Kings Glaive Chapter 30 It Stinks

With our partnership established you would expect things to wrap up but no there was still much to be said and done, just because we partnered up and decided to work together doesn’t mean we would immediately rely on each other, we still hadn’t even properly introduced ourselves even though I knew Milky to some extend and peeked at Sonnia’s status window, as a person I knew nothing about Sonnia just like she knew nothing about me, which became the next topic of our agenda.

Sonnia also returned to her persona as the energetic and loyal servant she was at the beginning, the reason for her acting like this was quite a mystery to me when she already showed me her lax side, but I didn’t really mind since we hadn’t really spent much time with each other to really be comfortable around one another, it was unavoidable that she was on guard with me especially when I hinted at knowing one of her secrets.

-If Milky hadn’t already mentioned it, my name is Sonnia, I am a low-rank half-breed between a [Human] and a [Cave Witch], I am currently 16 years old one year younger then Milky actually. My class is a advanced-rank [Merchant] a very accomplished merchant in fact which is my title too [Accomplished Merchant], it boosts my [Merchant] skills and nothing else, my skills are all between Intermediate to advanced level unfortunately they are all intelligence, wisdom and academic skills, I have zero offensive or defensive skills meaning I have no use in battle, and since I am also partially blind there is no real point in me fighting either, up until now I had always been relying on Milky to do the fighting and other tasks while I just do most of the planning, thinking and some menial work, I also took on a secondary class as a [Herbalist] back when we were still on the continent but ever since getting here this class has essentially become useless…

She explained, her description of her abilities not one bit false when compared with her status window as she spoke everything truthfully, though there was one thing she did hide which was her [Path Finder] talent, not that I was going to point it out since that would reveal that was I capable of somehow knowing her abilities which would require either a master level skill or something on a equal level to her talent ability.

I was already walking on thin ice when I implied that I knew her talent from our previous conversation, but from now on keeping my talent a secret was a must, the reason being that even though my talent wasn’t powerful by itself, it was still one of the most effective espionage/investigative tools in existence even better then most divination spells, if anyone knew I had this ability they would be shocked beyond belief and I could be targeted for all sorts of reasons none of which were good for me which was the same for Sonnia.

Using this ability sparingly was important, revealing a persons status window was especially ill advised if I couldn’t get away with it immediately, its best used in mid battle where the [Fear] effect of the ability could be mistaken as a offensive skill or spell of sorts in the heat of the situation, afterwards using the information I had on my opponent I can immediately swing the fight into my favor by exploiting any obvious weaknesses I see.

Its as Sun Tzu, the author of the art of war wrote, if you know your enemies and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles, those who control the information control the war, information is what my character is all about even in this hellish place as long as I know my footing I am not likely to fall into the abyss without anything unexpected happening first.

Anyways, after Sonnia told me her part I also just briefly described myself to her, I told her the exact same thing I told Milky, Sonnia herself was not the slightest bit amazed or disappointed by anything about my capabilities, I was expecting that since Milky must have already told her everything before I woke up, Sonnia herself must have had her own thoughts as well and likely didn’t completely believe everything I say is the truth.

In the end after we got the basic introductions out of the way, I was about to jump to another topic to discuss which was actually the plan I had to escape the island which I wanted to consult with her about, but before that something else occurred that needed to be taken care of first.

(GRRRRRR)

A familiar deep grumbling noise suddenly echoed beside us akin to a beasts growl, hearing that sound neither me nor Sonnia were surprised, we looked at each other for a moment, even though we both had our eyes hidden we both knew we were smiling underneath, turning my head I looked at Milky who was embarrassingly hiding her stomach while glancing at us with a bit of shame in her eyes.

-Ahh..I think…I got a bit hungry…sorry..

-No, don’t worry actually, I am also a bit hungry and since we just woke up it understandable that we would be a bit famished, unfortunately we don’t have any food right now since..well, you guys ate it all yesterday.

-My apologies…

-I am sorry..

They both apologized after I mentioned yesterdays incident, it wasn’t my intention to make them feel apologetic, but it was fine either way too since we were partners from now on, which is what I told them after waving my hand dismissively to make them feel reassured, though Milky had already apologized yesterday making me feel confused as to why she was doing it again, maybe she was just imitating Sonnia so she wouldn’t be alone ?

I smiled wryly, getting up I clapped my hands to pull the attention of these two as I spoke.

-Alright since it had come to this, lets go out and get something to eat !

They stared at me not sure where this was about to go, but being compliant anyways since their stomachs demanded some food.

Both of them were far more adorable when they were being honest like that especially Sonnia, but at the same time I wondered whether or not these 2 would have any appetite after the hunt ? I hadn’t even told them what kind of meat they ate yesterday so I was looking forward to their reaction when they discovered what it was they ate and from where it came from.

Hehehe.

=================================================

-Milky to your left !

I shouted, warning Milky as a [Big Rat] was started to get very close to her, it didn’t look like she had noticed as she was too occupied with another rat on her front to really care, but fortunately my warning didn’t seem to be necessary as Milky shouted back.

-Don’t worry I know !

(SQUEAK !)

Decisively stepping forward she kicked the rat in front with a low kick essentially launching it into the wall making it go splat as it landed head first dying instantly.

The second rat which was waiting for its opportunity took its chance when it saw Milky just executing a attack by pouncing at her side, it looked like she was about to get bit but Milky was ready, drawing her dagger she turned around swiftly and used that momentum to drive the dagger into rats body, the result was quite messy as the blood started to spew everywhere, the rat didn’t die immediately either and struggled for a bit while Milky was nailing it to the ground before long dying from excess pain and loss of blood.

And just like that Milky had won, but in my personal opinion I barely counted it as a win if a win at all.

-Milky ! Are you okay ?! The rat seems to have died but did it bite you ?

Sonnia instantly came to her aid worried as she concluded with her [Life Vision] that the fight was over, and not only on Milky’s side my side had also finished but in comparison where I had 4 rats lying around dead with almost no bloodshed whatsoever, Milky’s side looked like a bloody massacre with all of the blood stains covering the ground and still oozing onto the ground.

-I am fine Sonnia, the rats didn’t even had the chance to touch me, though I did get a lot of blood on me..

She reassured Sonnia, not really looking at her as she shook off the excess blood on her hands while staring at me and the 4 dead rats beside me.

Even from here I could see her pupils shaking as she gulped at the rats while observing my statue, she didn’t completely see how I fought but she did glance at me a few times while she was fighting which is why it took her so long to deal with these 2 rats in the first place.

-Wow, Arthur…you are really strong…

Her voice was full of admiration, it reminded me of the time when she called me esteemed magic caster, it was obvious after all, wherever it was strength garners respect, those with power are admired.

-Yeah well, it isn’t anything special really since I’ve been fighting these guys longer then you, its obvious that you wouldn’t immediately do well, though I gotta admit you’re strength is also not something to scoff at.

I said, trying to encourage her and somewhat downplay my capabilties, but Milky seemed to only hear white noise as she shook her head.

-No, I don’t mean that, I mean the way you fight and move, even though I seem to be stronger then you when it comes to physical strength, I am not anywhere near to the skill level you possess, since I was never taught properly I always just imitated others and relied on my superior strength to overcome a obstacle…basically what I want to say is you really are impressive..hehe..

I scratched my cheek no expecting such honest compliment but not rejecting it either.

-Well, thank you, actually thinking about it, I can teach you if you want ?

My off hand comment seemed to have sparked something in her as Milky’s eyes widened for a second there, she looked very surprised but then also hesitant before she asked.

-What…really ?! You, you would teach someone like me ? Are you sure ?

I blinked at her not sure what she meant when she said “someone like me” but not commenting on it as I nodded to her.

-Yeah, I don’t see why not, if you get stronger I am not only helping you but also helping myself since we are partners, though I am warning right now the results aren’t going to come immediately and its going to be long and hard before you truly start to understand what I teach you.

I advised her seriously, but Milky didn’t seem to care too much as she shook her head enthusiastically.

-No, no ! Thats fine I understand ! Thank you Arthur…no, Master !

-Calling me master too…thats a bit…oh well fine..wait you don’t need to bow, we’re still in the sewer..

I made an awkward smile, trying to get Milky to stand as she seemed to have made me her master when I told her I would teach her how to fight properly, in reality I would have taught her anyways even if she didn’t ask since I needed her to become stronger no matter what, if we wanted to escape every single one of us needed to exert ourselves to the fullest, we only had a span of a single year and in this single year we needed to get as strong as we possibly could get to have the highest chance of succeeding.

-I am sorry if I am interrupting, but Master are you okay with teaching your fighting style to someone not related or close to you ?

Sonnia spoke up, her words confusing me for a second before I realized what she meant, it also cleared up the reason why Milky was so surprised when I told her I would teach her my way of fighting, even in my own world such things as martial arts were mostly only passed down to relatives or extremely close disciples, she may have mistook my fighting art for such martial art, but in reality it wasn’t so.

My fighting style was purely practical after all, formed from all sorts of other martial arts and honed by actual combat, in actuality if you really want to learn how to fight quickly you are better off just getting into street fights and amass experience then learn a fighting technique.

Actual fighting experience is far more useful then any martial art, but knowing martial arts makes the fighting experience more lethal and precise, which is why learning both is important,but not necessary if you just want to be able to fight.

Ultimately I really didn’t care all too much about teaching someone about my style, its not like martial arts alone is enough to make someone unstoppable, its merely just a rough guideline and nothing else, if you can’t apply it to actual fighting it useless.

-Its fine, its not like I learned my own fighting style from one individual, take it as me just telling you the things I know, I can’t become strong alone after all, if we are to escape this island we all need to become stronger which is why from now on I will instruct both of you on how to fight properly.

There was a brief pause after I said that, but it didn’t last long.

-Wait…both ?! Is Master saying that I too will participate !

Sonnia shouted all of a sudden, slightly outraged as she didn’t expect for me to include her in the training as well, but I didn’t lie, even if Sonnia was blind, she could still see the life force of another person with her [Life Vision], meaning it wasn’t completely wasted, on top of that she also had the [Listening] skill which was already at level 5 if she just leveled that skill by 1 more level she would step into the advanced level and gain the hearing ability equal to most races who have the [Enhanced Hearing] racial ability, creatures who have such ability usually don’t need their eyes to see and can just substitute it with their ears, even now Sonnia has no problem with walking or noticing things around her as long as it makes sounds.

As soon as her [Listening] skill breaches the intermediate level wall and steps into the advanced area it will undergo a qualitative change and the world will completely change for her.

-Yes, why do you think I brought you along in the first place ? Even you should understand that a person who doesn’t work doesn’t get to eat, at the very least you can carry the bodies if you are not going to fight…or what are you expecting Milky to do everything for you ?

The last bit I said with a bit of a mocking manner to get a rise out of her, Sonnia herself was smart and she should understand that I was merely trying to provoke her, but she still couldn’t control herself as she gnashed her teeth with frustration.

-Nghhh…

-Hold on Master ! Sonnia doesn’t need to do anything, its fine if I just…

Milky came to protect her friend, but didn’t get to finish as she was interrupted.

-No Milky ! Master is right…people who don’t work don’t deserve to eat, I will also fight and carry the rats, I am not so incompetent as to let you do everything on your own while I just sit duck, even when we were up on the island I shouldn’t have just relied on you the entire just because I was blind, I am sorry Milky.

-Lady Sonnia..

In the end, the decisions were made, Milky still looked a bit worried but she couldn’t say anything anymore as Sonnia was determined, I also felt satisfied nodding to myself as I gave her the kitchen knife.

-This is ?

-Use it to protect yourself, don’t worry I am not so cruel as to directly send you to the front line, you will still be positioned in the middle but if any rat gets through either me or Milky then its your responsibility to protect yourself, you may be a [Merchant], you may be blind, but as long as you breath you can still fight.

Sonnia seemed to have awakened to something when I said those words, but she didn’t say anything and simply took the knife with both hands.

Milky looked even more worried after she saw her friend now hold a weapon, in a sense it seemed to even hurt her as if she was about to watch a younger sibling of hers get send to war.

Calling these 2 siblings wasn’t a understatement really, and with how Milky is the older of these 2 and always protects the blind Sonnia it doesn’t surprise me that she would be so worried.

The only thing I could hope for was for Milky to start accepting this arrangement more and not worry too much, but only time could tell.

-Sonnia ! Don’t worry I won’t let even a single rat through, I promise !

-I think that instead of worrying about me you should be more worried about yourself Milky..

They conversed with each other in a light hearted manner, I was about to add my own 2 cents until Sonnia turned towards our back for some reason seeming to notice something, not soon after I also noticed it which was the sound of numerous light tapping feet coming our way accompanied by that terrible squeak and from my vision I could see at least 10 [Big Rats] coming our way.

-The blood…they smelled the blood which is how they got here so quickly..

I muttered glancing at the 2 rats that Milky had killed so gruesomely, holding my baton as I got ready for battle, Milky and Sonnia too got ready but with the approaching numbers which was far more then before, they started to feel fear, telling them anything now would be useless, instead I stood at the very front acting as the vanguard, seeing me fearlessly stand before them like this made both Sonnia and Milky feel more at ease, Sonnia even cracked a joke.

-I didn’t notice it before because of my excitement..but this place really does stink..

-You tell me..

I replied.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, Kings Glaive. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment