Chapter 103 Akri

I was going to make this into a two parter because of its length,but decided not to do so enjoy.

==============================================

Akri,the word is made by the kobolds and basically means challenge or duel it is a way of resolving a conflict to anything possible if the situation calls for it most of the time when a kobold tries to take a woman and someone disagrees for it wanting to take the same woman,the two fight and decide it by the means of akri meaning that only the stronger one has the right to claim the prize.

This tradition seems to be very normal for this kind of town and currently the village chief had called me to a akri if I win then I will gain control over this village and its people.

-What happens if you win ?

I asked turning my stare towards the village chief who was explaining me what the akri was.

He laughed deviously looking at me with a cold look on his face which was hard to identify since he is literally a dog face.

-If I win then I am demanding the heads of you three ! A life for a life its that simple !

He roared confident in himself while glaring at me trying to see if I would chicken out of the challenge,but I didn’t hesitate and answered.

-Good,I agree,it would be boring if there was no pressure on our side so how will we settle this ?

I asked in a innocent manner the village chief wasn’t fazed or perplexed by my immediate answer and simply decided to grunt with approval raising his hand gesturing us to come into their village.

Hobura and hoboku of course knew what this gesture was all about,but they still didn’t have any clue what we were doing since I was the only one who could speak and understand their tongue with the help of my skill.

The sign of invitation towards the village made both of them slightly perplexed as they grabbed onto my arm on each side asking me without words if we should enter or not.

-Its okay just be vigilante and stay on guard…

They nodded to my answer and let go of me finally moving forward towards the village.

While walking up I also used my transmission link to tell hobusaku to start moving herself,we had no clue what would await us inside we need a insurance of course.

As we walked inside the village the wooden gate behind us was suddenly closed down with a crashing sound,hobura and hoboku saw this and growled with small anger I didn’t mind and continued following behind the village chief and his tightly guarding soldiers.

The inside of the village was very neatly build every building was made out of either wood or stone,mud and straw was also included in a few places,not too far away I could also see a building which emitted black smoke,it was followed by the sound of clashing metal,but stopped right as we were getting close to it.

The person who seemed to have been working inside peeked out of the window looking at me and my companions obviously that person was also a kobold,but the strange thing was that his eyes were as clear and profound comparable to the village chief making me curious of who might be that person…without a word he was a blacksmith obviously judging from the ore,flames and the hammer he held.

On the topic he wasn’t the only one who was peeking at us right now,the village was eerily quiet most likely because of our presence the villagers were all inside their homes peeking out of the windows of their houses child and adult alike.

-We have arrived this is where we are going to begin the akri

The village chief said,the place we halted at was a clear smooth area with training dummies standing at some parts…a training area ?

-How are we going to settle this or rather what are the rules to this challenge

-Its only you and me in the traditional sense of the akri we aren’t allowed to use magic and heavy armor isn’t allowed either only cloth or leather is allowed a weapon on the other hand is allowed.Originally we fight until someone draws blood or admits defeat,but in this case we fight until death !

Speaking like this the soldiers started to disperse leaving only the 4 of us in this wide area,I also told hoboku and hobura to take a distance from me,they were slightly unwilling and asked me what was going on,I told them the truth that I was going to fight the chieftain without the use of magic.

Hearing my explanation hoboku and hobura were immediately got alarmed they knew that my only real way of dealing significant amount of damage was to use my magic without it I am nothing else but a punching bag and I knew that too,but I still accepted the duel.

These two were a bit angry that I decided this without telling them anything they didn’t voice their objection to anything since they knew that I was going to fight either way thats why they stepped away keeping a very sharp glare at both me and the kobold,hands on their weapons of course,if anything would happen these two would immediately jump in and do something.

Both me and the chieftain faced face to face I opened my palm and summoned a dagger that was stored inside my storage it was a Damascus dagger the highest grade of a dagger I had right now,using a sword or something bigger wasn’t going to happen since my strength was too low it would just be a burden to me and make me slow my speed was something that I was going to use to decide this fight.

The chieftain saw that I only drew a dagger he snorted at it as if saying that I was mocking him,but it really wasn’t the case.The chieftain in return drew the sword behind his back surprisingly enough the sword seemed to be glowing faintly a red color you wouldn’t notice such thing if you don’t look closer at it…a enchantment ?

-Young man,I can see that you are no warrior why did you accept the fight ? You could have also asked one of your companions to jump in like the red haired one she would have won this fight for you without an issue

The kobold chieftain asked eyes squinting and both hands on his sword.I could see a feral look in his eyes he was ready,ready to pounce and there would no mercy on his side.

I gripped my dagger in reverse form raising it and taking a stance that I was most comfortable in as I replied to him.

-Because I am an idiot a am a person who can only rely on others for “strength” I wanted to show that even as an idiot I am capable enough and in the end of this fight I hope you see that too !

I shouted out and when the kobold heard my sentence a faint smile flashed his feral lips as he shouted back.

-So be it ! Show me if you can !

The fight began !

The kobold reacted first getting a step forward he raised his sword,a orange particle effected started to gather in his sword as he was getting ready to use one of his skills !

I was calm and didn’t dare to meet him too close while he was channeling his skill I waited and as I did the kobold swung down his sword creating a sword slash that was heading my way I immediately reacted and ducked down dodging the sword slash.

-Amateur !

The kobold growled already standing in front of me closing the distance in mere seconds as he was about to slash down with his sword to cut me in two,but unfortunate for him I was faster.

I had already seen his approach to me and deliberately stood still to let him come close just before he was about to slash me I moved to the side and dodged the long blade by a hairs breath raising my own dagger and slashing towards the chieftains face.

My fast movement had caught the old kobold off guard he tried to move out of the way of the dagger,but it was already too late directly hitting him with my sharp edge.

-grrr

I rolled forward after the slash the distance between me and the kobold was once again made and I could hear him growl out of anger.

-Is this a joke !

The kobold chieftain roared turning towards me and pointing the tip of his sharp sword at me in a threatening manner looking at him you could see that his right cheek had a small wide cut making him lose some amount of blood streaming down his neck already…the damage that was done wasn’t much nor was it anything lethal the kobold chieftain was more then capable enough to shrug this off like nothing.

I giggled to myself sarcastically knowing full well that if I had a bit more strength I would have cut half of his face away and killed him,but this just goes to show that I suck at physical attacks.

-No,I already told you I am an idiot a weakling,that cut is only one of many that you will suffer from,chieftain !

I said raising my dagger again and preparing for the next exchange my speed was significantly higher then high dodging his hits was my highest priority I couldn’t afford to get hit by him no matter what it would be damaging maybe even lethal.

-I let you taste a real blade compared to a puny dagger like yours !

The kobold roared angrily charging at me once again with his sword raised.

-This is going to take a while…

I muttered to myself slightly annoyed and also pained from the inside.

2 Hours later.

-Hufff….hufff…hufff..

Blood…Blood was dropping and flowing on the ground a distinctive iron like smell was enveloping the area directly coming from my front.

-You…you..(Cough)…

The kobold chieftain spat out a mouthful of blood the kobolds in the area were already at their wits end some even paled and looked horrified to the display they were exposed to right now.

The fight had started out strong and fierce I dodged every slash and hit while damaging him by small cuts here and there after one hour past the duel wasn’t a normal duel anymore…it turned into a torture scene.

The kobold chieftain was getting cut every time when he missed his swing at me slowly his leather armor started to get shredded into pieces by my onslaught of cuts falling down onto the ground leaving his chest bare naked for further cuts,that came from my sharp damascus dagger,he had lost a lot of blood some of the kobolds that watched couldn’t even take it anymore and begged me to stop,they begged for their leader to be spared feeling touched from the bottom of their hearts that he was enduring this slow torture getting cut every few seconds isn’t something you normally can survive for long,but the kobold chieftain refused not because of his ego or because he was angry no,it was because the chieftain still hung on his small sliver of hope that he would win this fight.

His face his body had turned into a very vicious massacred state fresh blood flowing out painting him pure red his sword was already bathing in blood,but not in his opponents,but in his own.

My hand that was holding the dagger was already shivering slightly,I wasn’t tired my stamina was just too high for me to get tired only 15% had been drained throughout this fight and I had even more coming,he wouldn’t be able to survive if he continues…

A few splatters of blood covered my body all of which came from the kobold chieftain,my eyes were clear and resolute while the eyes of the chieftain were faint and cloudy.

-Admit defeat it is the only way for you to survive !

I shouted out,I didn’t want to kill him I would rather have him on my own side he was a man that could take hits someone wise and also unyielding such character and soul is too regretful to be taken away.

-SHUT UP !

The chieftain roared charging at me once again,I prepared myself like I did for the last numerous times to evade his attack and counter strike him.

I felt slightly regretful,but I wasn’t going to die in this exact no matter what !

Getting that thought in my head I predicted his next move and got prepared to side step him,but just as he was getting closer to me something unexpected happened his sword lighted up in a red color I could tell that it wasn’t him using and skills no,it was individually his sword that was making that red glow suddenly lighting up even more and creating crimson flames around his sword extending its length by at least a meter in size.

-ARHHH !

He shouted out slashing his flame sword towards me using its newly acquired length to his advantage to roast me from a distance,the sudden change of events was slightly unexpected,but I didn’t just stand there fazed,but instead jumped back a few feet trying to avoid its range.

-aghhh…

I groaned slightly pained I was successful in leaving its range,but I didn’t know that the flames itself were super inflammable burning the shoulder half of my leather armor and damaging me slightly.

Seeing my pained look the chieftain looked a bit delighted the other kobolds also gasped with surprise while hoboku and hobura were looking at me very worried and also angry at the chieftain,hobura even wanted to already finish this and pull her sword,but luckily hoboku stopped her from interfering.

I didn’t comment on the sudden use of sword enchantments I knew that it didn’t count as magic since it was the weapon itself that did the magic not the user this was one of the loop holes in this rule that don’t specify anything about modified weapons and at the same time I could see that the kobold chieftain couldn’t use that mode again the sword had already lost its faint red luster and he returned towards its normal stance.

Getting a bit irritated I came charging in instead with my dagger held low while shouting.

-Why are you this persistent you know very well you aren’t winning this fight !

Seeing my sudden charge the chieftain got ready to receive me his sword held tight around his blood red hands,I was planning to cut him on the side of his stomach I observed him closely trying to predict where his sword slash would come from and just as he was about to slash me I dodged,but at the same time the kobold chief suddenly dropped his weapon.

-Wahh..

I was startled ,the sword was falling down next to me and I realized that I was in his hand reach,he was going to punch me instead !

Aborting my attack I tried to jump away,but the chieftain didn’t let me he stepped forward and grabbed onto my feeling his hand gripping on my chest I utilized my dagger and hacked on his arm intensely from the left side I could see a left hook coming my way towards my jaw I needed to evade this…

-Don’t talk garbage if you don’t understand anything !

The kobold chieftain roared angrily with his right hand shredded very badly as he was losing his grip on my chest,using this chance I once again jumped back,but I couldn’t help,but get hit slightly from the left hook hitting my side with less power instead of my jaw…nonetheless I immediately spit out blood excruciating pain enveloping my body as I cleaning my blood mouth and looked up again.

-Then tell me if I don’t understand make me understand !

I roared back a bit angry myself slight killing intent was welling inside of me wanting to end this,but I suppressed it and asked without thinking.

-Hahaha you want to know ? The answer is already here you idiot ! look at us look where we are !

The chieftain yelled out madly wobbling around while standing he was losing his mind the amount of blood he was losing was getting to him.The kobolds who were listening to this conversation seemed to understand what the chieftain meant,but I still couldn’t understand what did he mean by this ? Them ? The forest ?

As I was thinking about it I suddenly understood one think…these kobolds aren’t they something like beastmen they are dogs right ? Why are they living here and not in the beast kingdom ?

Sudden realization hit me as I understood what the chieftain meant remembering the story vulgan told me about his people,they were hated,hated like the dark elves hated for being different then the main race despised and then subjugated like ordinary cattle in the wild treated as currency and not as a living being sheltered in the forest with no way out,but to wait until one day adventurers would come and then cut off their heads for a few measly bits of silver…

Compared to the dark elves the kobolds were less sociable beings because of their weird speech that maybe only they could use,in the eyes of the current society they were just looked at as ordinary beasts without a mind only there to kill others,even though that isn’t true at all,but that didn’t matter in the end no,one cared they didn’t care about the lives of a different race if it didn’t benefit them it was a cruel thing to say,but it was true its called being selfish something that everyone has.

I dropped my dagger on the ground raising my fists I looked forward towards the kobold chieftain,I could see a very distinctive amount of hate welling inside of his eyes when he was looking at me,I didn’t notice it at first and just believed it to be anger or something close to it,but now I knew,he probably thought that I was no different from those people a guy who would attack someone without a question and just steal everything they had his eyes told me the amount of things that were stolen from him items at first maybe and later on loved ones,all of this just for someone else’s gain a cruel world a world where these monsters aren’t just treated like smart and living beings.

I charged raising my fists I hit the jaw of the kobold chieftain making him step back few steps,the hit wasn’t strong,but it amplified a lot with his current injuries and tiredness,he couldn’t even retaliate now even though he was trying his movements were stressed sloppy.

-I won’t steal from you !

I hit his right cheek.

-I won’t abuse you !

I hit his left cheek.

-I won’t abandon you !

I hit his jaw finally making him collapse onto the ground,he wasn’t dead yet his eyes were cloudy,but held strong,he had heard every word I said without a problem and stared at me.

-Ho…how do I know that you aren’t just lying these are just words anyone can say them !

The chieftain roared tears welling up inside his eyes as he asked me.

I smiled looking at him and kneel’ed down wiping off my sweat.

-You can’t…I admit you will never know if I am lying or not,but isn’t it worth a try ? Instead of fleeing and cowering isn’t it good enough to lay your trust on me for this one time ? The only thing I can give you to assure you is my word…

I said staring into the eyes of the chieftain once again he also stared at me intensely trying to find something in me that could make him distrust me or believe in me.

-Do you swear all of these things ?

He asked lowly with a pained croak in his voice.

-Yes,I do…I swear

I answered fully resolute and determined in my answer seeing this kind of confidence in me the chieftains eyes suddenly got wide as he understood lingering like this for a few seconds until he croaked out a small laughter.

-You hit like a woman….such a leader is truly interesting thats why I swear that I rokuten and my village will serve you from now on I swear my loyalty…I admit defeat

He spoke faintly finally closing his eyes and as he did so his hand glowed up ! A emblem started to appear on the back of his hand showing that he was truly one of my people now.

The fight was concluded with the chieftains loss today the kobold town would officially go under my own banner when the fight ended the kobolds quickly tried to carry their former leader and heal him,but I told them to stop and called the <Holy Slimes> into the base to heal the Chieftain the kobolds didn’t disturb me or anything since they knew that I was the new ruler of this town they also seemed to be fearing to some bit since they saw how I managed rokuten without a problem and in a also torturous way too.

I explained the chieftain that I was going to fully heal him,the injuries he had sustained throughout the fight were all external injuries cuts at that too severe because of the amount of blood loss,but not something the <Holy Slimes> couldn’t heal and also nothing this guy couldn’t restore from in my opinion.

When I told him about the healing,the chieftain was delighted and thankful,but he had one request,he wanted me to avoid healing the cut that was on his right cheek.

About Kakemonoko

Just a normal student who loves to read write and study
This entry was posted in All Posts, The Fragile Monster Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chapter 103 Akri

  1. boartank says:

    The word “Akri”, from the series Dark-Hunters by Sherrilyn Kenyon, means “lord/master”. The MC’s demon thought it means papa. Go Simi! Also, first!

    Like

  2. vtkun says:

    thanks for the chapter /o/

    Like

  3. Katsurandom says:

    I don’t know why I still read dis….

    It kinda feels forced, both the writing and storytelling

    Like

  4. svelric says:

    I really like your story please continue it 🙂

    Like

  5. Kryzin says:

    Thxs for the chapter.

    Like

Leave a comment