Chapter 165 Night Out

-It seems like we were already been noticed,it was somewhat expected,but they aren’t half bad after all…

Wylniva said and just like me immediately noticed the face of the golden haired beast girl turning towards us as we kept flying forward within a wide moderate range from one another,I was also a bit surprised that she would look at us from such distance the name beastman wasn’t just for show thats for sure,they really had the abilities and instincts of beasts one of which was keen sense of detection it was my fault to assume that they wouldn’t notice us just because they were concentrated on the basilisk,but that wasn’t it what bothered me the most was the direction she was looking at…

For a split second,I could swear that she was looking directly into my eyes her intense stare was sharply engraved onto my mind,her sunny golden eyes meeting own icy blue made me feel slightly more warmer,of course to be able to do something like this seemed just too silly maybe just my imagination kicking in out of nowhere,but I knew better and I also very much knew the intent behind those eyes.

She wanted us to help them.

It was obvious of course and as obvious it was I also already knew my own answer to this question and even though I knew what to do I still felt a light string of guilt pulling my heart,it was a strange contradictory kind of feeling that also made my lips move on their own as I muttered in a contemplating tone to myself.

-Should I at least try ?

The question in on itself was foolish to even contemplate,my main reasons to not interfere in this chase was because I didn’t want this basilisk to change targets or have a grudge against me,the only reason I even thought about this question was because there was something shitty about seeing someone die in front of you when you obviously could have done something to hinder it.

It pulls at your heart strings and makes you feel responsible for the cause,one of the reasons why I even wanted to pass without being spotted by them was because I didn’t want to get involved with them and feel this responsibility,even frost wing reminding me of this fact when we were about to leave,but I was still me after all my nature just doesn’t change over the course of a single sentence I could learn from mistakes,but not from words alone,of course I could be decisive and cold and look the other way it was their fault after all making me feel guilty isn’t going to do anything you alone are responsible for what you do,thats the rule of the forest.

I can’t say that being ignorant is something wrong or right,but I know that if I want to keep the ones important to me alive,I have to look the other way and not look back.

My muttering wasn’t only heard by me alone wylniva who was flying by my side whistling in the wind also heard these faint words of mine she was a succubus after all a strong monster indeed she wouldn’t overhear me even if we were 10 meters away from each other her sense of perception was just too great,it makes it one of these aspects alone that makes her quite more capable compared to the other girls she had a variety of strong points not only centered around one aspect knowledge and experience surpassing the girls.

But this time I really would have preferred it if she just simply didn’t hear this foolish remark of mine her eyes instantly turning towards me as she was expecting me to say something else,but I kept quiet not moving my eyes nor showing any sign of yielding as we continued flying forward at fast pace.

I was going to let it happen,I didn’t want this basilisk to change targets it was a race it took more then a simple head swing and puppy eyes to change my mind.

Realizing that I wasn’t going to say anything wylniva put her eyes back forward at first it seemed as if she was done with her little interest,but at the next moment it changed.

-My lord I understand your reasoning even you wouldn’t be entirely heartless me being alive proofs this,even in front of a stranger or an enemy you at least show some amount of humility a humility that I can honestly respect and a decisiveness that lets me chose you without a second thought,saving someone is not a bad thing it only becomes bad when you do it the wrong way or for the wrong intentions a succubus like me who always seeks profit for something isn’t going to simply save these people for her own demise at risk,but its for someone else entirely giving a hand isn’t out of question even for me…

She said her voice crystal clear as if the whistling wind wasn’t even present giving music to my ears,and for the first time I looked at wylniva to my side my eyes wide like never before,her jet black hair fluttering in the wind showing her entire beautiful face her red eyes that lightly sparkled with a dark tone and her leathery robust wings coming off her back letting her glide.

Wylniva was always mysterious,her mannerism was that of someone calm at all times cool in fact always seeming as if she would never lose her cool speaking in cryptic words and sentences that sometimes didn’t make sense or were only there to insult somebody,but at times like these I really couldn’t understand her.

Why are you even her with me ? What is your reason for following me ?

These kind of questions would pop up,her reason for coming with me was always lack luster she just wanted to know she was hungry for knowledge,but why me ?

I wanted to ask,but couldn’t as I already knew wylniva’s answer to that.

“Its because your more interesting”.

She would say and then get us back to square one again,I only hope that interest would be satisfied one day,since I wasn’t sure if I could always keep my promise with the girls and hold back.

I thought quite indecently once again choosing to keep silent as I kept my head forward feeling the wind brushing past me,her words were easy to understand she basically meant “if you go I come too” a very bold statement that I didn’t know if it was true or not as my decision was still firm at place.

-We aren’t interfering ignore them,since we are already been spotted just fly over them its faster this way

I ordered no longer caring to be spotted as both wylniva and red hawk understood and started to change their course somewhat,at the moment I was a bit stone faced,I couldn’t see wylniva’s expression,but knowing her she was most probably holding a grin.

-Huh ? My lord it seems like these aren’t the only visitors today…

Wylniva suddenly interjected just as we began to speed up her words stroke another bell of surprise to my ears,following her gaze and looking forward I couldn’t quite see at first what she was talking about only after a few more seconds of closing in did something catch my eyes and that something was also extremely familiar making me immediately tense up as I saw the beastmen and the basilisk directly heading towards it.

-She isn’t a visitor she lives here…

I lightly remarked almost growling with a hard face,this time making wylniva surprised instead as she saw the look on my face immediately knowing what was about to happen as I shouted out to both of them.

-FLY FASTER WE HAVE TO GET THERE BEFORE THEY REACH HER !

My shout somewhere midway turned into a somewhat panicked roar my eyes at the moment were only looking at her and her long blond hair as she laid on the ground unconscious and lightly bleeding from her head.

Neither wylniva nor red hawk knew what was happening neither of them questioned why we were going faster nor who the girl was the only who knew was me and it wasn’t very pleasant as you can imagine.

-Blondy you….

The situation was just starting to get worse.

============================Sarah’s P.O.V================================

3 Hours ago

-Hey sarah…sarah…please wake up..

Someone whispered,it was very dark at the moment my eyes were shut tight and I was in the mids of sleeping,trying to recover from my long night stand guarding the place outside,it wasn’t actually my turn to take night guard,but because I liked to star gaze I exchanged with someone my duties no one other then me really liked to stand at night so it was very well welcomed from anyone.I also got to speak with sorron which was another plus.

-Ughh…what is it morning already ?

I lightly groaned still half asleep as I tried to wake up some more,my body was a bit stiff and I still felt a bit exhausted,for a moment I felt as if there hadn’t been a lot of time that had passed since I had gone asleep.

And I was right.

-Sarah please…we need you right now something just happened…

Once again I felt very much confused,the voice was very recognizable as it was lily someone who had joined us a few days ago she was originally in steven’s group,but later after what happened there with us and sorron we decided to team up,she was one of the new girls that I became friends with originally I was taking care of her and a few other girls that suffered from the abuse that had been caused by steven and his guys she didn’t tell me what really happened,but even I didn’t need to ask to know what happened…

Hearing her slightly panicked voice made me sober up some more,quickly looking up to see what was going on I finally met face to face with lily who kneeling next to me with her hands tightly locked together on her thighs quivering,my eyes were a bit blurry which is why I started rub them while glancing at her and the entrance thinking loosely.

It was still dark…it wasn’t morning ? What is happening ?

I started to get suspicious normally waking up at night wouldn’t happen if it wasn’t important and if I recall correctly lily and gary were supposed to replace me and valera why was she here to begin with ?

I thought very puzzled and intrigued and just as I looked back at lily I suddenly realized.

Her expression,she looked back at lily I saw her worried and scared,it seemed as if she was just about to cry which surprised me,swiftly looking around I also noticed that everyone else was still asleep no,one was waking up from our little conversation because everyone was too tired to wake up from their sleep even janet was snoring off into her dream fully embracing her fur mat.

-What are you doing here ?

I immediately whispering just like her starting to get a bit more worried about lily who was sitting in front of me,I wasn’t quick to conclusions yet one of the reasons is because lily had done this before waking up late at night asking me for talk with her or if she could sleep with me feeling too scared to sleep on her own because of a bad dream,at the moment I simply thought it was the same thing,but at her now for some reason I knew it was different.

Lily seemed a bit hesitant at first and struggled to speak showing an awkward look on her face,I was patient and let her calm down for a second,but just as she was about to speak again another voice spoke up instead.

-A few minutes ago sophia and terry walked out of the base and disappeared…

I moved my head to the right following the sound of the voice as I finally noticed someone standing next to the wall looking closer it took me only a few seconds to realize it was gary who was leaning on the stone wall,I hadn’t noticed him at first most likely because of his class which was stealth oriented his appearance also kinda surprised me since guys weren’t usually allowed in this part of the cave late at night and on another note he was also the other night guard together with lily who clearly weren’t doing their duties today…

-What !? What do you mean by they disappeared ?!

-Shh !

-Shh !

Both gary and lily quickly shut my mouth to keep my quiet they didn’t want anyone to wake up it seems,I couldn’t know why as the situation seemed to have gotten serious,but even though I had spoke so loudly still no one was waking up from it.

I wanted to talk and shout really,but because lily and gary were blocking I couldn’t voice anything after a few seconds gary quickly came to decision and inched closer his face visibly showing the same amount of worry and panic as lily as he spoke to me in a whisper.

-Okay I explain already,but please keep quiet I really don’t want to make this a scene its bad as it is,but maybe we can resolve it..

Gary pleaded,lily who was sitting next to him also nodded up and down looking at me with a sorry look on her face,seeing them like this made me a bit more reasonable not that I was quite calm just yet,I only thought that listening was alright and that they were right.

I nodded.

-Cool…now let me explain…

-You better..

I said now listening to him as he told me the events that had transpired a few minutes ago and after listening to it my eyes couldn’t help,but constrict into tiny dots.

Its seems like sophia and terry had left the base,leaving the base at night is strictly forbidden the forest in particular is full of dangerous creatures especially at night everyone knew that and normally no one would ever dream to get out even at day time,but what was even more idiotic is that the way they got out.

-You let them get out ?!

I almost shouted again lily and gary also quickly proceeded to block my mouth so I wouldn’t get any louder,hearing my accusing remark they both also showed a look of guilt and shame especially shame.

-Look…terry said that he just wanted to take a piss alright ? He didn’t want to do it here because he didn’t want to bother anyone,I believed in him so I let him out real quick…

-Sophia also said that she forgot something outside very close by she said that she couldn’t sleep without it and that she needed to get it no matter what because she said it was close I thought it would happen very quickly so I let her sneak out….

They explained neither giving the best defense as they both knew that the reasons were far too idiotic to really let pass without telling janet nonetheless…

I sighed…looking to my left I stared at the space where janet was sleeping her face indicated that she seemed to be having a pretty good dream…

She wasn’t going to like this.

 

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, The Fragile Monster Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chapter 165 Night Out

  1. its been so long your so mean T.T

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wrightblood says:

    Yay! Beastgirl, GET! Harem +1!
    Thnx for the chapter!

    Like

  3. Black Dragon says:

    Mean, indeed…
    And I was wondering why Blondi did not answer the MC calls… that it would lead to a reason to confront the basilisk was rather… Unexpected?

    Like

  4. vtkun says:

    thanks for the chapter /o/o/o/o/

    Like

  5. supremeradra says:

    I’ve been starved on this. Suffering serious story withdrawal

    Like

  6. mukkaar says:

    Oh man like this novel so much. Yay more harem! xD

    Like

  7. Greenthorn says:

    One day we will get more but that is not today

    Like

Leave a comment