Chapter 166 A True Idiot

-Ughhh….I really am a complete idiot…

I grumbled to myself feeling very unfortunate at the moment as I felt cold sweat running down my cheek and into my neck line,the chill that come from this sensation made my heart tremble for a moment not because it was cold,but because I felt fear from what I was blocking right now with my two cold hands.

(WRAGHHHHHH)

The basilisk roared,with its terrifying roar a huge gust started to come forth as it started to thrash its body onto the giant wall of ice that I had summoned to stop its advances,each strike from its humongous tail was like a huge wave of cold chilling water crashing onto my naked body trying to break me down,and each time it happened my mind would temporarily go blank,but only for a split second until I would stabilize again keeping my head tight and jaws clenched ready for the next hit.

You might ask,how did I end up in this situation ?

And honestly said,I don’t really know,I knew that I had ordered wylniva and red hawk to fly as fast as they could and reach this place before the basilisk would come first,I watched everything that was happening from the sky and as we sped up catching up to the basilisk chasing the beastmen…

My mind suddenly went blank,it wasn’t one of those normal blanks rather I was still conscious of everything I was doing,but I couldn’t control everything that I was doing my reflexes for some reasons riled up intensely and at the very next moment I found myself jumping off red hawks back and diving down to the ground in a very suicidal manner,my fear of heights had suddenly gone all out of the window which was replaced by pure determination for something that I couldn’t even realize until I was down at the ground.

That reason you may ask ?

Blondy.

Originally I wasn’t planning on meeting this giant snake or even cross its way the beastmen who had stolen its egg were the only target the basilisk had ever in mind I had thought of letting it stay this way and just simply travel towards glasses girl’s camp and warn her group so they could escape from its impending wrath neither the basilisk nor the beastman that stole the egg had any spot on this plan the whole time,I only wanted to help an ally I couldn’t have cared less whether or not they would end up dead or alive my priorities were only set onto my people and the ones that were connected to us in a way sacrificing yourself for someone you don’t even know is ridiculous to begin with….so once again the question is ?

Why am I here ? And the answer to that as I said at the beginning is…

1.I am a complete idiot and 2.Blondy.

Lets push away the idiot part for a moment and concentrate on the second point,blondy is one of my companions someone who is also in fact contracted to me and has a transmission link connected to me like the other girls and beasts she did this contract for the sake of being able to communicate with me and to help everyone in her group the contract requires absolute loyalty from the subject to be useful and without a word it is very surprising to say that blondy somehow had met this requirement,I had thought of this strange event and concluded that she indeed had loyalty,but not the sort of loyalty that comes from a king to a servant,a lover to a lover or a man to his pride,but a loyalty that comes from a friend to a friend which the emblem seems to be approving of in the end.

The only difference between her and the girls is that she is a human coming from earth just like me set into this mess of a world with no other way,but to fight and survive.

We have similarities,but that is as much as they come,blondy as I know her has another very different trait from what makes her almost unique even,but sometimes very much annoying.

In short,blondy is quite soft hearted.

She is unnecessarily kind and forgiving she is also a bit air headed even though she is clearly smart to a technical degree compared to her other aspects,but that still doesn’t make her outright dumb as she also has at least some amount of caution that was built into her since coming here.

I had talked with her on numerous occasions involving exchanging messages or just plain simply chit chatting,I call her blondy because she has exceptional lustrous long blond hair that goes down to her back,another reason why I call her that is also for the sake of simplicity.

Now…

Don’t get me wrong,I didn’t give her a nickname because I couldn’t remember her name rather I gave her that nickname for a more different reason then you might expect which to be honest can be a bit too disturbing if I had to say it.

After all at the very beginning when I met her,I never expected her or her friends to ever live this through…

Yes,it is my honest opinion it may sound cruel,but I already had other worries in my way then to attach importance to a name that I may as well never hear again just the next day,it is stupid in fact because I didn’t need people to grab onto my ankles either and slow me down,I was more then satisfied being alone then to deal with other humans even if they were useful in some way without order and control they were nothing more then heavy weight to me.

Which is another reason why I decided to stick to the monsters instead,after all controlling them was more easier then a human they weren’t as easily corrupted or swayed by desire and even though what I am saying may sound a bit too contradictory when sticking this to the girls,I still found it way easier to deal with them then to deal with humans they were honest after all if they wanted something or if they were displeased at something,they would never hide it outright they had nothing to hide which made our bond so much more stronger then the bond I could ever make with a human.

Our differences make us learn from each other this learning curve also makes us stronger and more connected it isn’t until now that I realized such a crucial point since being a <Monster Lord> that I knew how to really understand someone or something without being exactly in their shoes.

The same goes to blondy.

I had seen her cry and face despair as she would often switch towards her helpless self when cornered,she is a quite useless girl if she would live on earth on her own I can’t even imagine what she would do to survive with her kind of empathy any person would exploit her until nothing was left,in what kind of family did she live to end up like this a very rich one indeed,but not spoiled to the very core to curse or complain at everything that happens around her.

I couldn’t understand,I didn’t want to understand either,I would rather cut myself and feel the excruciating pain with my body for an entire life time rather then to try to understand this sort of unreasonable trait that was completely useless in my opinion…

But once again…

This wasn’t all what I truly thought about.

Even though she is like this,even I can’t be mad at someone without knowing them throughly being an idiot isn’t a sin without idiots in my previous world I doubt that wars would have ever ended,I doubt that anyone would have stood up for what is right and helped those in need,I doubt that true peace could have been ever made through this.

Yes…a true idiot is someone who does such a think someone so brain dead they don’t even understand that what they are doing is never going to help them.

-And now…I am such a idiot

I giggled to myself almost ironically as I felt my lips curling up into a foolish grin my hands shaking in a fearful manner as I desperately tried to keep them raised concentrating fully onto the giant wall of ice that was in front of me listening to the massive strikes the basilisk was throwing at the wall.

Pash,Push,Tsish…

Each time it would strike,the wall would crack I would always renew it again healing the cracks and reinforcing it again,but still I knew it wouldn’t last long this was only prolonging the inevitable so much so making the dire situation even more dire as it was.

My ears felt numb the sound that the basilisk was making was intense I almost couldn’t hear what was happening from behind neither could I turn around to see as I feared that even one second of distraction could cost us our lives…

But at the same time standing here wasn’t doing much either was it ?

Was I now going to die ? For real ?

I wondered,is this really how it was going to end now ? How come every time I am about to die it is always for someone else’s sake ? Is this a joke ?

I thought to myself,my eyes starting to go hollow as I felt the weight of actions slowly rising into my heart even though I couldn’t feel cold I still felt the impending cold touch of death slowly coming up my shoulder.

No plan was now going to save me now even my life saving skill <Like A Beast> wasn’t going to endure the damage the basilisk would deal to me upon breaking the wall wylniva and red hawk were also probably too far off to respond properly and concerning the beastmen…I don’t know about them,but they probably already escaped at this moment after all I would do the same if I was them since I still wouldn’t able to do anything even at this moment other then stalling which was going to do nothing.

Now,do I feel any sort of regret or anger doing this ? Shouldn’t I be somewhat mad to someone for ending up like this like the beastman or blondy for dragging me into this ?

No,because I already knew it was all my decision.

-WATCH OUT THE WALL IS BREAKING !

Someone shouted out the language new to me ears as my skill <Tongue Of The World> started translating it to me hearing the voice made me slightly surprised as I immediately was informed that the beastmen didn’t run after all.

But even knowing that wasn’t any more important and just as she had said the ice wall that I created broken.

(BOOM)

With a sonic slam the robust ice wall shattered instantly as a gaping wide hole appeared in its center,both my hands and legs had already been tressed to their maximum that was my magic I felt the excruciating burn of the mana burn swallowing my soul as paralysis was starting to take over with my finally kneeling down both hands flopping over my thighs as I watched shards of the ice flying past my head missing me by a hairs breath not killing me instantly with a concussion instead.

I didn’t know what kind of expression I was making,but I could say it wasn’t a good one watching the wall break down in front of me was like having my mind break down and soon enough the silhouette of the basilisk showed itself with its enraged red eyes directly looking into my own,I had nothing to worry about looking into its eyes as my racial skill hindered it from causing me any sort of harm,but even then it still wasn’t less scary I could literally see this beast imaging me going down its giant throat for a snack…

It was all over.

I thought to myself,tightly shutting my eyes as I accepted this fate,the basilisk also didn’t wait instantly pouncing from its position as it perfectly jumped through the large gaping hole that it made with its tail precisely heading towards me with a gaping mouth that showed its razor sharp teeth.

But suddenly…just before the basilisk was about to eat me whole a small voice could be heard coming from my back with it a warm feeling rushing through me as I felt someone touching me from the back as if giving me energy and just as the feeling came the small voice finished its sentence.

-<Reflecting Light>

 

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, The Fragile Monster Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chapter 166 A True Idiot

  1. ryouha26 says:

    Is it one of the humans? Is it the beastmen? Is it Wylniva?

    Demn cliffs are too high…

    Thnx for the chappy~ Nanodesu~

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pyro says:

    Ooh did Blondy go full Paladin & Bubble with the MC to prevent Damage?

    Like

  3. Black Dragon says:

    Yeha! New Chapter!!!

    I am looking forward towards the Basilisk-Battle!

    Like

Leave a comment