Chapter 114 Pain Train

-Master…wake up

Someone spoke,but I couldn’t see who it was my eyes were shut tight and no matter what I tried,I couldn’t open them or answer the call.My body was tight and rigid,I couldn’t move a muscle the feeling was odd and vulnerable giving me the impression that I was somehow enclosed in a very small space with no way out.

It was terrifying,but I knew if I didn’t do something about this then I would lose a lot of things that were important to me,I didn’t want to lose I still wanted to see the others and go with them do fun things.

The thought drifted inside my head constantly it gave me a lot of hope and willpower to take action so I waited patiently clearing all the panic inside my heart I listened closely streamed my mana to every part of my body,there was only one sound present and it was the beat of my heart.

After probing everything around me I soon realized that my entire body was cold almost frozen even,but not to the point of death something on the outside was keeping me from completely dying off and I also understood that I couldn’t continue relying on that person stalling so much,I needed to act on my own,I needed to wake up like he said.

I gritted my teeth invoking my <Dark Ice Magic> I used the <Revolving Dark Cold> and tried to will the temperature of my body back to normal levels after trying that I soon realized that the cold wasn’t easy to control,it would always fight back when I tried to make it disperse it was almost hopeless,but I didn’t stop trying and searched for more ways out.

My blood,it was frozen and I could feel my heart slowly dying out the person who was stalling for me for time was losing strength and couldn’t afford to go any longer I needed to make my blood flow again and not be stuck at one place.

I concentrated using my <Water Manipulation> and <Revolving Dark Cold> I willed my blood to move on again,the more I was struggling the more it seemed like the cold was weakening and slowly a crack started to appear inside my prison light shone faintly through my eyes lids sound was coming back to me,my heart pounding furiously.

-Frostwing..

I muttered looking down at the little dragon it eyes were clear full of profound light as it stared at me I knew it was the old frostwing not the young one,my vision was blurry,but it was slowly getting back to me followed by my ordinary senses which were a bit rigid,but recovering.

-You have to keep steady master resist further fight it,it isn’t over yet…

He spoke,I did as he said and intensified my control over my mana forcing my spells even strong to the point sweat was dripping on my head freezing and melting in a repeated circle,mist was surrounding me moving in a very eerie way sometimes gentle and sometimes wild my head was spinning and I felt like vomiting,having my blood flow freeze over multiple times and then try condensing it back to liquid form was painful…

This continued for about an hour,more then once I had groaned or wailed painfully,blood spat out of my mouth a few times because I was a bit too careless over my blood control,but fortunately it subsided.

-guhhhh…awhuk

I coughed up hard tasting the iron like taste of my own blood inside my mouth,my hands were shaking intensely and I could literally feel my face stiffing up like a rock probably turning white like a sheet of paper…frozen shards of blood were all over me also slowly melting down,it took me a few minutes to calm down frostwing in the meantime warned me and told me that I have to stay awake at all costs if I didn’t want to experience this all over again.

-Where…where am I ?

I asked,I had already glanced around a few times and understood that I was inside a room without a single window or light present sitting on a wooden chair.

It was pure darkness,but it wasn’t a problem since I had the <Night Vision> skill being able to see clearly in the dark.

The smell of this room was meaty and dry at the front I could see wooden stairs going up somewhere it looked like I was in some sort of basement.I wondered how long I was out and as I wanted to ask frostwing,he quickly interjected.

-You don’t have to worry about that master what you have to worry about is your current state and what will happen next so you need to concentrate and listen to me alright ?

Frostwing spoke meeting my eyes with a serious look on his face,his previous childlike state was gone the playfulness he showed at home was replaced by a firm attitude which made him look really different,I understood that he was right and that I haven’t just yet crossed the red line.

-What happened to me ?

I asked weakly it took me a lot to just keep my eyes open the cold always tried to return,but with the combined strength of me and frostwing I was temporarily at the green we didn’t need to exert much strength,but who knows how long that would last.

-You have a internal disease master,it is called <Internal Frost Prison> and is a very dangerous disease that freezes its victim from the inside slowly working its way up and slowly freezing some of the organs trying to make the victim go to sleep and when it happens the disease strikes stronger and proceeds to freeze your entire body turning you into a immobile piece of ice,but not outright killing you as it is a rather sinister sickness since it keeps your major organs alive in a slow format and keeping you locked inside your mind without any contact to the outside world or with your body,time goes on with the victim still alive feeling every second that pass inside its head as if it was locked inside a prison,but a bit more cruel since you don’t feel anything or see anything making you despair and lose courage finally making you go insane…you probably weren’t aware for the first few days inside the prison so you didn’t experience the torture,luckily I was able to wake you up and give you a warning just as you were starting to be aware of yourself…if I wouldn’t have done it or succeeded you would have finally died from natural causes not from dehydration,but rather from hunger…

Frostwing explained making me literally pale some more hearing his description of the disease I had,it made me swallow hard and think of what would have happened if frostwing wouldn’t have contacted me somehow…

I had many questions that I wanted to ask frostwing,but I kept my mouth shut and continued to listen to frostwing since it was a dire situation.

-The disease isn’t gone just yet master you have beaten the initial stage of it which is to resist the tempting sleep that comes with the cold after wards you beat the second stage which is you force the cold to subside now you need to beat the third and final stage which many don’t survive…

Frostwing spoke seemingly worried and regretful that it was about to happen,it made my heart worry only more and pound harder,but I endured trying hard to keep my eyes open while breathing in calmly.

-What do I need to do…

-You need to absorb the whole cold into your own magic pool this is the most dangerous part since this disease cannot be cured by anything other then the infected himself he also needs to be some sort of a mage to resist and absorb the cold properties of the effect if he doesn’t meet this requirement then he is doomed to die a miserable death,but since you are a water and a ice mage you will have a significant advantage over the cold aura that you are going to absorb,but still it won’t be easy since this procedure will be as painful maybe even more so painful then the two initial stages combined…we will begin after you are ready master and I am going to warn you may die doing this since your body isn’t the most sturdiest thing in the world…I noticed

Silly enough I smiled at his last sentence almost mocking myself and cursing inside my head about my stupid body,things were just starting and they were going to get worse…

-Is there any…any other way…

I asked weakly,trying to resist the temptation to sleep was starting to get very hard I shouldn’t waste my time asking him this,but I just couldn’t help myself from being desperate.

Frostwing frowned he shook his head telling me a obvious no,it made me depressed,but I wasn’t going to give up even if I had to squeeze out every single drop of blood inside my veins to live I would do it,but still I had ways to give myself an edge before a started one of which was the skill <Like A Beast> that allowed me to copy and add the attributes of my everyone contracted being meaning that I would either need life or brains to stay in this game right now…

-I want to ask you would I need some more strength and endurance to survive this or mana and willpower ?

My question was met with frostwing squinting his eyes at me,he didn’t understand why I was asking him this so I quickly told him about my skill <Like A Beast> and what it did,my explanation seemed to have surprised frostwing mostly because of the existence of such skill he didn’t seem to be familiar with.

-If you can use such ability then you may have more then 70% chance to live this through…you have to use this skill,but when you chose whose strength you want to copy chose me…

The little dragon said firmly,I couldn’t understand why he was telling me this did he have some insane basic attributes or something ? I wasn’t sure,but at this moment our time was going low I couldn’t afford asking him why and one of my eyes was already shut down.

I thought for a moment…70% better then nothing I guess.

Thinking like this I quickly invoked my skill to immediately copy frostwings skills and attributes the power the skill provided surged into me making me feel more powerful and energetic frostwing also started doing his thing and immediately build a force stalling the cold from fully getting to me.

-RAWWWWRRR

I roared my roar was was inhumane or more like unlord like sounding like a roar of a savage beast instead of a humans after the roar my throat hurt immensely burning as if I was on hot fire…something was incredibly wrong…

-Kuhhh…

I spat out spitting up another mouthful of blood breathing hard,I could feel my vision constantly shifting with weird colors…what was going on ? Was this the disease ?!

Frostwing observed and he was also very puzzling judging from his expression it seemed like this wasn’t because of the diseases,but something entirely else…what the hell was going on !?

I couldn’t bother thinking about this anymore I needed to start absorbing the cold aura,frostwing didn’t have all time of the world and I needed to take this chance no matter what was going on with me I needed survive at least…everything else came second.

Determined I gritted my teeth once again enduring the excruciating pain that I was suffering,my body was shaking and rumbling and mouth was unconsciously growling sounding like a crazed dog,but even then I didn’t consider it nor take it to mind and concentrate on my mana absorbing the cold into my mana pool.

(Crack)

-ARGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHH

I shouted out madly with excruciating pain going through my entire body,I could literally hear my spine cracking which was followed by a intense surge of pain,frostwing who was by side keeping a hold of me looked panicked,he had heard the snapping sound and knew that there was something wrong entirely,not even connected to the diseases he still kept on going though waiting for me to connect back and continue absorbing the cold aura…

I didn’t saying anything or try question this anymore and instead willed myself to absorb the cold aura,there was still a lot of pain that was actually starting to make me insane,my eyes were burning hot,I could only see red as flows of blood were coming out of my eyes and nose my feet stamping on the ground intensely cracking some of the stone floor with a loud bang,but still the sound wasn’t even close to my screams of horror and utter pain.

Even through all of this madness I kept on building a connection with the cold aura absorbing it from chunk to chunk sometimes breaking the whole connection altogether because of random pain coming off some part of my body.

I was mad,angry,sad and frustrated through the whole procedure under my feet you could even see a whole pool of blood gathering the wooden chair was soaked with blood too and my eyes were crazed red comparable to the girls eyes.

I wanted to give up more then ones or just simply die already,but I didn’t since whenever I thought of the prospect of dying the picture of the girls the wolves,red hawk,frostwing,rokuten and some others came to my head everyone was smiling,crying and laughing my heart was content with these pictures making me stubbornly go on through the end until finally I was done and so was the time limit of my skill <Like A Beast> turning me back to normal again.

-uhhh…uhhghh hic…uhh

I cried out weakly,frostwing who was by my side the entire time looked at me horrified his body was shaking for a moment and he even flinched,but he pulled himself together and quickly touched my chest with his pawn.

The touch was cool and not painful at all some small light came from the place he touched the look he had while he was doing this was intense when he finished he sighed a bit relieved and said.

-Master…you are alright now you have absorbed the entire cold aura into your mana pool,but you seemed to have suffered some strange damage…master ?

Frostwing with a perplexed tone in his voice when he stared at me,my eyes were already heavy and I endured a lot sleeping should be okay right ?

(BANG BANG BANG)

Not too far off I could hear the sound of banging coming from the upstairs frostwing looked up for a moment with a understanding look on his face while facing the stairs he turned back to me to check if I was alright he didn’t tell me to not fall asleep so I couldn’t help myself and slowly drifted back to sleep again.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, The Fragile Monster Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chapter 114 Pain Train

  1. supremeradra says:

    That was horrific. Not envying the MC one bit. Was the disease triggered by the yellow dust?

    Like

  2. vtkun says:

    thanks for the chapter

    Like

  3. ClockWorksX says:

    Well… that escalated quickly.

    Like

Leave a comment