Memories Of The Cataclysm Chapter 3 My Traits Are…

Coming to the traits tab, this time the list was divided by 2.

It wasn’t as long or as enormous as the other lists before but it was still hefty.

The list was divided by something called positive and negative traits.

The left side showed the positive traits I could get while the right side showed all the negative ones I could get.

Over each of these lists there was the number 11 written on it with the number 0 placed on the left side of the 11.

Choosing a positive trait I realized that it costed me points to purchase a positive trait furthermore upon choosing that trait the 0 next to the 11 of that particular section would increase to the amount the trait that I bought had cost meaning there was a limit to how many traits I could get which was limited by 11 points.

Unfortunately I only had 2 points at the moment because of my expensive purchase on the previous tab for my profession, which meant I couldn’t buy a lot of things even if I wanted to.

Fortunately this tab also had way for me to gain points like the last 2 in the form of the negative traits.

Just like the positive traits the negative traits had a limit to the amount I could get which was 11, choosing a negative trait gave me points in exchange, this revelation was key and already I could see a trait that I found extremely useful the moment I glanced at it.

-Night vision ?

Night vision was a positive trait that costed only 2 points to acquire which was exactly the amount I had right now, thinking about the applications and convenient use of such trait I wanted to pick it up right away but stopped myself as I still needed to look at other traits first.

The cost of these traits were always between 1 or 3 with 3 cost traits being really good while 1 cost traits being semi-negligible but convenient to have.

There were many traits I wanted, but after thinking about it more clearly I soon realized that a lot of the traits I wanted were either incompatible with my profession or simply not in my play style.

A trait called “Fast Healer” for example immediately caught my attention after “Night Vision” it cause you to heal at a faster rate when you’re not sleeping and double your healing when you are sleeping.

My initial idea was to pick this trait but because I already established my role of dodging instead of taking hits, “Fast Healer” seemed inappropriate for me when I already decided what I wanted to do.

Having understood such thing I instead focused on traits that further enhanced my already existing strengths.

I rather be really good in one thing then be average at everything else, I wasn’t sure if this mentality was something I already had before I was aware of myself but in either case I continued insisting on my way rounding up the traits that could really help me.

In the end what I choose was “Disease Resistant”, “Infection Resistant”, “Poison Resistant”, “Indefatigable”, “Night Vision” and ultimately “Robust Genetics”.

All the resistance traits are self explanatory, the Indefatigable trait on the other hand decreases my stamina depletion while giving me 25% higher stamina meaning I can move and exert myself more then others.

Again “Night Vision” is self explanatory.

Robust Genetics on the other hand was a trait I debated about taking or not quite a bit before deciding that it may be not so bad to take it after all.

What it does is basically give me a higher chance to develop a beneficial mutation if I somehow end up mutating for one reason or another.

A “Mutant” is actually one of the roles I could have gotten, the reason I didn’t consider taking it was for the same reason I didn’t become a “Cyborg”, because there was simply too much I didn’t know about a “Mutant” nor a “Cyborg” to effectively control such body.

Since mutations are likely going to be common in this uncertain world I wanted to prepared no matter what, dealing with unknown disease, infections and poisons also came with that mind while Indefatigable and Night Vision will serve to support me.

Of course rounding up the required points for all of these traits I quickly reached the absolute limit which was 11.

I needed to pay at least another 9 points if I wanted to go back to 0 which is why I scoured the entire negative traits section to gain enough points to pay for the positive traits I wanted.

In the end what I came up with was as follows.

“Addictive Personality”, “Animal Discord”, “Heavy Sleeper”, Insomniac”, “Trigger-Happy”, “Truth Teller” and “Ugly”.

Starting from the beginning, addictive personality cause me to be prone to abusing drugs or anything else that makes me feel good by 1.5 times as much and suffer withdrawal symptoms 1.5 times as quickly.

The reason I chose this trait was because I figured it was easy to deal with if I just don’t touch anything hard in the first place, I won’t get addicted immediately but just get addicted faster which made me think it was a really reasonable negative trait then most.

A few severe negative trait for example called “Chemical Imbalance” and “Schizophrenic” are a absolute bane and life threatening.

The first one causes you to randomly become either hungry, sleepy or neurotic while the second one “Schizophrenic” as it description says will randomly make you experience visual or audible hallucinations, this is dreadful in a world where actual monsters exist and makes you question whether or not what you see is just you imagining things or reality.

I figured that its better to have negative traits that are immediately manageable then traits that can screw you hard right off the bat.

The rest of my negative traits also tie into this logic “Animal Discord”, “Heavy Sleeper”, Insomniac”, “Trigger-Happy”, “Truth Teller” and “Ugly” are all very self explanatory.

Animal discord causes me to get disliked by most woodland or forest creatures and more likely to get attacked by them, this is fine since that way I will only attract normal creatures which I can eat too, heavy sleeper makes it so it is difficult for me to wake up once I fall asleep, this is also okay since by the time I sleep I should have found a safe enough place for me to be sure that nothing will disturb me once I fall asleep.

Insomniac will make it difficult for me to fall asleep at the beginning but at a certain point I am still going to be tired enough that my body has no other choice but to sleep.

Trigger-happy will force me to sometimes go full automatic if I’m holding a ranged weapon of such type, other wise it has no effect if the weapon I’m holding is bolt action or semi-automatic, I am also not ranged character either which is why it won’t even matter that much.

Finally both Truth Teller and Ugly are more to do with social interaction then with actual survival, truth teller can be easily avoided by just not saying anything at all or refusing to answer, while being ugly will only matter if the opposing party cares about such things, in fact I’d argue that being ugly is actually a advantage in a apocalypse since it can directly separate the individuals who are vain from those who can get over themselves and actually recognize ability.

Stacking all of these negative traits gave me a total of 9 points which was enough to set me back to 0 points while giving me all the positive traits I wanted.

-I am very close, soon I am getting out of here..

The hope and anticipation inside my chest burned as I continued to move forward, the screen understanding my intent flickered one more time and now I was at the stats screen.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, Memories Of The Cataclysm. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment