Kings Glaive Chapter 35 A Pairs Of Sets

-Alright we ate and rested long enough, its time to go out again.

I briefly announced standing up as I looked at the 2 who were also starting to prepare upon my words.

But just as they were getting ready I approached Sonnia as she put the bowl away.

-Huh ? What is it ? Anything more to say Master ?

-Sonnia for this round of hunting I don’t think you should come with us.

-…

Sonnia looked at me blankly for a moment, even though I hadn’t stated my reason yet she probably could already guess why I didn’t want her to come this time, for a person who wasn’t used to fighting she was very quick to learn and on top of that she wasn’t cowardly in the face of danger which was the most important aspect of a combatant just like how a talented boxer instinctively doesn’t close his eyes when he is about to get hit.

The way she was going it wouldn’t take long before Sonnia started to really get used to combat, but right now she was simply too inexperienced to move along with us, even though we both had the same [Constitution] of 13 she didn’t understand how to properly manage her stamina like Milky who knew basic combat techniques and had a lot of real practice, with Sonnia around it was bound that we couldn’t stray too far on top of that if anything unexpected may happen like a [Giant Rat] suddenly appearing out of nowhere, then Sonnia would be the slowest amongst us, Milky could carry her and I could use magic to slow down the rat but I rather prefer it if something like this didn’t happen in the first place if I can prevent it first.

In short, safety first.

On top of that I already had a plan for Sonnia while we were out hunting rats.

I needed Sonnia to level her [Listening] from level 5 to level 6 so the skill would finally step into the advanced level and produce a qualitative change so she could replace her eyes with her ears which would make her rate of learning in regards to combat even faster.

To do this I already knew I certain method, the only thing was I wasn’t completely sure yet whether a skill learned in the game in that way worked in real life.

By the way I had learned my [Throwing] skill it should be straight forward but I still had to test it some more and Sonnia was perfect for that.

-Sonnia while we are outside hunting rats for food, I want you to stay here and do the training I had set for you so that you can quickly become more used to fighting, right now you aren’t as experienced as Milky, you can’t even stand your own which is why I want you to practice first, after we’re finished hunting and come back I will teach both of you new things but until then I want you do exactly what I am about to teach you, is that okay with you ?

-Sonnia..

Milky looked a bit worried, most likely because she didn’t like the idea of leaving Sonnia all by herself while we went somewhere else, but Sonnia simply smiled and looked at Milky as if trying to reassure her before looking back at me with a troubled expression on her face but also resolved at the same time.

-Well, I am the newbie, obviously I need to be taught the basics first before I can fight, the earlier battle was a bit too exciting for me and I get why you don’t want me remembering how much I dragged my feet..Milky go with Master and do what he says, don’t worry about me I will train here vigorously until you return, I need to quickly become stronger if I want to earn my keep after all !

The way she sounded cheerful and pumped up was all for making sure Milky didn’t feel worried I felt warm by her actions but other then that there was nothing to say or do, Milky on the other hand could only agree, she didn’t say anything but it looked as if she was starting to understand that she couldn’t always keep Sonnia behind her back not when Sonnia was so determined to fight herself.

In either case I quickly went through on what Sonnia was going to do while we were going out hunting rats.

What I wanted her to learn was actually a very simple skill but hard to master, it was a skill called [Meditation], [Meditation] is a normal skill that when used allows the user to recover mana and stamina more quickly, its main purpose was active recovery but it had also the added beneficial side effect of sharpening your other 5 senses while you are meditating which is the main reason why I wanted to teach Sonnia on how to meditate as in the game it was one of the few ways to level the [Listening] skill without the use of external methods.

Of course [Meditation] is not a skill just learned by getting briefly lectured, it is also difficult to demonstrate which is why I told Sonnia to focus on every and any sound she could pick up, I taught her how to regulate her breathing together with right posture before telling her that she should only meditate as long as she could focus on the sound.

If she couldn’t meditate any longer I instructed her to work on her body by doing push ups, sit ups and squads until she was dead tired. I left a lot of water plus a lot of the roasted meat that I had prepared when we were resting after the meal, which she could use if she started to lack energy.

Of course I did want her to do other types of exercise but since she was only starting I limited her actions so she could get the basics hammered into her, once we got back I would teach her more on how to build her body and instruct her with her meditation practice.

All of this only took about 10 minutes or so of explaining and demonstrating, since Sonnia was such a smart individual she need more explanations or reminders teaching her once was enough for her to remember.

Obviously Sonnia wasn’t all too happy about exhausting herself, the life of a [Merchant] was deeply ingrained in her that prioritized brain over brawn but now, it was very clear that her brain couldn’t solve her current situation which is why she had no other choice but to give it her all.

Milky in turn laughed at her plight, it looked as if she was taking a very huge kick out of seeing her noble lady exerting herself at last, watching her I wondered whether or not she would keep that smiling face after I was done with her training.

Of course I kept those thoughts to myself.

I glanced at those two, about to leave together with Milky before I saw the rags both of them were draped with and getting suddenly reminded about something.

-Ahh, before we leave I want to give you guys something.

I quickly rushed to the crates, trying to remember where I put those items.

Sonnia and Milky were curious about what I wanted to show them and came closer, almost touching my shoulders and when I finally pulled out the items I wanted to give them both Sonnia and Milky were a bit confused about what they were looking at or at least Milky was since Sonnia couldn’t even see to begin with.

-What is that ? (Sniff, Sniff) it smells a bit funny ? Are these clothes ?!

-Well its a bit old and I couldn’t get rid of the smell even with [Cleaning] or by hand washing it, but over all they are better then the rags you are wearing right now so come on take them.

I said, pushing both of them each 1 one set of linen clothes, which I too was wearing, the clothes themselves consisted of only pants and a sleeved tunic, they were a bit uncomfortable on the skin but I was already used to it.

And in regards to the size, it was obvious that the clothes were meant for adult men making them huge and baggy, I had to adjust them before wear but they were better then the things these two were wearing and better then the potato sack I came with when I first came into this place, the only real unfortunate thing here was that there were no shoes, I had to make do with covering my feet with rags which is how both of them did it as well.

Both Sonnia and Milky after a bit of consideration finally took a set each, they seemed to for some reason hesitate when they took the set of clothes, I wasn’t sure why, but it didn’t look like they were dissatisfied or anything rather both of them seemed to be really delighted having a complete and fine sets of clothes instead of the things they were wearing right now, but still there was something that made them uncomfortable I could see it.

-Is there a problem ? You don’t like the clothes ?

I asked starting to get a bit worried, both Sonnia and Milky were a bit surprised by my question before frantically trying to explain.

-Oh, no, no, its nothing like that we are happy !

-Yes, Master, the clothes are extremely wonderful right now, its just that thinking about how we lived for the past half a year and how everyone else on this island lives you have to understand that clothes are one of the more valuable things there are, usually only gang leaders can afford them from the [Merchants] while the underlings wear rags like ours..

Sonnia said, reminded me of how the people up on the island were usually dressed whenever I spied at them bellow, they indeed all wore similar rags to Sonnia and Milky, thinking about it now almost no one up there were any complete clothing without holes or rips, nobody likely bought any clothes from the [Merchants] either since it was a luxury they couldn’t afford when the Pestilence Disease ate at them making every second precious.

But then again it still didn’t explain why they were so perplexed about me giving them clothes, asking seemed a bit wrong which is why I instead tried to make things clear again.

-Listen, I don’t really understand what is good or bad, right or wrong, the only thing I understand and want you guys to know is that we are working together to escape this island, of course there are boundaries which we can leave to our common sense, but in general within reason whats mine is yours, this is a group effort and until we get out of here it will stay this way as long as we continue to work together, again, this isn’t a Dictatorship neither do I own you two, we are partners, I will never force you to do things you don’t want to do, but as the leader or at least the person who is spearheading the plan I expect both of you to work with me for our common goal, which is why don’t think too much about the clothes, I didn’t give them to you because I was forced to do so, but because you are my partners and if I help you it is the same as helping myself, I hope you understand, I am fine with you two calling me by my name, Master is also fine, but do know that I don’t think of neither of you as someone bellow me.

I gave them both a hand each.

The sight was very familiar as I had already given them both a hand already.

And I would do it again, as much as it took until they felt safe.

Both of them looked at my hand, their expression changing in a constant hard to discern fashion but in the end they both again took my hand looking more assured and glad for taking it.

[Congratulations ! [Charisma] has increased by 1]

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, Kings Glaive. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Kings Glaive Chapter 35 A Pairs Of Sets

  1. Xth says:

    Rude Time Stopper 😦 ?

    Like

Leave a comment