Chapter 139 The Flow Of The Situation

The sudden call had me hanging there for a few seconds trying to figure out what the slime was talking about and in the next moment I quickly got back to myself and swiftly connected with one of the slimes using its vision to see what was going on right now.

My vision instantly changed the position I was currently at was distinctively above a tree looking over a plain wide field of grass and flowers,it looked peaceful and beautiful,but that beauty was only temporarily as smoke started to rise high up into the sky…

Feeling the distance between me and the slimes I already guessed that they were very far away maybe 70 to 80 kms already trying to scout the other side of the forest since they couldn’t go into the core zone without getting killed their current numbers were between 600 to 700 the original over 1000 slimes had only suffered 300 by number over the course of days most of which had been killed inside the core zone while others picked off by random beasts who either didn’t like the look of the slimes or simply felt like toying with them as dummies either way their work was very good and the most significant advantage I had right now with the lot of information the slimes gave me with the happening of the forest including this…

A army…it was indeed as the slime informed me of an army of monsters heading to the east their location was very far from us which I was glad about since I really didn’t want to cross paths with this army of monsters.

(Bang)

The grass they were walking on instantly shook and flattened over the marches of these beasts who ranched from all kinds of races from chicken like raptors to on eyed giants and ogres there were even goblins and hobgoblins mixed into the stow and there weren’t only land walking beasts either,harpies and giants bats flew carrying something that looked like cargo on their backs or either hung on their waists the giants also carried such supplies as of they were using a backpack as if they were moving somewhere,the number of this army just looked incredibly intimidating,I couldn’t even estimate of how big it was since the march was still continuing without an end with many kinds of vicious beasts walking by making the once beautiful plan field turn into a trampled piece of flat ground the trees that were coming in the way were evenly just pushed over as if they were nothing…very terrifying indeed making me also feel relieved that they weren’t anywhere near me.

Seeing this huge army I couldn’t help,but immediately think of what was happening right now,usually monsters like these can’t even stand each other without getting into a fight or turning it into a brawl,but looking at these monsters closely I realized that their facial expression just looked plain….dead ?

No,they weren’t dead I could at least tell that much since I could still see the intelligent glint in their eyes which was also followed by a expression of sorrow and pain that seemed oddly disturbing as if they were being controlled rather then that following orders oddly enough there was also not a single sound emitting from any of these monsters not even a single word or a growl only breathing.

-What is going on ?

I felt worried my stomach also didn’t feel good giving me a very bad premonition of the current happening inside this forest and clearly that showed in my facial expression as I felt a touch on my shoulder making me jump and also cut off the connection between the slime and show the roasting the meat in front of me that was already smoking black !?

-Lord sorron is everything alright ?

Surprisingly it was wylniva who had pulled me out of the connection she looked a bit concerned when facing me the other girls were evenly as alarmed most probably because I stood here for about a few minutes without even doing anything and letting the meat burn into a black crisp.

I smiled wryly feeling a bit awkward,I quickly tried to take the meat away so it wouldn’t burn any longer my mind had been very misplaced so I didn’t realize my mistaken until I actually felt it.

-Awrkkk !?

I shrieked in pain as I felt the extreme heat on my hand spread and burn my palm black just like the meat in a matter of seconds,the hot metal rod that I would usually use to impale the meat and roast it had heated up very much resulting in the current burn that I inflicted myself.Usually such a rookie mistake wouldn’t happen to me since I would always remind myself that I should lower the temperature of my hand so the heat couldn’t penetrate it,but this time because of my carelessness I let myself get burned,very foolish indeed.

-LORD SORRON !

The girls immediately shouted out,my shriek wasn’t very loud rather it was only growl really since I got used to pain teaching myself to suck it up instead of make a big deal out of it still though the girls were perceptive and observative when it came to me so it was without a surprise that they had immediately figured out that I hurt myself when touching the piping hot rod of the roast.

After the small worry on the girls part and another few minutes of trying to calm them down the atmosphere quickly turned a bit more quieter everyone wanted to see the state of my hand while I had only bandaged it with a small piece of cloth,the healing slimes weren’t here,but in the kobold village another patch of them would be in our base,either way we were going to visit the kobold village before finally going home so I wasn’t very worried about the small injury which did in fact take 15 points of my current HP which was significant for me if I have to be honest.

The girls also immediately decided that the dinner would be stopped and that we would immediately prepare departure to the kobold village to get the healing smiles to heal my charred wound,I felt a bit like a good for nothing for needing attention for just this much,but I sucked it in and let the girls do what they want since they wouldn’t calm down if they didn’t do so.

Hobuha out of all the girls seemed very sad for some reason,her tiny hands were constantly gripped when she looked at my small wound while biting her lower lip her eyes showed a determined look as she calmed herself,there was also a distinctive amount of magic hurling inside her fists pretty unstable,but also concentrated.

I was confused by her actions and wanted to ask her what was wrong,but got very much side tracked and interrupted as the girls constantly tried to help me in one way or another,I was already keeping my hand cold it felt stingy,but the cold was making it go numb so it wasn’t a bother anymore.

-Lord sorron you are usually not that careless from what I can tell you are very good at cooking too it really makes me wonder how your attention could be diversified like this if it wasn’t important…

Wylniva asked a bit suspicious,I didn’t tell anyone about the army of monsters I had seen far away from here,the reason I didn’t tell them was because it wouldn’t make any difference and worrying them about it wasn’t worth it either,if that army didn’t make any contact with us then it literally just meant that they weren’t anything that we needed to be concerned of right now,but wylniva on the other hand just seemed to be naturally curious about anything that was unknown,I didn’t spot her at the dinner,but looking at her cheek I could still see a small chunk of meat indicating that she indeed ate something which made me calm and also happy that she seemed to like the meal.

I felt very conflicted on what to say to wylniva I could just stay quiet and not tell her about it,but on the other hand…she may know something about this.

Thinking it was the right thing to do I explained wylniva what I saw far in the distance,of the army I saw marching through,I didn’t explain to her how I saw it and she didn’t question it since she seemed to have an idea of how I pulled it off either way she listened patiently and instantly lighted up as she got an idea of what it may be.

-The Demon King

-uhh ?

Her explanation left me a bit confused and also intrigued since it was a single sentence,but she soon continued on her own speaking further in,facing me with a knowing smile of hers licking off the little chunk of meat while talking.

-I have not heard much about the demon king nor have I ever seen him in person,but what I do know about him is that he has a lot of powerful beings under his control medusa,malcanthet and the dragons aren’t really in his faction,but rather acknowledge him as a rather strong individual it is a confusing situation they are in if you ask me since most of the time medusa and malcanthet really do seem to be in his faction since they agree a lot to his suggestions which isn’t very clear of why,while on the other hand the dragons aren’t very persuesive when it comes to that called demon king the dragons are wary to his suggestions and poke holes into his ideas is what I heard,but over all I had seen the amount of loyalty or rather commitment these monsters have to the demon king it is very frightening if you think about it,but the monsters under his control are very natural and follow any order even if it means death I had previously assumed that the demon king had <Mind Control> abilities,but further into investigating it I realized that it wasn’t the case they are individuals and have thoughts,but they are also seem very mindless at the same time not asking questions or anything…very mysterious don’t you think ?

Wylniva asked me,but I wasn’t listening very much instead I was trying to figure out what it could be that is making those monsters like that…I had considered it to be a skill like mine,but quickly scratched that idea since my skill only gets invoked when the other individual had a sense of loyalty towards me absolute in fact,it obviously didn’t work on any creature I encountered if they didn’t have a sense of loyalty towards me,for that I would need to impress or convince that creature somehow to become my follower the skill or ability that demon king had was obviously connected towards something close to <Ming Control>,but at the same time like wylniva said those individuals do seem to have a independent minds on their own,but still do things if their ordered to without questioning it.

Just as I was thinking about it another voice started to join into the conversation…

-Either way it doesn’t matter whether or not they are mind controlled or not this demon king doesn’t have to do anything with us,for right now we are far too weak to even resist against such power so we have to hide and be discreet about our actions inside this forest as walls have ears trees do too we aren’t even sure how much their influence ranges and how strong they are,but judging that the demon king has the attention of some big individuals inside this forest there is no need to concern ourselves with them if we can’t even beat the monsters on the outskirts of the core zone

Frostwing spoke,his words immediately brought me back to reality as he spoke some reason into me,wylniva also showed a very surprised and interested look while staring at frostwing.

I understood the curiosity in wylniva’s gaze so I quickly introduced these two to one another,frostwing was very skilled when it came to talking that alone comes with the perk of being so old I guess,he gave his polite pleasantries to wylniva who in returned quickly started jumping to questions as she felt curious towards frostwing and his ability to be able to speak so fluently at the infant stage,wylniva herself seems to have a lot of knowledge regarding the dragons themselves something frostwing appreciated,but still he avoided the actual topic and just said that he couldn’t speak about in which wylniva finally held her tongue.

I observed these two while smiling gently,even though wylniva was very new to this group and couldn’t really make friends with the girls all too well she still seemed very indifferent about it after some time she would probably fit into the group with no problem at all and until then having frostwing as a very friend was also not a bad idea since both of them are very intelligent.

While thinking like this a small spark in my head lit up immediately reminding me of frostwing current presence.

-Frostwing is something the matter ? I thought you weren’t going to come out today ?

The conversation between these two immediately stopped as frostwing turned his head to me showing a expression as if he had just remembered something.

-Since rimulu’s mother needs the medicine in a set amount of time before she dies we need to quickly go into that tomb and get the flower and when it comes to strength your also not very lacking yourself with your creativity so I figured that I should quicken the lessons some bit and quickly start I can teach you a few basics on the walk the rest you have to practice yourself or ask me when we have time and don’t worry about the spells

Frostwing spoke and just as he did a single talon tip of his claw suddenly lighted up in mysterious dark light.

-Bow down I will give you a present

I felt very puzzled on what he was about to do,but didn’t hesitate to bow in front of him almost reaching the same height,but not entirely as frostwing raising his claw on me with dark light on his talon tip using his other arm to stabilize on my knee as he touched my forehead gently with his talon.

-Ugh ?!

The moment he touched my forehead a dark blue light started to stream out my eyes,my mind started to shift in all kinds of directions showing my images and information at the same time that looked to me like magic circles for spells that hoboku once explained me about,the feeling was sort of uncomfortable since it felt like I was being forced to receive these images,but it soon finished and with that came the sounds of the notification boxes.

~Congratulations you have learned the spell <Dark Frost Bolt>~

~Congratulations you have learned the spell <Dark Glacier Spike>~

~Congratulations you have learned the spell <Shadow Snow Storm>

~Congratulations you have learned the spell <Frozen Cloud Aura>~

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, The Fragile Monster Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chapter 139 The Flow Of The Situation

  1. calavente says:

    nice power up !

    now… only left to steal the miracle plant for himself… or at least eat a part of it… and, if I read correctly, it should improve his vitality and health in a permanent way !

    /regards

    Like

  2. vtkun says:

    thanks for the chapter

    Like

  3. wrightblood says:

    I’m assuming that he will use his unique ability to make a lot of the plant, and then give one of them to the dragon, and keep the rest of them as a resource. He probably won’t be able to make much, but it will still probably save his life a few times in the future.

    Like

  4. Alex Walker says:

    I’m fairly certain its not mind control that the demon king is using, but something a lot more sinister: brainwashing.

    Like

  5. Kryzin says:

    Thxs for the chapter.

    Like

Leave a comment