Chapter 169 Job Well Done

Need to get onto the groove summer break is right around the corner !

============================================================

The <Dragon Roar> I used was the biggest and loudest yet to come out of my throat,the shock wave even shook inside my neck for a few moments making me feel as if I was being strangled,but because my throat had had changed to encompass the strength of the roar it wasn’t too bad,but still hurt like hell.

My eyes were directly facing the front the entire time meeting the basilisk head on,but what was a clear vision of this giant serpent turned into a curtain of pure dust instead,combined with the overwhelming charge of the basilisk and my <Dragon Roar>the earth beneath us literally broke and flew into the sky creating a little shroom of dust making it unclear where the basilisk was standing ad because there was no sound of anything moving,it made it that much more harder to see clearly.

My hands were firmly gripped onto the surface of the big egg the entire time my finger tips covered with frost so close to be released at any second to shatter the egg into oblivion.

My forehead sweating intensely at the same time with no clue what was about to happen or if my plan worked even Wylniva who was usually extremely calm at all situations showed intense amount of fear shaking tremendously while hugging me tightly from behind with those voluptuous balls of hers pressing onto my back tightly as if trying to squeeze me to death and even though it felt like heaven falling down on me,I didn’t have time to enjoy any of it and just simply kept my eyes wide open refusing to close them even when dust clearly swept into these sockets making me burn with no end.

I couldn’t afford to be careless not now when it counted the most.

I thought to myself and just as I was thinking like this I felt brief wisp of air lightly brushing down my cheek,that simple air was also followed by the smell of strong blood and smelling it I could immediately tell that it was so close that I could even touch it,if I just stretched my hand out.

Not that I was about to do so,since I didn’t want to lose my hand after all.

I smiled,not sure if I should be feeling blessed,lucky or terrified at this moment,but that wasn’t my concern really my main concern didn’t even start yet.

-Who knew ? Snakes aren’t as cold blooded as I thought them to be…

I said not trying to excessively mock while keep my face straight as I raised my head for a second and into the dusty curtain of dirt,the words that came out off my mouth were sharp hisses and slithers at first those words seemed as if they weren’t talking to nobdoy in particular,but soon enough another pair of slithers accompanied my own making the pathetic sounds that I called hisses go to deep shame in comparison to this native speaker.

-You speak my tongue…very surprising indeed little lord much more surprising even after listening to your amusing attempt to whelp like a dragon,fufufufu

The voice was like a sharp knife,for a moment I felt as I was about to get cut and teared apart by it,but I quickly regressed keeping myself tense as I held the egg further into my palm listening to the belittling tone of this snake,my head never changing as the dust curtain finally started to settle down some more,revealing the strikingly blood red eyes of the basilisk in front of me,its statue easily towering over the large tree we stood in as those dark green scales of hers covered her entire body like armor slightly muddied by the dust that came down.

I kept on smiling,not because I saw anything funny rather because I was terrified out of my mind and couldn’t figure out what kind of expression to make,the way she played it out was questionable and while my head was clear as the surface of a clean pond the pouring feeling of my cold sweat spoke otherwise.

-You know first of all,I ain’t a little lord,but a <High Lord> second of all we both know why you stopped so suddenly,it is for sure not because you were surprised by my linguistic talent,but rather because of the egg that I am holding ain’t it ?

I said mockingly,almost too provocative,but it couldn’t be helped since the basilisk wasn’t going yield just so easily with the current circumstances at hand,even she didn’t look like it,the basilisk from what I could tell was easily smarter then any magic beast I had seen so far,its initial rage must have looked savage and mindless,but snakes are by nature cunning and deceitful they wouldn’t so easily succumb towards something like rage to muddle their senses and decision making a predator keeps its head cool at all times the only reason she even put out such image was to lower morale and strike fear into its preys heart,but when truly everything she did was calculated and precise to strike like the malicious snake she was.

The basilisk,didn’t react to my words all too much there wasn’t a shred of change in her expression either since she was a snake,but her not react or moving was also sign that indicated that she knew throughly what I was inquiring at with her ever lasting presence putting more pressure as time went on.

I couldn’t get overwhelmed no matter what,I won’t be able to keep up with her if that would happen,this wasn’t a fight of strength nor smarts…

It was a fight of who dared to do what and what kind of consequences would follow for the loosing party strength didn’t matter in this kind of fight what mattered was how much either side would be willing to sacrifice in order to win which the golden princess obviously lacked which is why she gave up the egg in the first place.

And for sure.

I knew what I was doing and I also knew that this was one of the most craziest ideas that I could have possibly come up with trying to bargain with a basilisk,but at the current situation I couldn’t find any other way,but this to solve the problem.

Throwing the egg wasn’t the right choice because it wouldn’t assure the basilisk from going away or stop chasing us,it could as well just carry the egg and continue chasing us until we tire out even if we were capable of shaking it off since we didn’t have the tracker on us anymore it was still not the smart thing to do since we would go under the risk of tiring before the basilisk would be shaken off.

No rather then throwing away the only leverage we had towards the basilisk it was better to use it like this as a hostage.

Of course things could have gone south very quickly if it turned out that the basilisk mother didn’t even care about her own child,but looking at her now it was very different.

Her blood red eyes were always connected to my own,but that was only what it seemed deep down I could clearly see that it wasn’t me that she was looking at,but the egg the entire time,more specifically the heavy frost that covered the tips of my fingers gripping the egg.

Deep down in those blood red eyes,I saw a small light of a caring mother looking at her child fearfully she did well masking it with her murderous intent and rage,but I was still able to figure out her true feelings even if it was a bit too late.

(Tsssss!)

Suddenly the tips of my fingers started to steam the eroding cold of the steam was very sharp to the ears and upon seeing the cold steam the basilisk quickly grew anxious much more so after seeing my fingers glazing over the top of the egg of hers slowly inching closer.

-STOOOOOP !?

I stopped.Immediately upon hearing her vicious cry the eroding steam on my fingers ceased to exist the basilisk was furious the look in her eyes the anger and rage that was accumulated must have tripled…no quadrupled by quantity as she stared at me deathly ready to bite me to death and drink my blood,her previous rage and anger couldn’t trump her current state which was that of absolute horror this wasn’t the wrath of a angry beast.

It was the wrath of a angry mother and what was worse,she also knew that she couldn’t do anything,the fight was over the moment she cried telling me to stop and we both knew that.

For a moment both me and the basilisk stood like two statues staring at each other appraisingly even though it was clear that I had the upper hand neither of us lowered our guard,looking at the basilisk I could tell that she was considering her own options,but in the end after a small consideration he red eyes quickly dimmed down as she came down to my head level in a more considered way.

-What do you want little lord ?!

The basilisk hissed rapidly coming to the point as she seemed have also realized that she had no other choice,but to follow my demands,after all I had her child and in all honesty I wasn’t proud of threatening a woman with her child even if she is a giant serpent,but I also wanted to live and keep everyone else safe a giant vengeful serpent wasn’t going to make this wish come true by a long shot if we still wanted to live in this forest.

-I am glad that we came to an common ground…

I smiled,speaking mildly as the most hardest point seemed to have been overcome with it a heavy burdened released from my shoulders into thin air a pleasant sigh escaping my lips too.

===========================================================

-Wylniva ? Wylniva hey snap out !

-Ehh..Lord sorron ?

Wylniva spoke a bit confused as she looked at me with a wondering look in her eyes,my hands firmly gripped onto her shoulders shaking her,she had been this way since we landed on the tree,her grip was really hard to escape from in the beginning.

But after a few little shakes I quickly was able to get away and bring her back again from her fearful state,she may not have been hit by the terrifying eyes of the basilisk,but the fear she felt from the basilisk wasn’t less then the actually effect of those harmful eyes either.

Upon getting back to herself wylniva immediately remember what happened and quickly started to look around again nervously,obviously looking for the giant basilisk that was chasing us.

But upon studying her surroundings she quickly came to the realization that the basilisk was gone without a trace and with it was the egg that we had vanished into thin air,for a moment wylniva couldn’t believe what was happening the face she made looked completely off hand and was the most surprised I had ever seen her so far.

-The basilisk is gone,it won’t come back again don’t worry

I quickly explained,smiling reassuringly as I patted wylniva’s head for a moment trying to calm her down,it was a bit unusual to do this to wylniva since she would always act,high and mighty,but because I was used to doing this with the other girls to calm them down or spoil them,I couldn’t help but do it out of reflex and I felt like wylniva needed it too at this moment so she wouldn’t get completely overwhelmed with what was going on.

-Lord sorron…

Wylniva lightly said,surprised and with a bit of emotion too,she obviously had many questions regarding this incident,but after getting patting like this out of nowhere,she seemed to have momentarily forgotten to really ask questions and instead lost herself to my touch calming down quiet a lot as her feelings started to settle down again not completely,but it was a start.

Wylniva’s emotions were pretty much a mess at this point,seeing her distressed wasn’t very pleasant which is why I wanted to calm her,but still unexpectedly cute nonetheless even with her demonic hideous change that gave her black eyes and rougher darker skin which I didn’t mind all too much,the transformation itself also quickly reverted itself as I continued to pat her until finally she turned back into her seductive and beautiful self that she was and my eyes were familiar with.

-Hmmm….

Feeling my warm hand rubbing the top of her head wylniva slowly started to purr in a very enjoyable fashion it was the first time she did that since I don’t touch her don’t often anyways,even her heart that was once beating furiously now cooled down magnificently as if feeding off the warmth I was giving to her,her feelings also quickly transformed as love and happiness sprang forth between our bond giving me a fluffy feeling inside.

After another few seconds wylniva didn’t seem to be able to control herself anymore the heat in her eyes getting all too much to handle for her as she tightly embraced me all of a sudden and shivering for a bit while doing so,nuzzling her head into my neck for comfort and even though I couldn’t see it I heard and felt droplets of tears coming down her eyes and onto my neck wetting my collar that was drenched with my cold sweat.

Her hug was surprising,but I didn’t reject it and also gave it back strongly with care and the utmost gentleness I could muster as if I was holding one of the girls myself while also lightly scolding myself for letting something like this happen.

-Uhh…I think I expected too much from her…

I thought to myself feeling bad for getting her into such a risky situation,but also glad that she was with me here after all even if she wasn’t a big help.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, The Fragile Monster Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chapter 169 Job Well Done

  1. ryouha26 says:

    And I thought we would be getting a Basilisk harem member…

    Thnx for the chappy~ Nanodesu~

    Like

  2. rasec135 says:

    Thanks for the chapter

    Like

  3. Black Dragon says:

    Thx for the chapter.

    I am really curious about the talk between the Mc and the basilisk-mother, but I guess it will be rewealed at a later time.

    None the less, nice.

    And who saies there is no basilisk for the harem? Something is telling me, that the egg wasn’t given back, without a safety-massure… Otherwise nothing would have stopped the mother to trample the MC AFTER he gave the egg back.

    Well, well… So many new routes for development…Can’t help but hope, the intervall between the chapters will shorten again.

    Please continue!!!

    Like

  4. mindigo10 says:

    Thx o/ for the chapter \o/

    Like

  5. Hudson Hicks says:

    is it wrong to want faster updates

    Like

Leave a comment