Kings Glaive Chapter 29 Trust

Unfortunately the dream could only last for so long before Sonnia finally woke up to reality that came with the smell of waste.

===============================================================

I opened my eyes, still feeling a bit drowsy as I focused my eyes blankly towards the stone ceiling as I tried to flex my limbs little by little before even attempting to get up.

Luckily becoming awake wasn’t difficult since my face felt like ice to the touch, after all there was no heating system within this entire hideout and fire couldn’t be made either because of the smoke, sleeping was one of the especially tough things to do inside here when it was so perpetually cold, if it wasn’t for the bedrolls keeping my body warm, [Frostbite] would have become a inevitability.

-Ughh…where is the bowl ? I need to wash my face..

I mumbled, slowly getting up as I looked for the bowl that was usually near my bedroll which I used to store water for washing up.

My body had for the most part recovered but I could still feel some side-effects lingering from yesterday when I had used too much of my mana, it was similar to the feeling I got when I use my muscles too much and wake up the next day with a aching body, but this time the aching was at least 2 times more powerful in comparison and it also came from within my chest and my head making it worse then mere muscle pain.

Its the first time I felt this way through exhausting my mana, I can only imagine how painful its going to be when I start deliberately draining my mana to 0 to strengthen my soul with [Mana Burn] maybe its going to be something similar to a hangover through I can only imagine.

-Master~ are you perhaps looking for this ?

The bowl I usually used to wash my face was suddenly presented to me by a pair of white hands, since I was still a bit out of it from having just woken up I didn’t immediately process who had given it to me and what that person had just said and simply accepted it about to cast my [Create Water] spell to fill it up and wash my face.

Of course I instantly stopped the moment I started to process what was happening properly.

Almost dropping the bowl even my hand also moved towards the place where my knife was while my head snapped towards the voice expecting the worst.

Fortunately or unfortunately the thing I saw wasn’t exactly the worst or the best.

-Miss Sonnia ?

-Yes, Master~

Sonnia replied to me energetically as she sat on her knees right beside me in a very respectful manner looking as if she waited for me this entire time to wake up, she was the spitting image of a loyal servant from her expression up to her posture, you wouldn’t think this girl had been sick up until yesterday if you saw her today looking all fresh and sound, the only thing I would say was odd about her was her get up which were basically rags to cover her body and her blindfold, her horns also stuck out but not enough to be a focus point as they were fairly small.

There were loads of things I wanted to say right now looking at Sonnia, the questions were so much in fact that I didn’t even know where to start but after considering it for a few seconds I finally decided what I would say.

-Ehm…good morning Sonnia.

-Yes ! Good morning Master~ Milky you too !

I hadn’t noticed it up until now, but Milky was also here right beside Sonnia sitting in a similar fashion but not wearing a similar expression, she had been quiet the entire time which is why I didn’t notice her at first, she didn’t look disgruntled or displeased in any way but rather confused and a bit bashful as she spoke out.

-Ehh ?!…Ahem..G..good morning M..master..

-Yes, good morning to you too Milky and as I said before just call me Arthur, you too Sonnia, I don’t like it when people call me something I am not, understand ?

Just to drive my point across once more I used a bit more of a harsher tone then before to relay my message, as a result immediately Milky nodded hastily with her head while Sonnia made a awkward smile before telling me that she will do so in the future.

And just like that our morning began.

We didn’t talk much afterwards, I simply got up picked up 2 more bowls for both Milky and Sonnia and used a clay pitcher filling it with water through [Create Water] before distributing it between all 3 of us within our respective bowls.

On a side note using magic was a bit more exhausting then before, its most likely because I hadn’t completely recovered but overall it wasn’t problematic.

The whole time both Milky and Sonnia watched me do my thing with curiosity, Sonnia especially reacted with a bit more surprise though she did well hiding it even if I immediately saw through it.

When I presented them with the bowls of water neither of them were sure what they were supposed to do with it, Milky first tried to drink it thinking she was supposed to do that but I quickly stopped her and told her that she was supposed to wash her hands and face with that water and not drink it making her feel awkward.

Of course I could have always just used the [Cleaning] spell but something about using that spell and washing yourself with real water brought a clear difference that I couldn’t describe.

Anyways, Milky washed herself no problem and it looked like she enjoyed it very much looking as if it had been a very long time since she last used clean water to wash her skin, it may even be just that since I can’t imagine these two finding a clean source of water that hasn’t already been occupied by a group of prisoners, even in the game almost every water source in this place would be tightly guarded by a gang and sold to the other prisoners for ore, the only other way to get water then would be through the use of the [Survival] skill or through other methods that are more advanced.

These two likely relied on Milky’s [Survival] skill this entire time to get drinkable water but they must have not gotten enough to wash themselves which is why Milky was so ecstatic right now.

I thought as much, turning my gaze towards Sonnia to see how she was doing only to notice that she wasn’t doing anything with her water at all which made me feel puzzled as she simply stared at it with her blindfold.

-Is anything the matter ?

I asked her, but Sonnia shook her head and just smiled at me, finally cleaning her face with the water with an equally relieved look on her face, she even took off the blindfold letting me finally see what her eyes looked like underneath those blindfolds even though I could have used my x-ray to see it before hand, and as I observed her I came to realize that her eyes were pitch black spheres very uncomfortably so while also fitting with how [Cave Witches] usually looked like.

It made me realize why she wore the blindfold in the first place, as a [Merchant] dealing with somebody who has eyes like that would probably not put the opposing party at ease, maybe the color pallet for the blindfold which was white also came into play since it usually made others feel calm looking at white, it fit with her characteristics as well since she was completely white from head to toe, if she didn’t wear the white blindfold it would only make her look odd, in a sense she and I had something in common at least, neither of us could easily show our eyes to people without consequence.

-Ma..I mean Mr. Arthur…are you perhaps bothered by my eyes ?

I stopped my daydreaming upon her sudden question, I immediately shook my head trying to reassure her before telling her the truth.

-No, no there is no such thing, I was simply admiring since I had never seen someone with such unique eyes like yours, and as I said before don’t call me something I am not, you may have sworn yourself to me with your [Oath] but in all honesty I’d be more comfortable if you just called me by my name and treated me like your equal, plus both of you are older then me after all, if you anybody has to be respectful then it has to be me since I am still a brat to be honest..

Sonnia blinked at me for a moment in complete silence, seeming to be stumped about what I just said while Milky on the other hand was completely engrossed in cleaning herself and didn’t seem to care too much about our conversation.

I waited for several seconds before Sonnia got back to herself and comically started smiling for what seemed to be no reason in particular.

-Oh boy, I didn’t expect such situation really..hehe…excuse me if I was being too careful but ever since Milky and I came to this island there was nothing really we could forward to since we always needed to be on our guard, talking to you now I almost forgot how to casually speak with somebody since Milky is the only person I speak to normally, everyone else usually uses more vulgar or intimidating speech which is why talking to you feels like a breeze of fresh air to me Mr..I mean Arthur.

I smiled, not sure if Sonnia could catch me doing that but doing so anyways as I gave my reply with a light chuckle.

-I won’t fault you for that, this place is hell after all, I hadn’t been here for too long compared to you but I had been staying long enough to know what usually goes on up stair…in either case Sonnia, I don’t know who you are or why you are here, I won’t ask if you won’t tell me since its not important to me, but what I want to say right now is a proposition, not a order or anything as someone you swore yourself into through the use of your [Oath] but a offer which you can decline if you want to.

A slight serious air surrounded us as I continued speaking, Milky who had already finished cleaning was now fully paying attention to us when she noticed the seriousness in the air, Sonnia was also quietly listening to me not having touched her bowl at all as she wanted to hear what I was about to say.

-My offer is simple, lets work together to get out of this island, do not worry about how we are going to do this as I have a plan which won’t sacrifice any of us, a plan I am willing to share with you, furthermore the moment we get out and find safety, I promise, I will immediately release you from your [Oath] and we will go our separate ways you can use your [Contract] skill to hold me by word as well, what do you say ? Sonnia ?

There was a small silence in the air the moment I finished talking, before it was finally broken by Milky who suddenly shouted.

-Wait…you have a way to get out of this island ?!

-Milky, let me talk..

Sonnia immediately calmed the surprised Milky with her cold words, of course Milky realized that I wasn’t talking to her and kept her mouth shut afterwards, instead looking towards her friend whose expression didn’t change even when I told her I had a way to get out of this hell hole which she lived in for the past half a year, I expected as much really, convincing her was not easy and I could have made this far more easier after we got to know each other to make her believe in me some more, but I had my reasons for not doing so as I wanted to see what kind of decision she would make with the limited information she had, I wanted to know how the user of [Path Finder] made her decisions and whether or not she trusted the path that was shown to her.

I continued watching her, a full minute almost passed by until finally she opened her lips looking straight at me with a bitter smile on her face.

-My common sense and [Merchant Instinct] tells me that agreeing to you is a stupid thing to do when I don’t even know anything about you and your plan, if anyone else other then me listened to you they would obviously assume you were about to scam them, but since it is me, this becomes very different, for someone who calls themselves a brat and for someone like me who ended up in this place they were never supposed to find, it turns into a truly interesting story, honestly I am curious about who you are but I won’t ask since you won’t ask about my circumstances either, the fact that you hadn’t even abused the [Oath] once up until now even though it was so easy to do and instead gave me offer…I am beyond speechless right now and I don’t know what I am supposed to think.

-So what is your answer then ?

She became quiet again, 3 seconds in fact before immediately answering while making a thoughtful look on her face.

-What if I said no ?

-Why would you say no ? Haha !

I laughed, like a child succeeding in his prank. Sonnia too smiled finding it funny as well just for a moment before becoming serious once again.

-Well, there are many reasons as to why I would say no, the most crucial one being the fact that it is difficult for me to believe in that so called escape plan when I know absolutely nothing about it, furthermore other factors add up a lot too such as the fact that you know how to use white,gray, fire and water magic, all of the essential magic that allows you to be self sufficient, next is the fact that you had food stored in here when we arrived that wasn’t poisonous and had a [Food Buff] which tells me that there is a reliable source of food around that can be used almost indefinitely and that you are a excellent chef with a intermediate-level of [Cooking], going further the place we are in right now is a perfect hideout as well where nobody can disturb us if they don’t already know it exists before hand, it also has 2 long exits with loud entrances meaning no matter what, we get ample time to leave if we need to, finally after listening to Milky talking about you and talking to you myself, I’ve come to the conclusion that you are a reliable and trustworthy individual, and that you wouldn’t abandon us even if I said no.

I furrowed my brows at the last part, not in the slightest bit perturbed about her precise deductions as those could be easily deduced by just remembering what had happened so far and putting 2 and 2 together, only the last bit befuddled when she said I wouldn’t abandon them even if she did say no, for a moment I considered whether or not she truly understood those implications which is why I challenged them.

-What makes you think that I wouldn’t abandon you if you said no ? You don’t know anything about me other then having talked to me for a few minutes and having listened to your friend who for the record, I could have been lying to this entire time, if it wasn’t for your [Oath] I would have killed both of you without a single doubt or hesitation, in the end even you know that I need your help, if it wasn’t for that you would be completely useless to me ergo you wouldn’t be alive right now since I don’t keep useless people.

-ugh..

Milky who had been listening to our conversation this entire time flinched at my transparency, I expected her to be angry at me or something and then glare at me like she had done before when she was mad, but unexpectedly Milky didn’t do so, she merely looked sad for some reason while giving me looks that I couldn’t identify completely which for some reason made me feel bad for what I had just said.

I tried to ignore that emotion and continued to stare at Sonnia.

Sonnia hadn’t reacted to what I just said and simply smiled at me as if she had figured out something but I ignored that as well and waited for her response.

-Yes, you are very right, I don’t doubt your ruthlessness or your willingness to go through with your decision if you think it is right, its for this reason I came to trust you after all since you want something which is why you spared us, the thing is, just because I declined to help you doesn’t mean you don’t have a need for us anymore, the [Oath] which makes this entire conversation even possible is not something just anybody can use, the fact that you even got allies at all must have been a huge boon to you since now you can accelerate that plan of yours through our help even if we don’t participate in it, you basically want our support, even the most useless person can become useful if put into the right position, I would know since I am a [Merchant] who makes anything useless useful, am I not right Arthur ?

I laughed, not able to do much else but I laugh self depreciating as I lowered my head.

-You got me there Lady Sonnia, you truly can’t underestimate a [Merchant] of your caliber. I should have known a small trick like this wouldn’t be able to fool you, shame on me.

Sonnia made a charming smile hearing my honest compliment she seemed to be very amused with talking to me not that I didn’t get a kick out of this either.

-Oh please Arthur, it has been long since someone had talked with me like this I would have easily been fooled if I didn’t pay attention properly, honestly I am more surprised that someone who isn’t a [Merchant] like me is so skilled, if you were born somewhere else you would have likely become a extremely wealthy [Merchant], by the way just Sonnia is fine.

It seemed as if the conversation was now over, but truly it wasn’t, she may have seen through my foolery, but even this was under my expectation.

-Sonnia do I take it that your answer is no ?

Feeling a change in my tone, Sonnia seemed to have become a bit apprehensive about what was going to happen next but she held on without jumping the gun before replying to me.

-Sorry I am not completely sure…maybe you have something else to add ?

She probed me, laying out the bait, but that’s just what I wanted.

I raised my head, a confident smile upon my lips as I held my chin with one hand.

-Sonnia, what is your plan ? Obviously I need your help but do you really know how long I will need your help ? Eventually I will put my plan into motion and try to leave this island when that happens what are you going to do ? Come with me ? Or Stay here ?

Sonnia went quiet for a second, maybe she didn’t expect that I would ask her something like this or maybe she did expect it but simply didn’t have a good answer ready yet, whichever it was it was clear that she couldn’t answer me immediately which put her in a tough spot.

A whole minute passed by just like that, before finally Sonnia had something to say.

-Is this why…is this why you gave me a offer instead of a order ? Are you forcing me into either believing you unconditionally or reject you entirely just to see what I would say ?

She stared at me her pitch black eyes contorting into a shade of doubt which I could surprisingly see even through the darkness of her eyes, I was a bit surprised that she figured it out like that but I didn’t react not giving away anything while telling her honestly what I wanted even if it wasn’t entirely the truth.

-I just wanted your trust, sure I could have just ordered you to help me but doing so would have likely made you dislike me, if we are to work together I at least don’t want you to despise me or give you a reason to hate me, a relationship is build on trust after all if I don’t give you a choice at all how are you ever going to trust me ? I want to leave this island don’t you want that too ?

I stared at her, Milky stared at her, we both waited for her answer, but Sonnia still continued to think, thinking what she should say, even though she didn’t show it Sonnia was very much panicking within that much I could tell just by looking into her eyes and I couldn’t blame her, they had been only thinking about survival up until now, when I said I wanted to leave Sonnia probably couldn’t even imagine a way to escape this island without getting killed, she was not a fighter after all, for her living was already good enough.

-Sonnia…

Milky was starting to get worried, hearing her friend call her name in such a manner made Sonnia momentarily stop thinking and look at her, she sighed after a few seconds before turning her head back to me.

-Arthur…I don’t know what that plan of yours is going to be but judging by the way you talk it ain’t going to be in the far distance future, the only thing I have to say now is that the island is far too secured, the wardens here have their eyes in almost every place even if they aren’t present personally, the fact that we can talk here without getting caught by the wardens is just luck since this hideout and most of the sewers is being ignored since no one comes here if they don’t want to catch anything and die even more painfully, but anywhere else..if they discover your ability to cast magic you will be immediately executed by the wardens since you are not meant to be here, I don’t see any way your plan working if it doesn’t involve some kind of overwhelming force or a fool proof method.

I crossed my arms, taking in a deep breath I let out a huge sigh, all the while looking at Sonnia who didn’t budge for even a single inch, I understood where she came from when she said that escape was almost impossible with the amount of security in place.

Sonnia was being realistic after all, she was a [Merchant] a [Merchant] doesn’t gamble they look at hard facts and graphs and find a way that brings the most profits with the least losses, going against the wardens was a huge loss that almost always ended with death and while freedom was a equally huge profit if not even more profitable acquiring it was too tough.

But there was nothing I could do about it, leaving this place needs to happen and it needs to happen after exactly 1 year when the opportunity presents itself.

If I can’t catch this opportunity I would need to wait another 3 years to get the next opportunity and 3 years was a time I simply could not afford to wait for as the world won’t just stop spinning waiting for me to get out of this island.

-Sonnia I will do it with or without your help, in exactly 1 year I will attempt escape and you know what ?

-What ?

She asked, her tone a bit more tired then before as she looked at me with a hard look on her face and slumped shoulders, I almost started to forget how she called me Master~ so energetically this morning, comparing her now was like comparing apples to oranges, no similarities at all, but at least it seemed as if she was more relaxed around me, if she could already show a side like this in front of me then it meant at least she trusted me a little bit meaning I could still convince her.

I smiled.

-I will succeed, I will and the only thing I want to know from you, will you come with me ? Will you trust me ? Or at the very least trust the path you were shown ?

-Eh ?

Sonnia twitched when she heard my last line she was surprised briefly before quickly trying to put herself back in order, she glared at me almost as if threatening me to tell her what I meant with my last line but I kept mum only adding to her frustration.

Its at this time that Milky finally couldn’t hold back any longer and opened her mouth to us.

-Sonnia…how about we go with Arthur ?

-Milky..what are you saying ?! Didn’t you listen to what I just said ! If we try to escape we are almost assured to get caught and killed !

-But…Sonnia don’t you remember how we lived for the past 6 months ? If it wasn’t for meeting Arthur you would have without a doubt died, its only because of Arthur who knows magic that we can even continue on living and since Arthur is going to attempt escape a year later anyways, aren’t we going to end up in the exact same situation as yesterday after 6 months but this time without Arthur to help us ? The way I see it no matter what we do we die,but if we try to escape at the very least we have a chance to live..no ?

-…

Sonnia couldn’t retort, she knew after all that Milky was right, it was only because of me that these 2 had survived if I hadn’t been here they would absolutely perished from sickness.

I turned towards Milky.

-Milky are you going to help me ?

Sonnia looked a bit surprised when I asked Milky, she even seemed a bit more paler then before as she turned her head towards her friend seeming uneasy which was the first time I had seen her like this so far, unfortunately for me and fortunately for Sonnia, Milky immediately shook head at me before saying.

-No, I will do what Sonnia decides to do, I am sorry Arthur but if Sonnia decides to stay I will also stay, I won’t leave Sonnia behind no matter what, if she dies I will also die its as simple as that, but don’t worry it doesn’t mean I don’t trust you Arthur I think that going with you Sonnia and I will be able to survive, in the end I am sure things will be fine if we just work together !

I could help but laugh at her confidence, Sonnia seemed to also find it funny as we both laughed at the starry eyed Milky or better yet Milky way.

-You sound like the heroine of adventure novel haha.

-Yeah, Milky I didn’t know you could say stuff like that thats so not like you !

-Hey ! I am not stupid even I know a few good lines, I didn’t travel with you and listen to you for nothing after all !

We continued to laugh and play jokes with each other, even though I was old inside, my young body seemed to naturally fit in with others making me feel even young inside.

Though eventually this laughter could only last for so much, after we got our fill it was time to make a decision, Sonnia didn’t dawdle anymore either as she told it to me straight after only a brief respite.

-Alright, you win, I will help you escape this island together, but only under one condition.

I looked at her in a puzzling manner, not sure what her condition was going to be but happy that she accepted anyways.

-Sure what is your condition ? I hope its not too tough though.

I stretched my hand out, Sonnia did the same hold my hand as I felt her rough skin overlap my own.

I could see Sonnia smiling teasingly for a second before she turned it back into a ordinary smile.

-Good, my condition is simple, let me call you master until we leave this island safely.

I was confused for a moment, my eyes slightly going wide before I asked.

-And why exactly would you do that ?

Sonnia giggled looking at me meaningfully with her blind eyes.

-No reason, I just thought that it would be interesting for once and I don’t think I would mind calling you my master for a brief time since we are in a [Oath] after all and I am your slave.

I shook my head in exasperation.

-So you just want to role play is that it !

-Hahaha !

Things were about to get rowdy, I could feel it.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, Kings Glaive. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment