My Colony Chapter 6 Information

Upon the discovery of these humans I immediately prepared my gear and headed straight towards them.

I put on a hooded cape and a wolf skull mask that I rarely used for the sake of keeping my identity hidden just in case.

I left the huskies back in my base since I was going to go in a more hidden approach this time which the dogs weren’t suited towards.

What I brought with me were basically just my sling, bow and arrow, axe and a few small knives, I didn’t bring my spear because it would slow me down if I wanted to get to them as fast as possible within this forest.

It looked as if I was preparing for some kind of war, but in all honesty I didn’t actually want to fight these people, all I wanted was information, but observing them through the use of my ability I realized that the chance of peaceful exchange would likely be impossible just by looking at what they were doing.

Fortunately, I didn’t have to worry about not getting to them in time as those 4 were actually directly heading towards me while I was heading to them, what I saw was 3 men with firearms chasing after a single scantily clad woman.

The woman in question was actually very beautiful, she was tall over 180 cms, had long chestnut hair and brown eyes while her body had all that which a man would find attractive in a woman, a large bosom together with a huge bottom coupled with a pair of long legs, in one word she was extremely seductive and given the fact that she was chased by these 3 men who had firearms that they didn’t fire and also showed extremely perverted looks, I could already guess to some extend guess what was going on here.

Nevertheless, this wasn’t actually my problem, I didn’t really care about this woman at all, it may be cruel to say but I simply had no shred of justice in me at the moment.

All of the positive traits amalgamated together caused me to be far more rational then to be emotional, plus there was another trait called “psychopath” that didn’t seem to be positive or negative which allowed an individual to be completely immune to emotional effects on the psyche, since it seemed a bit too encompassing and I still wanted to keep my emotions no matter what kind of emotions they were I didn’t take the trait which shows that the psychopath trait had to be far more negative if the combination of other traits could to certain extend replicate its effect and even selectively choose which emotions one could endure.

Anyways, while heading towards them I started to think about what exactly I would do when getting to them?

Even though I had been doing all this action, I simply didn’t think about how I would approach them even though I knew that it would likely turn into a fight, which was fine as well since I wanted to test my mettle against these humans to see how strong they were and how strong I was compared to them.

The thing was that they had an advantage in the form of their firearms while I only had my bow and arrow and sling.

But be that as it may I wasn’t sure nervous or unsure about my victory one bit, to some extended the frequent hunts I went through that gave me actual experience supplemented by my hunting knowledge made me already into a seasoned veteran hunter, firearms in the end also had their weaknesses, while my sling and bow and arrow had their advantages.

Silence was one of them, meaning that as long as I hid after every attack and sometimes changed position I could easily eradicate these guys one by one from a safe distance without being found.

-In the end the only thing I have to make sure is that I don’t kill everyone, leaving one alive for information, if I don’t do this everything I did would be wasted.

Muttering such words to myself I ran through the forest.

Stepping on rocks, jumping over bushes and other plants while sometimes climbing trees and vaulting in-between them I used my max level skills to the fullest as I parkoured through the forest in a straight path using the quickest path possible.

The feeling of the wind and leaves brushing past me while the scenery changed at quick pace was exhilarating and addicting, for the past few months it was this feeling that staved my boredom the most, a feeling of total freedom, it was as if I had turned into an animal running through the wild and before I knew it I was already where the 4 humans were surprisingly also coming to the climax of this chase as they stood near a cliff surrounding the single woman who stood on the edge.

I watched them from a safe distance climbing on a tree I pulled my bow and arrow, my eyes zooming in onto their location as my bionics showed me every single detail with high level precision.

I could see everything, taking the opportunity I knew I had the perfect chance to take a shot, but just before I was about to do so I noticed the woman standing on the cliff.

She was crying.

Looking out into the beautiful scenery of the boreal forest from the cliff, she cried sad tears without a sound, her eyes full of melancholy pain and despair.

Her expression made me freeze for a second as I wasn’t used to seeing someone as sad as her, but suddenly those eyes seemed to change as spirit returned to them and the will to live ignited like a blazing flame.

It was unfortunate though that her reignited spirit wouldn’t be of help to her as the 3 men had already blocked off every path she could flee.

And looking at her, I knew she knew that as well, which made her next action obvious as to what she would do.

-Stop! Do not go closer to the cliff!

The man who seemed like the leader shouted raising his gun, his action was a bit questionable I thought but I didn’t bother analyze the actions of a man as low as him and simply moved my hands to get a better shot.

At this point I didn’t even bother listening to what they were saying, I simply focused my mind into the hunt, I didn’t everyone alive 1 was just enough, who was a threat and who wasn’t immediately came to my mind putting the leader looking guy at the top while putting that woman at the bottom comparable to a pebble that I shouldn’t be bothered with.

The next second I raised my bow and fired.

The arrowe whistled, flying straight as the tip of my arrow was made out of the cast steel I had created making the penetration strength incomparable to the usual arrows I used which were made from obsidian.

It flew just as I imagined, as soon as I fired I didn’t even continue looking before changing my position and trying to find another place to fire, hunting animals and hunting humans was completely different, humans understood how to counter against combatants while animals didn’t which is why it was important to change position after every shot while you were hidden.

And sure enough I could faintly hear the grunt of a person before a body slumped to the ground collapsing, silence came over the area over there, but quickly enough they gathered into a defensive formation.

I could hear them talk about something, something about a tribe and then something about quickly taking the woman before running away.

Of course I wouldn’t let them just run away, in my eyes they were already dead furthermore I quickly came to understand these guys weren’t actually as powerful as I gave them credit for, they were trained and had a bit of experience but in the end they were nothing more than mere grunts who only knew the basics.

Only the leader looking guy had some special awareness, but even that didn’t really matter.

Upon thinking this, I drew my bow and made my second shot, watching the second guy reach for the woman this time I tried to be a bit more menacing by not instantly killing him but crippling him instead to get him out of the fight and disturb the others.

For this I simply aimed at his arm while he was reaching for the woman and released my arrow.

It once again whistled and directly hit the man skewering his arm, the moment that happened the man dropped his gun and then instantly proceeded to scream his guts out as he bled intensely and squirmed in pain.

The moment I fired I also took cover and just as I expected the sound of gun fire followed towards my general direction as the last man immediately tried to take me out somehow by wildly shooting towards the place he presumed I was in.

His guess was accurate but unfortunately I was behind more than a few trees and laid low making it so that none of his bullets could hit me and since I was also crawling to change away, by the time he finished shooting I was already somewhere else.

At this point I was more curious about how they would react now knowing that they weren’t likely to survive at this point.

Watching them from another place which was close to a bush, I noticed how the woman seemed to think about escape as she was fairly close to the gun the man whose arm I skewered had dropped, using the confusion to take the gun wasn’t a bad idea, that is if she immediately reached for it the moment it dropped.

Since she was hesitating and taking her sweet time it became clear to anyone who looked at her what she was thinking about with her looking at the gun like that, the man didn’t even need to do much before completely shutting her down.

But surprisingly instead of forcing her to sit duck he actually decided to make her his ally, which was the most rational and smartest decision I had seen from him considering that he pointed a gun towards someone who was about to commit suicide, his explanation as to why I wasn’t likely to kill them was also spot on which is why his next action surprised me even more.

BANG!

Firing his gun, he killed his comrade with one shot to the head turning him quiet once and for all.

The reason he killed him was sound, as he explained that he had become useless baggage for them and that killing him would make me even more hesitant on dealing lethal blows if I wanted them alive.

Once again his logic was sound but not without flaws as he still didn’t know what I actually wanted which he likely knew as well.

The reason I was surprised though was because of his unhesitant act of murdering his comrade, of course I didn’t know anything about them, but the fact that these 2 listened this man so closely without much of a problem showed that they had a certain level of trust in him that he must have cultivated somehow, the fact that he could immediately sever that trust just through rough calculations on his part was impressive, but still simply too cold hearted.

Calling this man a psychopath wouldn’t be an understatement, and though I wouldn’t call myself different since I didn’t come here to save this woman in any way I could see that the woman with the look in her eyes agreed with me as she picked up the gun.

Well at this point, I had already seen enough.

Putting my bow down I pulled out my sling together with a rock, loading it into the pouch I twirled the sling 3 times in quick succession before immediately firing at the face of the last man.

The rock unsurprisingly hit him squarely on the face as he kneeled to the ground, the next moment I was already in front of him charging at him like a cheetah. He tried to resist by raising his gun to shoot me but I easily kicked it away.

Now knowing that he had no way out he unexpectedly called out the last person he could rely on.

-SHOOT! SHOOT HIM BITCH!

His command seemed to awaken the woman finally as she stood like a statue most likely surprised by my sudden appearance.

The grip on her gun tightened the moment she was commanded and looked as if she was about to shoot me.

But from the very beginning I didn’t see her as an opponent.

Not even bothering to do anything against her I simply glared at her.

-…!?

The glare did its job as she immediately dropped her gun and fell to the ground her face showing fear as she stared at me as if I was some kind of reaper coming for her life.

Funny really considering that not too long ago she was just trying to take her own life.

Now knowing that she was out of the picture I focused back on the man bellow me, seeing that his only ally had now collapsed by a single glare of mine, he immediately cursed her before jumping towards his trying to reach it.

His attempt was slightly laughable as the gun was a bit too far away to reach even if he did jump for it, but seeing him resist I started to get slightly more irritated and decided to be a bit harder as I kicked him with my bionic leg, making him skip over 5 times before he crashed into a tree and made the leaves fall from it.

The next moment he immediately got up as he watched me come closer to him, I was about to start questioning him to do what I came here to do in the first place, but before I could even demand any answers from him he immediately tried to bargain with me as he begged for his life.

His initiative was a bit surprisingly since he didn’t look like someone who begged for his life, but seeing that he was purely logical up until now before I was threatening his life I came to the conclusion that even he didn’t stand a chance against death when it stood in front of him.

Nevertheless, asking him anything I wanted to know I first asked him where I could find the next closest settlement where I could rest for a bit and gather information.

He answered that, together with plethora of other things I wanted to know, more than a few times I wondered whether or not he was lying to me which is why I asked the same question again but phrasing it differently to confuse him.

Through this I immediately knew that he didn’t lie to me or at least didn’t look like he was lying to me making me feel satisfied about how easy it was to get information from him.

As soon as he was grabbed by the neck he sang like a bird, I started to think that I really liked people him.

Though I could still see that he hadn’t given up yet, his eyes showed a trace of greed the more we talked and at some point of the conversation he muttered something about a cryosleep casket.

I wanted to know what that was as well, but in the next second I didn’t bother to ask anymore as I could distinctly smell the smell of blood waft in the air by the 2 corpses next to us.

The wind was a good deliverer when it came to something like blood and soon enough this place would be swarming with wild predators, even though I had already hunted a lot of these predators even I wasn’t confident about fighting 20 or over 30 of them without proper preparation of equipment.

-Alright, I think I asked about everything I wanted to know.

Making such declaration I considered to wrap everything here and now since I was already more then satisfied, seeing that he was now no longer useful to me in anyway the man seemed to become flustered as he immediately tried to say something.

-Wait! I have something more to say good sir! Since you clearly don’t seem to know a lot about this world, how about I introduce you to some people! They can be immensely helpful to you and with your abilities I am 100% sure that you can become the head of a group if we go and introduce you to those people, not even mentioning the cryosleep casket you…

Just as he was going through his fake pitch I momentarily stopped him with my palm as I for a moment almost forgot to ask him about something I wondered ever since I saw them enter this place..

My action seemed to scare this man badly as he seemed to think he would be killed now, but for not that wasn’t the case as I still asked one last question.

-Now that I finished asking about this world I want to ask you something else.

-S..Something else?!

-Yes, more exactly who are you, what are you doing and who is she.

Pointing my finger towards that woman I saw her shudder in fear the moment I pointed at her, I found her fear of me a bit too abnormal but ignored it as focused on the man bellow.

-I..My name is Ro…

-No, I don’t care about your name and who you are, what I want to know is what your task is and who you are working for.

After all, why would I need to know the name of a dead man right?

His eyes showing that he was slightly insulted but not showing it on his face immediately explained himself to me as he clarified what this situation was.

-I am a slaver, she is a slave, she fled when one of us wasn’t looking, we were supposed to sell her off to a colony close to here which was recently taken over by a pack of raiders, our boss is a bigwig slave trader who leads the slave trading industry in these parts, and since she is pretty hot, our boss is expecting a big payout, if he knows that we suddenly disappeared with his slave and his money he is likely to come look for us, which is why, how about you just let us go and we pretend like nothing happened, trust me this is best for…

WHUMP

Before he could even finish, I already hacked his head in two using my axe before he could even finish, his and brain juices gushed out the moment I hacked into him but they didn’t stain my clothes luckily, now fully understanding the basic gist, I turned around towards the lady as she watched me come towards her with my bloodied axe, fearful, she tried to get away from me before getting cornered on a tree, her expression was simply too horrified, I had never before seen someone who was that scared of me but I ignored it and simply told her as she closed her eyes.

-Hey lady, you’re free, do whatever you want.

Now no longer bothering with her after that, I quickly looted anything of use from those 3 bodies.

Remembering that predators would soon come here, I also decided to give the woman a gun for self-protection, the reason I did that was because I slightly pitied this woman, even if she couldn’t kill anything I was sure as long as she shot at them with the firearm they would immediately run away since animals were easily scared of loud noises, together with the gun I also gave her provisions so she wouldn’t starve on the way to the closest settlement, whether or not she would get there was not my problem as I believed I had already done enough for her.

Taking her with me was an option too, but not something I considered seriously as I doubted she could be of any real help and would most likely only drag me down in my travels considering how fast I moved. The only thing I had in mind right now was how to quickly get my own colony and starting off in a peaceful settlement where I could stay and gather even more information for preparation was simply my best bet.

All this happened in a span of a few minutes, I left the gun together with a few other provisions for her in front of her just so she could reach the closest settlement without starving, not once did I really think about her other than thinking that she was a bit pitiful before immediately turning around and making my way back home to think about everything I had just learned.

Thinking that everything was now over, I had only taken 10 steps before I heard someone behind me shouting.

-Please! Wait for me!

I obviously stopped, but not because I wanted to wait for her, to some extended I already predicted that she would do that, which is why I was prepared to use rougher means for her to understand that I wouldn’t take her with me.

I glared at her coldly, she was scared, I already knew, the problem was that it was the only thing I knew about her, that she was constantly scared and couldn’t control it.

Why I disliked such a trait was something I didn’t quite understand, it could be that because I was from the very beginning born strong that it influenced my way of thinking that couldn’t sympathize with the weak, of course such way of thinking was incredibly self-centered and unconsidered since weakness was not something many people had much control over, in the future once I started to lead people in my colony I knew fully well that such way of thinking could be my downfall, but for right now I simply didn’t know how to fix it or how to go about it other than to silently ignore it and not show what I was thinking on my face.

Maybe being nice was one way to go about it…

I considered, trying to think of a way to not use rougher methods of rejection, but before I could even speak she spoke first.

-I…I know a way for you acquire your own colony!

And her words were powerful as they made me freeze for a moment, the words of rejection I thought of vanished as well as interest started to gather in this woman I had rescued.

In a sense it was this woman who changed my still immature opinion of humans in this world to a massive extend.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, My Colony. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment