how far you are able to communicate with your creatures through your bond.

Not gonna lie. The unique skill Infinity Storage and Tongue Of The World were pretty useful. I’m not too sure about Blessing Of Hegemone. As I am not a farmer, it’s not really useful to me right now. And the other 3 skills that I started with had no use for right now, because I don’t have a creature…. Destiny call was a real mystery to me too. It was too vague to call it a skill…

I sighed. I really wanted to comment on this, but I refrained… How will I live? Close combat is out of question. With my body, a simple push could get me injured. I don’t have any magic like the other protagonists in those novels… On top of that, this forest was really too unknown to me….

I sat down and took deep breath. Okay. I am not a magician, but how come I have so much intelligence? Or is it normal to have so much intelligence in the first place?

I looked outside. It was pitch black. I didn’t even notice, the sun was already down before I knew it…maybe a bit of rest couldn’t help after all.

I looked deep into the cave. It wasn’t comforting the slightest bit! the pitch darkness didn’t do good on my mind,but at least I knew that there wasn’t anything inside to harm me…

I swallowed my spit and walked past the rock stepping deeper into the cave a bit hesitant as I walked.The stars were giving off faint light that rebounded into the cave, so I wasn’t left in complete darkness…

=========================================

The next day, the sun was shining into the cave… I forgot how I fell asleep, but that doesn’t matter. I stood up and quickly left to the entrance of the cave…

-Wow

As I got out of the cave, I was fascinated how wild the forest looked like. The vegetation was very thick. From this place, I could see a large mountain far away. The forest was quite expansive it seems. I rubbed my eyes a bit and checked my status window again. It wasn’t all a dream! Well, I didn’t expect it all to be a dream anyways… But what should i do ?

As I asked this question, I could hear my stomach growl out of hunger…

I need something to eat… Maybe I might find fruits or some some wild vegetables. I could also try finding edible roots. Never thought my geography nor my biology lessons would come in handy… but still.

I looked around vigilantly…

That wolf, where did it go? Also, that explosion was really too scary. What if I encounter another animal? I can’t fight it, that’s for sure… Should I try to search for another human? I don’t know what to do..

My stomach growled again, reminding me about my situation…

Okay! First food and water, second search for civilization, third… I’ll think of that one after I find civilization. For now the main one is to survive.

I hyped myself and entered the forest..

=========================================

I have been searching for over 4 hours and found a lot of different vegetables and fruits, I also found a clean water supply. The problem is that the fruits and vegetables I found… Are really weird… What should I say? They don’t look anything like the usual things I saw on earth. Some of my knowledge came in handy searching for these, but I am not sure… What if they’re poisonous? I should refrain from eating them until I know for sure that they are edible. But how do I find that out?

I sighed. I was sitting next to a river,that I found with drinkable water inside. I wasn’t thirsty anymore, but because of the water, I became hungrier… I need a way to know for sure that the fruits and vegetables I had weren’t poisonous…

As I was thinking about that, I could hear light foot steps coming from the bushes behind me… I quickly turned around, ready to run for my life, but what I found was….

-A rabbit ?

Well, close to a rabbit, it had a horn on its head, everything else made it look like a ordinary rabbit… Its eyes were blood red, the fur was grey and the horn was at least 8 inches long….

I thought for a second to kill it and take its meat, but I didn’t have a weapon to use. Even if I had one, with my kind of strength… I wouldn’t even scratch it… On top of that, I was really scared of that horn it had.

In the meantime, the rabbit didn’t seem to mind me and was walking towards the river. If I don’t make any movements whatsoever, maybe it will go away….

-A human? No, you don’t smell like one. Who may you be?

What… Did that rabbit just talk to me? Oh, wait, I have the skill <Tongue Of The World>! So its true I can understand anything!

-Hello, my name is Sorron (Editor Note: How may I be of service today?)

I gave him a awkward introduction. The rabbit flinched for a second, but quickly jumped back, horn raised. I shrieked like a little girl!

-What are you! Did you just speak to me? Or were you just talking gibberish? How come I understood you? Answer me!

-I …I, I don’t know! I was at home, reading a book and the next moment, I found myself here, dropped into a forest! Please don’t hurt me!

There was a minute of silence between us….The rabbit sat down on his legs for a second and said.

-Hmm, very well. I can see you don’t wish any harm. It is quite unusual to see someone like you coming to this forest. On my way here, my brethren told me there were a lot of humans coming out of nowhere into the forest. I assume you are one of them? But you don’t smell human at all. What are you?

There are other people like me?! Wait, why is that? Maybe this rabbit can help me!… ugh, I kinda feel ashamed to ask a rabbit for help…

-I am a Lord, if that can help you

At least my status window says I am a Lord. I look the same as I was on earth though. Short blonde hair with blue eyes, my face was normal or at least above normal. I like to tell myself that, but so far not one girl I tried to talk to seemed like they wanted to continue talking with me. Well, it may as well be because I am a wimp, but who cares….

The rabbit nodded towards me and said.

-Fumu, Well, Lord, it was nice to converse with you. I will take my leave.

-Wait!

I shouted, to stop the rabbit. I need information!

-What is it ?

-I need some help. Don’t worry, I won’t ask you for things, I just need to know something.

The rabbit stood there and nodded.

-First of all, can you look at these?

I opened my palm and took out the many different fruits and vegetables I had, for him to inspect.

========================================

-Thank you very much Habi!

I bowed to the rabbit, who explained me a lot of things, making my life a bit easier.

-Fumu. If it was helpful towards you, I am glad. Now, I really need to go. May we see each other again Sorron the Lord!

And so he disappeared.

I sighed and sat down on a big boulder nearby. I was holding a red fruit, close to pomegranate, but inside it was like a apple. The taste of this fruit was sweet and sour, juicy too… I don’t know any fruit that taste likes this. And so I started feasting on what was edible.

The rabbit, who was called Habi,he explained to me the different fruits I had and what they do. I was actually right. Some of the fruits and vegetables were poisonous, but all of the roots were okay. It seems roots in general don’t taste good, but are consumable for survival. He also told me where we were. It is a giant forest called Arubia. It’s the biggest forest of all 5 great kingdoms. Those being dwarven, elven, human, dragonmen and beastman. After that I really sighed couple times when I heard that explanation from the horned rabbit. It really was a fantasy setting. Anyways, this forest was really big and vast. It seems the next settlement, a village, was one months walk from here for a rabbit and a 2 month walk for a human, making me groan really hard. But another thing he told me was that this forest has a lot of predators lurking around.

The 2 month walk was a real risk, because I could encounter a monster any time… The other humans who entered this forest also seemed clueless. Some were killed, some ran away and survived, some were even able to use magic of some sort. He even described the big explosion that happened yesterday which I also witnessed. The cause was that one of these humans used magic and killed a beast but also killed themselves with it… It made me shudder thinking about it… Will I also die so miserably?

When I asked him how those humans looked like, he said they had strange clothing, not fit for a adventurer or a mage, they didn’t look like a villager either.

That description made me even more sure of it. Those people were definitely like me, transported here!

When I asked him where they were at he said he didn’t know, at which I didn’t have a choice but to halt the conversation as he had to leave…

I thought of the current situation… What do i do? Should I search those people or try to survive on my own?
I looked at the sky. The sun was halfway through. I could go back to my cave. The food that I had would last me a couple days, but I still need water and I don’t have anything to store it with… What to do…

 

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, The Fragile Monster Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chapter 3 A Tough Call

  1. shadyxlr says:

    1. and first…

    Like

  2. theodane says:

    3.He can try to look into the forest a bit more and then return to the cave.
    let him get a bit stronger first maybe survival instincts.

    2.He can go and try to search the other people who were seen by habi
    or we can go with this and maybe have a chance encounter with an almighty monster?

    Like

  3. Deer says:

    There is one fatal problem with infinity storage. This skill does not have mana consumption and cooldown. What’s more its has infinite space. Do you understand what this mean? He can literally store entire ocean, entire forest, entire mountain, hell i know he can store a planet inside his storage. There are no limit. If he is genius, that skill can easily kill people. How ? . the magic word is ” store that person heart and brain” while pointing his finger to target . Bam! One died.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kryzin says:

    Thxs for the chapter.

    Like

Leave a comment